We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“alfa travel what a pain”
Review of Cumberland Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cumberland Hotel
Ranked #10 of 26 Hotels in Scarborough
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 August 2011

just returned from 7 nights at the cumberland hotel really nice hotel good food excellent single rooms spacious and spotlessly clean good area of scarborough stunning views a short walk away not for the physically infirm though so what are the bad points well alfa that is the problem took 7 hours to get there for an average 3/4 hour trip picking up all over the place and the meal times in the hotel were regimented 8 oclock breakfast with no leeway to strict by half its supposed to be a relaxing holiday a real shame as i would heartily recommend the hotel but would not travel with alfa again alfa traveller from stoke

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
22  Thank elizabeth l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eliothotel, Guest Relations Manager at Cumberland Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2011

Thank you for your feedback and I was pleased to note that you had an enjoyable stay at the Cumberland Hotel. I have noted your comment regarding the meal sittings and as is stated on your key card, if you wish to change to a later/earlier sitting simply speak to the Restaurant Supervisor who will be happy to oblige. With regard to the travel arrangements it would appear that you booked the holiday from our north west brochure in which we explain that there will be en route pick ups for passengers joining the tour in Yorkshire. Had you booked from the Midlands brochure, travel would have been direct from Tamworth and would have been a quicker journey as there are no en route pick ups between Tamworth and Scarborough.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (274)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

255 - 261 of 274 reviews

Reviewed 7 August 2011

Had a weekend break at the Cumberland. Very impressed with the hotel. The room was pleasant with nice en suite facilities. There was tea and coffee and hair dryer in the room. The breakfast was very good. Only down side would be the nightly entertainment or rather the lack of it but it didnt put us off, will probably go back.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank angt0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2011

This is a very good hotel, and just had a great week there thanks.only thing i would say is they need to get new matresses for the beds.every thing else was good

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank westieengland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2011

Just come back from a week at the Cumberland travelling with Alfa travel. We were on the 3rd floor and had excellent views over Scarborough.The room was very clean and had everything we needed. The shower was brilliant and the water was always hot.The waiting staff, bar staff and reception staff were all very friendly and couldn't do enough for us. The menu was very good and had plenty of choice.We were late for breakfast one day but our waitress went out of her way to make sure we were fed.I personally found the walk back from town a bit hard going but otherwise everything was perfect. I can't believe the Cumberland is only a 2 star hotel, it feels like it should be more.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank JanetStoke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2011

I stayed in room 108 at the Cumberland for 6 nights, while on an Alfa coach tour.
This hotel seems to be owned by the same company as Alfa, and, consequently, it was pretty full with coach parties when I was there. On the whole this was not problem, but mealtimes felt like an exercise in crowd control, with rigid rules about when we were allowed to sit down for our meal, and some long waits to be served (although sometimes we were lucky and were served immediately).
The food for meat-eaters seemed pretty good, but I am vegetarian and, although there was a menu of vegetarian main courses, this was unimaginative and of fairly poor quality. It also appeared that the full menu was standard across all of the hotels owned by this company and so it was impossible to have any variation. Having said this, the prescribed desserts were varied and excellent.
The room, although a little small, was clean, and the en-suite shower worked extremely well. The only problem that we experienced was squeaky floorboards, which was odd, because, in all other respects, the building appeared to have been very well refurbished, with plain, clean, decor and furnishings. As a result of the floorboards, we could hear every bathroom trip during the night in the room upstairs as well as in our own room.
As others have said, the 4 person lift was inadequate, and would have been a real problem if we had been on a higher floor. But the staff were (with one notable exception) friendly, and it wasn't their fault that the Spa lift to and from the seafront closed for repair on the day that we arrived, leaving us with a steep walk back to the hotel from the town.
On balance, this was a pleasant stay, though I would be unlikely to book into any hotel owned by this company in the future, because of the poor vegetarian food.

Room Tip: First floor is good, though no sea views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Peruviandream
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2011

Hotel was clean and comfortable with friendly staff & very good food, all at a budget price.
Liked the location and the view from our bedroom was to die for.
Didn't sample the entertainment available as after all the trips out, walking and dinner we were shattered.
OK, so Scarborough is hilly, which if you did your homework, would be obvious, but that is part of it's charm, loved it.

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank catwomanBexhillOnSea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2011

A nice clean hotel with friendly staff, entertainment not so good. food good and plentiful clean room and public rooms. Check the lift is working as it was out of order for the whole time we were there, not good if you are on the third floor. Prior warning would have been courtious We feel as the lift had been out for a week before we travelled. Also TV is limited to 5 channels didnt bother us but we do like sky news or bbc news channel.

Room Tip: check the lift is working
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank prayterpieeater_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.1 mi away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#6 of 26 in Scarborough
4,926 reviews
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Scarborough St Nicholas Hotel
0.0 mi away
Marine Residence
Marine Residence
#16 of 26 in Scarborough
121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Park Manor Hotel
Park Manor Hotel
#4 of 26 in Scarborough
922 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ambassador Hotel
Ambassador Hotel
#22 of 26 in Scarborough
1,266 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bay New Southlands Hotel
Bay New Southlands Hotel
#8 of 26 in Scarborough
452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cumberland Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cumberland Hotel

Address: Belmont Road, Scarborough YO11 2AA, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 26 Hotels in Scarborough
Price Range: £53 - £68 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Cumberland Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cumberland Hotel - Scarborough [3 Alpha Symbol & AA 3 Star]. Very well situated on the South Cliff a few minutes walk from the Spa complex, beach and town centre with excellent views of the town from the north facing rooms. This excellent hotel has recently been extensively refurbished. 86 bedrooms have central heating, private bath or shower and WC. All rooms have tea/coffee making facilities, hair dryer and TV. Entertainment is provided most evenings in the ballroom. There is an attractive restaurant and quiet lounge. Lift serves all floors (few stairs to some rooms). On street car parking using complimentary permit available at reception. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Cumberland Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing