We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best we have been to.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Cumberland Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cumberland Hotel
Ranked #9 of 28 Hotels in Scarborough
Certificate of Excellence
lancashire
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Best we have been to.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2014

My parents have asked me to comment here as the hotel for them both aged 60's was perfect, staff, food,, room entertainment everything excellent- absolutely nothing negative can be said about this hotel- Many thanks for a wonderful stay

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank molyx3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

258 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    144
    81
    28
    4
    1
See reviews for
43
98
15
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Derbyshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2014

There is absolutely nothing negative for me to write. The hotel was immaculately clean, the staff were super polite and helpful. The room was light and airy. The beds were lovely and comfy, the being crisp and clean. The en-suite had a lovely double shower and clean white totals and shower mat provided, also soap and shower gel. The dining room was spacious and not over crowded, the staff were polite and efficient. The breakfast choices would suit even the fussiest of dinners. The breakfasts were served promptly and were always hot! We didn't sample the evening meal but did smell nice! There was also entertainment if you didn't feel like going out. Overall it was a brilliant experience and we are hopefully, if a room is available, returning at the end of August. Also there was plenty of free parking outside of the hotel or on a nearby side road and the hotel provide you with a parking permit for the duration of your stay. The perfect holiday!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nicki H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

Me and my girlfriend stayed one night last night, excellent service, staff were very courteous, we were able to leave our luggage in reception before checking into our room on the Saturday and again after checking out on Sunday though please ask ahead first as we did, the room was very cool after a hot day walking around and a comfy bed was very welcome, plenty of Teabags and Coffee, the Bar area was very roomy and nice, will be staying again in the future

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank marcsharp2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
94 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2014

When thinking of coach holiday hotels, run down usually comes to mind but The Cumberland Hotel in Scarborough by Alfa Coach Tours was very good indeed. This was my father's holiday that my wife and I accompany him on. The outside isn't particularly spectacular at the front though the view of it from the iron road bridge is spectacular and would be superb indeed if they re-furbished the exterior. Inside however, our room was modern with a good modern tiled bathroom and excellent shower. The food at the Cumberland was exceptionally good as were the waiters who served us, being extremely polite and well mannered. They had the usual bingo each night but the bar tender Jamie made it twice as good with his humour - (needed with one of the old grumpies on our week). The entertainers were just that little bit better than usual coach tour hotel acts, though they were single acts so no cabaret shows folks. The hotel is situated at the top of the cliffs overlooking South Bay, but, don't worry if you have walking difficulties as their are a few cliff lifts (charge 80p each way at time of writing this) to get you down and back from the beach. There are still some slopes, though gentle, that might still be too much for some people to get back up from the lift top. My father, (90 this year), climbed up everything, steps, slopes, the lot without any difficulty. We paid (approx £6 each) to go into the open air, enclosed, Spa (South Beach) to sit in deck chairs whilst a brilliant band (in striped jackets) played a wonderful arrangement of music - a real sun trap too, so be warned and smother yourself with protective sun creams! Open top buses travel from South Beach to North Beach and for £1 to £2 depending on which bus company you buy the ticket from you can get on and off all day long. It is about 3 miles from North to South so if you want a coastal walk (mostly blustery by the headland) then this would be okay for you and is very flat all the way along. Back to the hotel and the reception staff were also brilliant being very helpful with maps and directions and anything else you may need to know. Be careful with the room maids as ours either couldn't read our 'Do Not Disturb' sign that we put on the outside door handle each morning until we were ready for the room to be cleaned and made up, or simply ignored it which was embarrassing at times especially whilst waiting for the after breakfast loo call before travelling on the coach excursions. Overall then, the Cumberland is a very good hotel with very good management and staff and if they continue to maintain it outside and in it can be well recommended.

Room Tip: A room overlooking the valley at the rear would have been good but the front view has some greenery...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Wraakian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orpington
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2014

Where to start?? Went on a week's self drive holiday with my mum (she had her 81st Birthday while we were there, I am her 50 year old daughter). Had an absolutely fantastic time. We both have eaten far too much. So much choice, not just for dinner, but breakfast too. Food was always really well cooked and presented and very tasty. Good old fashioned British food. Wholesome and plenty of it. Many choices, especially as at least 7 different vegetarian options, which is really unusual. Different choices for every day of the week and no repetition.
Room was very nice. Maybe a bit dated, but spotlessly clean and tidy and very comfortable. We were on the first floor on the roadside. Whole of hotel was very warm and the room was also, but not stuffy and both windows opened. Although at front of hotel overlooking the road, we were more disturbed by the noise of the seagulls than passing traffic or people.
Staff in whole of hotel were fantastic. Nothing was ever too much trouble. Each one seemed genuinely happy in their work and were always smiling. Different entertainment every night with the obligatory game of Bingo nightly. Maybe not always everyone's cup of tea, but brilliant fun all the same. You're on holiday. Enjoy yourself. Mum did and she won the full house!!
Met some great people there and am really sorry that we didn't get the chance to exchange telephone numbers, so if Jo or Jen from Cheshire happen to read this, or if you know who they are, please do tell them to try to get in touch somehow.
Anyway, can't praise the hotel, food or staff highly enough. We had a fantastic time and would go back in a heartbeat. Would agree that it would not particularly be suitable for families with young children or young adult groups, mainly because it is a very quiet hotel and respectful of the older guest which are its main clientele. Personally, I would spend all of my holidays with the "older" guest. They know how to have a laugh and enjoy life!!
You wont regret a holiday here as long as you are not expecting 5 star service for a 2 star price. It is VERY good value for money and you will find everything you need for an enjoyable stay. The hotel is very central for everything you need. Beach is literally down the road and town quite close. Loads of things to see and do in the area.
Bar Manager Jamie was an absolute scream. Such a good sense of humour and a brilliant Bingo caller. Hope he has recovered after our stay. If I say that one night the lounge/ballroom was rather windy during the bingo, then I am sure he and other guests will know exactly what I am talking about. Glad that our friends and us managed to get the last laugh and have Jamie in fits during his stint at calling the bingo.
Can't wait to go back. Thank you to all who made our stay perfect.

Room Tip: Rooms at back of hotel have brilliant views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank janeorlando
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
203 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014

Just back from a weekend stay in this large Scarborough hotel. It appears to be a slightly older building, there is no double glazing and consequently, having a front room you can hear cars going past but worst still all the noisy people shouting in the street- granted there is nothing the hotel can do about it since I assume they are not allowed double glazing but it is annoying.

The rooms are spacious and well equipped, the bathroom itself exceptional with a very good large shower with plenty of power coming from it. However as the title suggests you can hear next door talking and using the bathroom etc, worst still some people forget their neighbours and not only talk loud in the corridor and also slam their doors. Winge over!

Breakfast had a good choice and was no doubt pre-cooked due to the speed of English breakfast arrival. I had smoked haddock and poached egg- the egg was slightly over done and rubbery. We didn't have evening meal but there seems to be a large choice and it smelt nice when we were checking in.

The hotel is in a good area and easy to walk into town- the walk back is a little harder though. Parking seems to be a little hard with only on street parking available, via a street disc giving 3 hours at a time.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Shimmy192
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014

just recently got back from staying at the Cumberland Hotel in Scarborough, great location as it only a short walk to the beach, staff were friendly and my room was clean and the entertainment provide was excellent only grumble i have is the food was a bit hit and miss my room was to hot and could only get Windows to open a little bit plus hotel looks to dated could do with being refurbished x

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Julywhitby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.1 mi away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#6 of 28 in Scarborough
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,648 reviews
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Scarborough Hotel
0.2 mi away
Red Lea Hotel
Red Lea Hotel
#11 of 28 in Scarborough
4.0 of 5 bubbles 354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Park Manor Hotel
Park Manor Hotel
#4 of 28 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 804 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bay New Southlands Hotel
Bay New Southlands Hotel
#8 of 28 in Scarborough
4.0 of 5 bubbles 421 reviews
0.3 mi away
Weston Hotel
Weston Hotel
#2 of 28 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 458 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cumberland Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cumberland Hotel

Property: Cumberland Hotel
Address: Belmont Road, Scarborough YO11 2AA, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 28 Hotels in Scarborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Cumberland Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cumberland Hotel - Scarborough [3 Alpha Symbol & AA 3 Star]. Very well situated on the South Cliff a few minutes walk from the Spa complex, beach and town centre with excellent views of the town from the north facing rooms. This excellent hotel has recently been extensively refurbished. 86 bedrooms have central heating, private bath or shower and WC. All rooms have tea/coffee making facilities, hair dryer and TV. Entertainment is provided most evenings in the ballroom. There is an attractive restaurant and quiet lounge. Lift serves all floors (few stairs to some rooms). On street car parking using complimentary permit available at reception. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Cumberland Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing