We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful camping trip on this quaint little farm”
Review of Humble Bee Farm

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Scarborough
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Humble Bee Farm
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 June 2012

I booked for us to camp for two nights at Himble Bee Farm after reading good reviews. We were not disappointed! This farm is set in the hills of a tiny village near Filey and is in a great location for accessing Filey, Scarborough and Whitby.

Upon arriving we were greeted by the delightfully friendly owners and given a sheet about the farm rules. We went to pitch our tent and drove past free-range chicken coops (where you are welcome to go and collect eggs), a small lake, goats and a barn. We took note of the two shower blocks with free showers (in my opinion, the one next to reception is nicer and quieter). The tent area is quite small which is nice and is surrounded by a beautiful landscape.

There are nature trails from the farm that children can enjoy and there always seemed to be morning activities. The farm also sells freshly cooked bacon sandwiches in the mornings and there is a very small but useful little shop in the reception. You can also hire a firepit from here for a very good price.

As two young people in our mid twenties, who aren't into drinking or partying, we felt very much at home at this site. The farm is suitable for families with children, or the older camper as it is so peaceful. Overall our stay was wonderful and we have booked to camp there again this august.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Smiiidg3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (440)
There are newer reviews for Humble Bee Farm
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

397 - 403 of 440 reviews

Reviewed 12 June 2012

We have just returned from a 6 night caming trip with our three young girls and have all had a great time - apart from the weather!!!

Some lovely touches - provision of a fridge freezer and microwave! collecting fresh eggs for breakfast! and large pitches.

Great location for the beaches. Would certainly recommend it to other families visiting the area.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank niki_porter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2012

I have just returned from my first visit to this absolute gem of a site, recommended by Catherine-a site regular! How it escaped me before I shall never know! I'm not a regular to tripadvisor but felt this one deserved my comments-that's just how thrilled we were!
It is a very spacious site with very large pitches, and Julia, Percy and their team go out of their way to make you genuinely welcome.
They pride themselves in the cleanliness of the site-we never saw anyone going to clean the toilets or showers-but it happened and to my knowledge there weren't ever signs up saying they were closed for cleaning.
Another key bonus is that this site is hidden away from the roads and therefore this not only enhances the peacefulness and tranquility, but there is peace of mind for the children to roam and be safe. As we drove down the track into the valley I felt it was just a magical haven we had stumbled across.
There are animals for the children to see close up, and Percy the farmer often took time to explain to us all (-being true townies) about the life on a farm. There are walks to amble along and the coast is just minutes away-Filey, Bridlington and Scarborough,- and the shop on site has the necessary basics.

We were spellbound with the wigwams-so much so that we have booked to come back later in Summer with another family-they look such fun. Julia took the time to show me round into one of them and these too are spotlessly clean and well equipped.

'The proof is in the pudding'- as they say- the site was full of happy families and I didn't hear anyone have anything bad to say and our 2 children were so happy to play with several other children in the playground. Another saying is that if the children are happy then we're happy/this was definately the case here! A fabulous family environment!

We shall be back in summer for more fun- this is one of the East Coast's gems- if anyone wants to contact me-just email me! I cannot praise it enough!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vicki E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2012

I will start with the positives:
This is a lovely relaxing place and the owners clearly care very much about the farm. It is clean, the animals are lovely to see and it is in an idylic spot with lots of walks. Also no mobile signal which is a definate plus in my book. The park and showers/toilets are conveniently located. The wigwams are a nice size and lovely and warm, added bonus of a microwave and a toaster, plus the gas bbq was an asset.
The main negatives were partly the amount of rules - no ball games in the park, yet nowhere to play ball games unless all the pitches are not used, all children off the park by 9.00, no music.
Booked this as it had 8 wigwams and we were travelling as part of a group of families, was disappointed that the wigwams were separated into 2 groups and also that the access road to the wigwams, tents and caravans ran straight through the middle, meaning that cars were driving where the children were playing.
This wigwam venue was much dearer than others we have stayed in (£29 extra per night), and the add ons were more, £6 per night for a gazebo (we have not paid in other places), this money had to be paid for the duration of our stay regardless of whether we used it each night, the fire pit was also £8 per night extra, in the last place we stayed you got the pit free but had to buy your wood from the shop. All just bits but made the stay quite expensive for a 'cheap' camping break.
In all honesty we felt like groups are not that welcome, so in summary if you are travelling as a couple or 1 or 2 families - lovely, bigger groups maybe not.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ballylong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ScarboroughCastle, Owner at Humble Bee Farm, responded to this reviewResponded 26 November 2012

Thank you for taking time to write a review and for the positive comments you make about Humble Bee Farm.
You state, in effect, that there are too many ‘rules’ at Humble Bee Farm.
In all aspects of our work, we want to ensure a peaceful break for all our guests, whether or not you are part of group. To help maintain this, we do not encourage ball games in certain areas of the site, we don’t allow music (surely this is a plus!), and the play park closure time of 9pm is a very reasonable time given the idyllic nature of our farm.
Our wigwams have always been in two ‘villages’, four in each village, and we endeavour to let people know of this at the time of booking. The two sets of wigwams are no more than around 100 yards apart.
There is very little we can do about the natural ‘lay of the land’ at Humble Bee Farm, which means there is a central access ‘track’ with pitches and wigwams either side. We are in a lovely valley, so by it’s very nature our site will have central access points.
Our fire pit costs have been kept at the same rate for some time: £8 is reasonable for the nightly rental of the brazier, a good amount of dry wood and extra timber, firelighters, delivery to your door, and collection the next day. Our firepits can be the highlight of a wigwammer’s evening. The wood provided burns for a reasonable length of time and helps make the trip memorable.
Our wigwams come fully equipped and our tariff reflects this. Please note that wigwam sites offer different facilities. We are a peaceful, rural site with good facilities, an excellent location and the benefits of being on a working farm, ideal for the family holiday. Our pricing strategy takes into account all of the above, and we feel that ‘you get what you pay for.’
With reference to your comment that ‘groups are not that welcome’, we would respond to this by saying groups are welcome providing they accept our Terms and Conditions – which are mentioned at the time of booking and are sent to customers. By booking with us, you accept our Terms and Conditions. In addition, our Terms and Conditions are clearly indicated on our website, so we take every measure to ensure people are aware of them.
There was no hidden agenda and we always work hard to maintain Humble Bee Farm as an idyllic spot you rightly describe in your opening comments.
We will always endeavour to keep Humble Bee Farm as the rural, peaceful image that many of our customers come back for.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2012

We stayed in one of the lovely cottages this year, having previously stayed in a wigwam. Julia, John and Faith all very warm and welcoming. Couldn't do enough to help us enjoy our stay. We enjoyed walks on the waymarked farm trails with the kids, feeding the ducks & chickens and watching the goats munch on Julia's beautiful garden plants!

A very relaxing holiday. We all want to return for another stay another year.

Room Tip: Take sleeping bags not sheets if staying in wigwams (we forgot to read the Humble Bee info when pack...
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WharfedaleWhitakers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2012

Last year we came to Humble Bee farm with the 3 children and loved the place! Julia and Percy the owner are very nice people whom work very hard to keep there business/livelihood safe! However this year we decided to share our luvly experience with a group of friends who joined us in their own tents! Little did we know this was a bad idea! Humble Bee Farm is not for large groups of people! As large groups of people talk, well more than single families and therefore stand out like a sore thumb! After the first night, we were told there had been several complaints about our children playing on the park later than allowed (9pm), therefore Julia advised us to get our children in bed for 9pm thereby respecting other peoples feelings! I agree totally and the night of the incident the children were immediately told to leave the park... I guess whoever complained didn't tell her that! The following Monday some children were playing on the park until 10pm. (I wonder if their parents were made to feel terrible and unwelcome!) Sounds really petty but seriously if you consider going to humble bee in a group be sure that it is the right place for you! If you laugh loud like to stay ip later than 9 pm or have children that sleep late. I would avoid! Humble bee is described as a peaceful retreat..! Not a party destination. Must also note we did go to relax and our party animal days have long gone (well mine have at least) but I wouldn't say that I had a relaxing holiday at Humble Bee. We all felt very on edge about who we were upsetting!

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EnvironmentGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ScarboroughCastle, Owner at Humble Bee Farm, responded to this reviewResponded 26 November 2012

Humble Bee Farm is a peaceful, tranquil haven and you will have been aware of this due to your previous visit.
Group visits are welcome at Humble Bee, providing you have read, signed and returned our Terms and Conditions. All information regarding Group Terms and Conditions is on our website, and explained in details when a reservation is taken. We send out these Ts and Cs so there is no hidden agenda, and you are aware of our ‘rules’ in advance of your visit. We have worked hard to keep our site as peaceful and quiet as possible, and want to keep it that way. We have built up a lot of ‘regular’ visitors who enjoy the Humble Bee Farm environment. We wish to continue the motto of our farm: Humble Bee Farm – a Great Place to Bee!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2012

went for jubilee n would neva go again ive been allover camping for years to alot ov 5 star campsites n neva have i been told wot tym my kids have to be in bed for or what tym i have to be back on site i only went off site because we were made to fell unwelcome slightly too much like a boot camp than a farm

Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
15  Thank carl g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Scarborough
23.4 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#2 of 20 in Whitby
2,081 reviews
6.2 mi away
Marine Residence
Marine Residence
#16 of 26 in Scarborough
112 reviews
6.2 mi away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#6 of 26 in Scarborough
4,911 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Dale Farm
Dale Farm
#1 of 5 in Hunmanby
81 reviews
5.5 mi away
Pinewood Park
Pinewood Park
#4 of 38 in Scarborough
272 reviews
7.3 mi away
The Sands - Sea Front Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Humble Bee Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Humble Bee Farm

Address: Flixton, Scarborough YO11 3UJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 38 Speciality Lodging in Scarborough
Hotel Class:4 star — Humble Bee Farm 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Humble Bee Farm is close to Scarborough, Filey, Bridlington, Whitby and the North York Moors National Park. Stay with us in this lovely part of Yorkshire. You can be as busy as bees exploring the area and return to our site to for relaxed, quality time with family or friends. We have cows, sheep and crops in our fields, ensuring a superb holiday accommodation with the great outdoors! Collect an egg for breakfast, meet the farmyard gang. Walkers, cyclists and surfers are welcome. Child and dog friendly! We are a Low Noise Policy site so you can relax with us, down on the farm. Our special events programme runs from February to October and includes Lambing and Calving weekends, Bat and Owl Watches, Halloween, Stargazing and much more. So go for the glamp here at Humble Bee – the best glamping experience in Yorkshire. The site includes luxury holiday cottages, Big chief wigwams, Deluxe Wigwams, Bell Tents, Nomadic Yurts and peaceful camping pitches. Humble Bee Farm is also a winner of a prestigious White Rose Award 2015. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Humble Bee Farm Hotel Scarborough

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing