We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning sea views”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Esplanade Hotel
Ranked #17 of 26 Hotels in Scarborough
Reviewed 23 April 2014

The views of Scarborough are certainly this hotels best feature, especially from the dining room's bay window. The hotel was clean and welcoming if a little outdated. It was a typical old fashioned and once charming seaside hotel but now needs a make over to bring it in line with other hotels in the area. having said that our room was clean, spacious and adequate for our needs. We also booked and paid for a sea view which was obscured by scaffolding as the outside of the hotel is under going some restoration work, we were not offered a reduction nor an apology for the inconvenience this caused. My partner and I had a half board stay and although the breakfast was good the evening meals could be improved, many of the dishes were prepacked and made up from packets (the creamy Carbonara and the garlic mushrooms were suspiciously the same dish!) It wouldn't take much to make the evening meals excellent by using fresh, locally sourced and prepared ingredients. All in all we have no real complaints and having read the reviews on Trip Advisor (and other websites) regarding the Esplanade I would say that it was value for money.

Room Tip: Do book a sea view room (minus the scaffolding)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank annjan57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (364)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

273 - 279 of 364 reviews

Reviewed 1 April 2014

A fabulous view is this hotels redeeming feature. On first entering the Esplanade we were met with a pleasant clean reception area. The staff on reception were friendly but not as helpful as they could have been. They gave us our keys but forgot to direct us to the lift or room, but no disaster just a little flaw that could be fixed with some staff training.
Making our way to the room we were pleasantly surprised at the decor, which was clean and looked as it had been recently painted. However this changed drastically when we entered the bedroom, an unpleasant aroma of stale urine emanated from the bathroom, and the carpet on the bedroom floor looked quite dirty. The room was a lovely roomy size, the view (requested sea view) was faultless. Unfortunately the windows were a bit dodgy when we attempted to open one it was stuck. The bed was the smallest double we had ever seen, but it was comfy.
Tea &coffee facilities in the room were spot on, plenty of supplies.
I have tried to think of positive points about the dinner at Esplanade but haven't been able to, the food was similar to British old school dinners, overlooked, tepid and uninspiring. The staff serving the food at dinner were awful, they whisked the menus away to quickly, and as doo as we put our cutlery down the dishes were snatched away, making us feel that we should hurry and leave the dining room as quick as possible.
A mixed review of this hotel, because it's not all bad but could be a greatly improved by a few little improvements. Maybe the management should drag themselves into 2014 and become up to date with guests expectations.

Room Tip: Request a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank glitterverse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2014

We visited this hotel while on a coach trip. We were delighted with all aspects. Our check in was quick and friendly. Our room on the fourth floor, 486, had two windows each looking at a different part of the coast. The room was of a good size as was the bathroom. It was all clean and very homely. It was wonderfully warm and quiet and all in all very, very acceptable.
The evening meal was served quickly and with a smile. The choice of food was excellent and it was presented well. The breakfast was also delicious with a good choice but as there was a conference on at the same time as our visit we did have to wait longer than we would have liked to. The staff were brilliant and did their best. The breakfast times should have been staggered and maybe more staff called in. However, this didn't detract from the overall brilliant impression of the hotel.
I can not fault any part of our stay. We used the bar and the prices were good and the barman was helpful. The reception staff were friendly and very willing to help.
I will definitely be going back and staying for longer.

Room Tip: A twin room is usually bigger and the higher the floor the quieter. The floor boards do creak and t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank xxreisexx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2014

This assessment is based on our stay at the hotel between 10 and 14 March 2014. The hotel is showing signs of its age, but we have no hesitation in giving it an excellent rating.

We were part of a group of more than 40 coach holiday passengers staying at the hotel. On arrival the hotel staff at reception greeted us in a friendly manner and we were all quicky given our keys and shown to our rooms. Our room (362) had a superb view of the town and sea.

The staff in the dining room were excellent and our food was soon delivered to us. The dinner menu was varied, there was always a vegetarian option and the meals were very good. The housekeeping staff were excellent too and our rooms were kept in immaculate condition. One advantage of having an old bath in the bathroom was that it was large and had a very good non-slip floor. Although we were not expecting it, the hotel put on two nights of entertainment.

We look forward to visiting the hotel again and recommend it to others.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Terence C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2014

Just stayed for one night en route to the airport.
Our room was 238, a twin with the most fantastic view.
The hotel was lovely and warm, our room was quite dated, but that adds to the charm of the old building.
Although a very limited menu for dinner, both our meals were of a high quality and the resteraunt itself was very appealing.
After checking out, we sat in a lounge waiting for our taxi, a most comfortable room.
Yes we will be staying at this hotel again.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kev012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2014

Pros': good price, accept dogs, large room, very clean, friendly helpful staff., free parking.
Cons': outdated decor, far too hot, creaky floorboards and a draft so strong that it blew open the wardrobe doors!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ellion2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2014

Booked for 10, everyone got a seaview room as requested. Rooms very spacious,clean and tidy. Food spot on. Staff helpful ,polite and friendly. Beds comfy. Yes floors a bit creaky and decor a bit dated but this is a very old building and only adds to the character.

Room Tip: All rooms I booked were spot on, some bigger than others but all had views. Just ask for what you wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank emma g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.4 mi away
Ambassador Hotel
Ambassador Hotel
#22 of 26 in Scarborough
1,296 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#5 of 26 in Scarborough
5,005 reviews
0.1 mi away
Marine Residence
Marine Residence
#16 of 26 in Scarborough
141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Royal Hotel Scarborough
Royal Hotel Scarborough
#25 of 26 in Scarborough
2,543 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Mount Hotel
The Mount Hotel
#15 of 26 in Scarborough
370 reviews
1.1 mi away
Park Manor Hotel
Park Manor Hotel
#4 of 26 in Scarborough
975 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Esplanade Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Esplanade Hotel

Address: Esplanade Hotel Belmont Road, Scarborough YO11 2AA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 26 Hotels in Scarborough
Price Range: £31 - £66 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Esplanade Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Esplanade Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing