We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location for exploring the coast”
Review of Humble Bee Farm

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Scarborough
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Humble Bee Farm
Certificate of Excellence
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great location for exploring the coast”
Reviewed 7 April 2013

We have just enjoyed a two night stay in one of the wigwams at Humble Bee Farm. These were well equipped with toaster, kettle, mini fridge and most importantly, electric heating! We had lovely weather, but was bitterly cold - not a problem in these heated beauties! The girls enjoyed exploring the farm areas and seeing the animals, although as mid week guests, there were no events where they could interact with them although this farm does offer a variety of weekend activities. The site was very quiet and safe for our girls and the other children to play. Toilet and shower areas were nice and clean but the shower did reduce to a trickle if the toilets were flushed simultaneously - good and hot if you managed to get in before everyone else woke up though. The fire pit was £10 per night including fire lighters and wood, which we thought a little expensive but was fun and the girls loved toasting marshmallows under the stars. We paid £72 a night for two adults and two children(during school hols), so reasonably good value and would recommend for a short stay or longer break. The cottages looked lovely too, might upgrade for the hot tub next time!

Room Tip: The wigwams are split into two areas, with four at the end of the farm track - a little way away fro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank TheWilkiesontour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ScarboroughCastle, Manager at Humble Bee Farm, responded to this review, 13 May 2013
We're glad you had a good stay at Humble Bee Farm and thank you for your positive comments, we look forward to welcoming you again, either in a wigwam or one of the cottages! We always encourage our guests to report any problems they encounter before they leave so that we can address any technical issues as they arise, we appreciate you drawing our attention to the water flow in the shower block and are pleased to report that this has now been dealt with and everything is functioning properly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

417 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    353
    49
    6
    4
    5
See reviews for
247
69
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2013

My wife and I stayed at Hunble Bee Farm for 2 nights for a Glamping stay in the wigwams ! Although the weather was loads of snow where we live in Doncaster, there was not a single snowfake at Flixton. However it was absolutely freezing at Humblebee !.But, it did not spoil our stay , this place is absolutely superb. The shower facilities are superb, and the owners cannot do enough to ensure your stay is brilliant.We had fire pits for both nights of our stay, and although it was windy and freezing on both nights, we still managed to light our pits !!
If you want a perfect chill out place to come to , either short break or longer, this is the place to be. We have camped here before,2 years ago and it was just the same, high quality, attention to detail, Whilst we were there it was the Lambing and Calving weekend and we saw newly born lambs born within an hour !!
Don't expect to rely on mobile phones though, this is a place to escape from everyday life, oh if you want a good curry,Filey Tandoori will deliver to the site, lush !!!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank philmoirat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beverley, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 February 2013

Wonderful short break, the weather was very cold but the wigwam was fab - really cosy and held its heat. We were made welcome and John & Julia couldn’t have been more accommodating. Facilities clean and well maintained. Children thought egg hunting and feeding the goats was brilliant. We will definitely return.

Not sure if you were fully booked over winter but speaking to friends if you were to maintain your half term offer of £30 per wigwam and not charge the additional £8 per child - I for one would be coming regularly. Having 3 children just tips the price on the expensive for us for a short regular breaks. Also during term time if you were trying to reach out to families at a weekend maybe consider check in at 4.30 (after school) and check out at 12.30pm. Again we would love to come during winter term time but feel we would only really benefit from one day (Saturday), before packing up on Sunday morning. Hope you don’t mind me leaving this feedback.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Claire W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 January 2013 via mobile

Me and my wife both work full time so this was a perfect break away to spend quality time with our kids. The break didn't disappoint the kids loved the farm animals, walks and toasting marshmallows on the fire Pitts. Everyone was friendly and was able to bring along our dog who loved it equally as much. Not been able to get a phone signal at the bottom of the valley only added to the tranquility of the place but if you needed to make a call it was only a five minute walk up the hill. Close to places like Filey,Scarborough and Bridlington there was always places to explore. We are Hoping to go back a few times this year as everyone enjoyed it so much.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Starko152
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leeds
1 review
Reviewed 13 November 2012

Just spent a wonderful couple of days on the farm with my husband, daughter and son-in-law. We had two wigwams located next to each other as requested. Hired the fire pit for the first evening, cooked our meal outside on the gas barbeque (which was provided free of charge) and enjoyed eating 'al fresco'.
John and Julia who own the farm and Faith who helps to run things, are so friendly and helpful and the facilities are immaculate. Loved seeing all the animals and our free eggs collected from the hen house made a delicious breakfast!
Visited Scarborough and Whitby during our stay but because of the location there were lots of other interesting places we could have chosen to visit. My daughter and a friend stayed earlier in the year, then my son brought his partner and my granddaughter for her first birthday, so now it was our turn. We've already booked for all 7 of us to spend a week together here next spring so think that tells you how much we have all enjoyed the Humblebee Farm experience.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sheila m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2012

We stayed at Humblee Farm (family with 2 young boys) in a wigwam and it was lovely, a real getaway. The wigwams themselves are lovely, well equipped and clean. The facilities are spotless and again well equipped. The pitches are nicely spaced so your not 'on top of one another'. The firebaskets are a real treat. I dont think the capsite is strict, children were playing happily till about 9 and no one complained or took issue, all the rules seem very sensible. My only slight 'criticism' (and I say that very lightly) is that some of the extras are quite expensive for what you get, we rented the washing up and cutlery pack for £2.50 a day which was a god send but I think it would have been nice to have 4 plates and 4 sets of cutlery for that price as over a few days the cost does soon add up, again this is something very minor. Would highly recommend Humblee Bee Farm.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MCKENNACLAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2012

This was our 3rd visit to humblebee farm, 2nd time in a wigwam! Even though the weather was awful we still had a great time and our 2 boys loved it. We were warm and dry and the boys slept better than they usually do at home!! Can't fault the wigwams or the site

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank muppet1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Scarborough
23.4 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#2 of 20 in Whitby
2,046 reviews
6.2 mi away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#6 of 28 in Scarborough
4,867 reviews
4.2 mi away
Dale Farm
Dale Farm
#1 of 5 in Hunmanby
77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Pinewood Park
Pinewood Park
#5 of 36 in Scarborough
271 reviews
17.8 mi away
Rocklands Lodges
Rocklands Lodges
#1 of 29 in Pickering
284 reviews
7.3 mi away
The Sands - Sea Front Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Humble Bee Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Humble Bee Farm

Property: Humble Bee Farm
Address: Flixton, Scarborough YO11 3UJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 36 Speciality Lodging in Scarborough
Hotel Class:4 star — Humble Bee Farm 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Humble Bee Farm is close to Scarborough, Filey, Bridlington, Whitby and the North York Moors National Park. Stay with us in this lovely part of Yorkshire. You can be as busy as bees exploring the area and return to our site to for relaxed, quality time with family or friends. We have cows, sheep and crops in our fields, ensuring a superb holiday accommodation with the great outdoors! Collect an egg for breakfast, meet the farmyard gang. Walkers, cyclists and surfers are welcome. Child and dog friendly! We are a Low Noise Policy site so you can relax with us, down on the farm. Our special events programme runs from February to October and includes Lambing and Calving weekends, Bat and Owl Watches, Halloween, Stargazing and much more. So go for the glamp here at Humble Bee – the best glamping experience in Yorkshire. The site includes luxury holiday cottages, Big chief wigwams, Deluxe Wigwams, Bell Tents, Nomadic Yurts and peaceful camping pitches. Humble Bee Farm is also a winner of a prestigious White Rose Award 2015. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Humble Bee Farm Hotel Scarborough

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing