We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Cumberland Hotel
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
Park Manor Hotel(Scarborough)
US$151
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Palm Court Hotel(Scarborough)
US$208
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Wrea Head Hall(Scarborough)
US$237
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$96
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
The Crown Spa Hotel(Scarborough)
US$233
US$206
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
The Mount Hotel(Scarborough)
US$187
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Red Lea Hotel(Scarborough)
US$118
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Esplanade Hotel(Scarborough)
US$132
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Weston Hotel(Scarborough)
US$145
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hackness Grange Country House Hotel(Hackness)(Great Value!)
US$131
US$127
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (301)
Filter reviews
301 results
Traveller rating
168
96
29
6
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
168
96
29
6
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsalfa travelalfa coachleisureplex hotelsentertainment every nightturkey and tinselbingo callermeal timesthe lower ground floorself driveplenty of choiceconcert roomexcellent showercompliments to the chefbrilliant hotelwell run hoteleach eveningchristmas break
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
283 - 288 of 301 reviews
Reviewed 30 July 2011

This is a very good hotel, and just had a great week there thanks.only thing i would say is they need to get new matresses for the beds.every thing else was good

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank westieengland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2011

Just come back from a week at the Cumberland travelling with Alfa travel. We were on the 3rd floor and had excellent views over Scarborough.The room was very clean and had everything we needed. The shower was brilliant and the water was always hot.The waiting staff, bar staff and reception staff were all very friendly and couldn't do enough for us. The menu was very good and had plenty of choice.We were late for breakfast one day but our waitress went out of her way to make sure we were fed.I personally found the walk back from town a bit hard going but otherwise everything was perfect. I can't believe the Cumberland is only a 2 star hotel, it feels like it should be more.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank JanetStoke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2011

I stayed in room 108 at the Cumberland for 6 nights, while on an Alfa coach tour.
This hotel seems to be owned by the same company as Alfa, and, consequently, it was pretty full with coach parties when I was there. On the whole this was not problem, but mealtimes felt like an exercise in crowd control, with rigid rules about when we were allowed to sit down for our meal, and some long waits to be served (although sometimes we were lucky and were served immediately).
The food for meat-eaters seemed pretty good, but I am vegetarian and, although there was a menu of vegetarian main courses, this was unimaginative and of fairly poor quality. It also appeared that the full menu was standard across all of the hotels owned by this company and so it was impossible to have any variation. Having said this, the prescribed desserts were varied and excellent.
The room, although a little small, was clean, and the en-suite shower worked extremely well. The only problem that we experienced was squeaky floorboards, which was odd, because, in all other respects, the building appeared to have been very well refurbished, with plain, clean, decor and furnishings. As a result of the floorboards, we could hear every bathroom trip during the night in the room upstairs as well as in our own room.
As others have said, the 4 person lift was inadequate, and would have been a real problem if we had been on a higher floor. But the staff were (with one notable exception) friendly, and it wasn't their fault that the Spa lift to and from the seafront closed for repair on the day that we arrived, leaving us with a steep walk back to the hotel from the town.
On balance, this was a pleasant stay, though I would be unlikely to book into any hotel owned by this company in the future, because of the poor vegetarian food.

Room Tip: First floor is good, though no sea views
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Peruviandream
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2011

Hotel was clean and comfortable with friendly staff & very good food, all at a budget price.
Liked the location and the view from our bedroom was to die for.
Didn't sample the entertainment available as after all the trips out, walking and dinner we were shattered.
OK, so Scarborough is hilly, which if you did your homework, would be obvious, but that is part of it's charm, loved it.

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank catwomanBexhillOnSea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2011

A nice clean hotel with friendly staff, entertainment not so good. food good and plentiful clean room and public rooms. Check the lift is working as it was out of order for the whole time we were there, not good if you are on the third floor. Prior warning would have been courtious We feel as the lift had been out for a week before we travelled. Also TV is limited to 5 channels didnt bother us but we do like sky news or bbc news channel.

Room Tip: check the lift is working
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank prayterpieeater_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews