We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic hotel - all we could ask for”
Review of Cumberland Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cumberland Hotel
Ranked #9 of 26 Hotels in Scarborough
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 May 2011

Hotel was clean and comfortable with friendly staff & very good food, all at a budget price.
Liked the location and the view from our bedroom was to die for.
Didn't sample the entertainment available as after all the trips out, walking and dinner we were shattered.
OK, so Scarborough is hilly, which if you did your homework, would be obvious, but that is part of it's charm, loved it.

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank catwomanBexhillOnSea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (275)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

261 - 267 of 275 reviews

Reviewed 17 May 2011

A nice clean hotel with friendly staff, entertainment not so good. food good and plentiful clean room and public rooms. Check the lift is working as it was out of order for the whole time we were there, not good if you are on the third floor. Prior warning would have been courtious We feel as the lift had been out for a week before we travelled. Also TV is limited to 5 channels didnt bother us but we do like sky news or bbc news channel.

Room Tip: check the lift is working
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank prayterpieeater_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2011

just had 3 day stay at the cumberland' cudnt ask for much more, the staff were very friendly and helpfull, hotel was very clean they cudnt do enough for you. would go back in a flash

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank julieglass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2011

just spent five days at the cumberland scarboro, and could not fault it the hotel itself was immaculate, the staff went out there way to make our stay as comfortable as can be, and they did and more, food delicious 10/10 chef, tour driver excellent, restaurant team spendid, overall well done ,Alpha and well done the cumberland, we will be ,BACK,.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank jentel55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2010

We booked here through Alfa Travel for 1 night Xmas Party night. I couldn't find fault with the hotel. The food was good, the staff were friendly. The rooms were compact, but other than that, can't find fault.

Location was a bit of a pain. Ok going to front as it's all downhill, not going back uphill.

The only thing I wasn't keen on was the entertainment. A rather drunk looking/sounding organist and a comedian stuck in the 70's.

Would definitely go again.

  • Stayed: November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Smh2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2010

Im just back from a 4 night stay in this Hotel with a bus tour. We found the hotel to be clean, friendly and the food excellent. The room was spotless and the shower was amazing. The only thing I had a slight annoyance with was that they did not have my choice of drink at the bar and made no effort to accommodate this!!. Needless to say the hotel lost out!! Overall this is an excellent hotel and should no longer be graded 2 star. I think it deserves to be more than this. Would definately return again.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank anthiny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2010

My wife and I just got back from a midweek at the Cumberland hotel at Scarborough,
The hotel is nice, clean, and well positioned on the south cliff esplanade.The food is the normal Alfa menu, decent selection and a special thrown in, all are edible, and filling.
But, {and there is always a but}, the service at our table was serious, in at twenty past six
and still waiting for main cource at ten past seven, after two days of this treatment ,
I told reception, and as if by magic we were first served at each meal after that. Well done reception, would I recommend, or go back to this hotel, you bet I would.

  • Stayed: October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BILLYCo_Durham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.1 mi away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#6 of 26 in Scarborough
4,928 reviews
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Scarborough St Nicholas Hotel
0.0 mi away
Marine Residence
Marine Residence
#16 of 26 in Scarborough
122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Park Manor Hotel
Park Manor Hotel
#4 of 26 in Scarborough
922 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ambassador Hotel
Ambassador Hotel
#22 of 26 in Scarborough
1,267 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bay New Southlands Hotel
Bay New Southlands Hotel
#8 of 26 in Scarborough
452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cumberland Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cumberland Hotel

Address: Belmont Road, Scarborough YO11 2AA, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 26 Hotels in Scarborough
Price Range: £55 - £63 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Cumberland Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cumberland Hotel - Scarborough [3 Alpha Symbol & AA 3 Star]. Very well situated on the South Cliff a few minutes walk from the Spa complex, beach and town centre with excellent views of the town from the north facing rooms. This excellent hotel has recently been extensively refurbished. 86 bedrooms have central heating, private bath or shower and WC. All rooms have tea/coffee making facilities, hair dryer and TV. Entertainment is provided most evenings in the ballroom. There is an attractive restaurant and quiet lounge. Lift serves all floors (few stairs to some rooms). On street car parking using complimentary permit available at reception. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Cumberland Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing