We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Christmas Bash”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Esplanade Hotel
Ranked #17 of 26 Hotels in Scarborough
Reviewed 19 January 2014

Ours was a pretty last minute booking, due to another hotel in the area closing down. A party of over 50 Royal British Legion Riders descended on The Esplanade, and we all received great treatment by the staff in every department. The management pulled out all the stops to meet our requirements (which were many).The hotel is undergoing refurbishment, which is looking good. OK, so some of the rooms are a bit dated, but the staff were all polite and helpful, and the food was decent and plentiful, and the place was clean.
Massive thanks to Mary, the assistant manager, without whom our event would not have taken place.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HBoardman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (364)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

284 - 290 of 364 reviews

Reviewed 19 January 2014

First time at this hotel, which kindly hosted a party for us. The Staff were for the most part very helpful, and on the whole good and friendly.
The rooms are clean and warm, and the hotel itself is very convenient for Scarborough town and North Yorks National park.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alandpia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2014

Yet another superb stay at The Esplanade.... We booked for New Year along with our friends ( they had never been before).....we all thoroughly enjoyed our stay....the food rooms & Staff were in our eyes 100%......The Hotel Manager Carina - Denise on reception & Kath in the Dining room were always welcoming smiley & helpful as were the rest of the Staff in all areas.... I noted recent refurb & decorating that is ongoing but for us customer Service at the Esplanade is always excellent & we will be continuing to use this lovely welcoming well situated family run Hotel

Room Tip: Request rooms that over look the Bay ....suggest rooms 114 & 109.... The views are lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2013

Ok, so we stayed at the Esplanade for 3 days on a business trip.

Location: great location, although limited parking. Hotel car park very small, and other guest's cars being blocked in by coaches for larger parties. Beautiful view over the beach, and about 5/10 min walk down into the town centre/beach front.

The hotel: the hotel itself would have been very grand when it first opened, sadly it hasn't been given the love it requires and is a little dated. To say that, it is very clean and plenty of tea/coffee and towels in the room. The furniture was a little run down, but functional. I was on the top floor, where the water pressure wasn't very strong, but manageable.

The staff: the reception staff weren't very welcoming, and had to be prompted for things like breakfast times, and how to get to the room. The night porter, by contrast was very chatty and friendly. As was the gentleman who ran the bar.

Food: we did not eat breakfast so I cannot comment on the quality, however we did eat dinner each night. It was a three course menu and was plentiful, although the quality wasn't the best. As the hotel's main clientele appeared to be guests from coach holidays for the elderly the food reflected this- nice mushy foods that were easy to digest.

I would stay again, as the price was very cheap, and for what you paid, it was functional. Such a shame to see what was once a pretty hotel turn to ruin.

Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
2  Thank hickorychips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2013 via mobile

This hotel was ok, the room was a bit dated,near our room we could smell sewerage, but the rest of the hotel smelt a bit dirty. It was a bit difficult to get a car in there car park because they were two fifty three seaters parked there all day. The breakfast was also a bit disappointing, and was catered more for the elderly.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BarnsleyEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2013

On arriving at the hotel we noticed that the outside appearance was becoming very tatty and in need of a lick of paint. We were greeted by a very abrupt receptionist who certainly could do with attending a course on customer service.

I have a great respect for the older generation and I believe this is now who the hotel are catering for as on arrival there were older people sat in the lounge obviously enjoying the peace and quiet and a number of wheelchairs in the corridors. It is now giving the impression of a residential home perhaps for the elderly. I think this is important to mention as it does not seem the right environment for a young family.

This was our second visit this year but I have to say it seems we were very lucky with the room we had previously. On this occasion with my family, we occupied three rooms and all were very dated and desperately in need of a make over. On entering our room there was a strong smell of foist, possibly from lack of drain cleaning. The wallpaper and bedding were very old fashioned giving the room a very drab appearance. The single rooms occupied by my son and daughter had very poor flowing showers in them, along with very shabby furniture.

I would not visit again as overall it was a bit of a let down, such a shame as once a beautiful building.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank KarenMants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2013

Stayed there over the weekend lovely room fantastic view.Its old but clean found staff friendly. The dinner was good all home made breakfast was very good and lots of it to choose from..Would stay again

Room Tip: Ask for room overlooking the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank catemclaughlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.4 mi away
Ambassador Hotel
Ambassador Hotel
#22 of 26 in Scarborough
1,297 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#6 of 26 in Scarborough
5,007 reviews
0.1 mi away
Marine Residence
Marine Residence
#16 of 26 in Scarborough
141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Royal Hotel Scarborough
Royal Hotel Scarborough
#25 of 26 in Scarborough
2,545 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Mount Hotel
The Mount Hotel
#15 of 26 in Scarborough
370 reviews
1.1 mi away
Park Manor Hotel
Park Manor Hotel
#4 of 26 in Scarborough
976 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Esplanade Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Esplanade Hotel

Address: Esplanade Hotel Belmont Road, Scarborough YO11 2AA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 26 Hotels in Scarborough
Price Range: £31 - £73 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Esplanade Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Esplanade Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing