We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A different experience but need overpriced extras or it's a stay in a shed!”
Review of Humble Bee Farm

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Scarborough
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Humble Bee Farm
Certificate of Excellence
UK
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“A different experience but need overpriced extras or it's a stay in a shed!”
Reviewed 28 August 2014 via mobile

We booked to visit for one night with the children whilst visiting attractions in the area. The farm is in a beautiful setting and is very peaceful. The wigwam we had had thick dust under the beds and old cobwebs on the walls which was very disappointing. Some of the extras are at extortionate prices e.g. Bedding hire for the family was quoted at £95 for one night! All the things that make the stay are classed as chargeable extras firepit etc... A different experience but doubt we would ever repeat

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank herefroggyfroggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ScarboroughCastle, Manager at Humble Bee Farm, responded to this review, 31 August 2014
Thank you for your comments about our wigwams and for appreciating our beautiful location.
We welcome all constructive feedback, and our office is open seven days a week, 9am to 5pm, so there is always the opportunity to inform us of any problems, which also give us the opportunity to 'set things to rights'.
Our cleaning staff are trained to the highest level and are extremely thorough – and not to mention very proud! – of the level of cleanliness they achieve.
Our wigwam experience is enhanced by the optional extras you can order if you so wish. For example, our bedding tariffs start at £8 for the duration of a stay, and can help make a special occasion even more memorable.
Firepits are a key feature of the Humble Bee experience, and the firepit price includes delivery, metal brazier, two lots of quality timber, kindling, firelighters, and then collection the next day. And we haven’t even mentioned that a firepit can last the evening and be a perfect end to leisurely day.
The wigwams are located on a unique setting of a working farm, surrounded by peaceful countryside, and being close to the coast means Humble Bee has a great setting.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

409 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    346
    48
    6
    4
    5
See reviews for
240
68
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, England
Level 6 Contributor
163 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2014

We stayed here the beginning of July and I have to say this place is really picturesque. A wonderful little Gem which is just a small stone throw away from most of Yorkshires Finest (check out my other reviews).

Best Shower Facilities I have ever found on a site (Great for families albeit with their massive shower room).

Very helpful and very friendly staff. Highly Recommended !

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Camos07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ScarboroughCastle, Manager at Humble Bee Farm, responded to this review, 24 August 2014
Hello there, thank you for this 'jewel' of a review! It is always appreciated when our facilities and site meet expectation. We hope you can join us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 21 August 2014

I have just for back from a few days at humblebee farm with a friend and our children and they loved it just as much as we did!! Great friendly hospitality with a very helpful farmer, the farm is in a peaceful setting with beautiful surroundings. The children loved the freedom of being able to go see the animals and play in the park area along with making new friends. They waited by the chicken coop in the mornings to bring a freshly laid egg back to the wigwam (which was cosy and had all essential items.. The kids thought if it as a big den!) we had a lovely relaxing holiday and spent our evenings by the fire pit toasting marshmallows and creating lots of memories!! We will definitely be back thanks for a great time :)

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gillholm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ScarboroughCastle, Manager at Humble Bee Farm, responded to this review, 31 August 2014
Hello there and many thanks for your review. We are very glad you all enjoyed it, and that the children enjoyed the farm experience here at Humble Bee Farm. We would love to see you come back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York
1 review
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Humble Bee Farm is set in stunning countryside, it is a lovely and clean site. Great camping pitches, facilities spotless! Very quiet a night time which was brilliant for us. We hope to be back again soon.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nexus04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ScarboroughCastle, Manager at Humble Bee Farm, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Many thanks for joining us here at Humble Bee and for the lovely review. We are glad you had a peaceful time and we hope you come back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pontefract, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 16 August 2014

The title says it all. Our 5th stay in a wigwam at Humble Bee Farm and all I can say its Fab. Kids love it and i do aswell. Lovely peaceful place to relax. Great play park for the kids, Really clean shower and toilets. Wigwams have everthing you need. Just wish i was staying tonight as i type this. Julia & John(Farmer Percy) are great along with all the other ladies which make it such a sleek operation.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Rachel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ScarboroughCastle, Manager at Humble Bee Farm, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Thank you so much for your fifth visit and also for writing the lovely review. It is wonderful that you find us such a great place to bee! Lovely pics too. Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 16 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed Jan 2013 in a luxury cottage. Due to heavy snow we couldn't get on the farm but the owner came collected myself and kids in their car then towed our car on with the tractor. An eventful start to a wonderful relaxed weekend. We loved the sledging and hot tub in the snow. Plan to come back at some point and try the wigwams.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ScarboroughCastle, Manager at Humble Bee Farm, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
hi there and many thanks for your comments. The most recent winter wasn't too bad for us here at the farm, but we remember the previous 2 winters only too well! We do hope you join us again in the Wigwams, or again in one of our cottages.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Otley, England, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 16 August 2014

We have just returned home today after a fabulous week at Humble Bee Farm .. We took our tourer and the pitch was very spacious . Our son who 7 absolutely loved this place and made lots of friends throughout our stay . The site was very clean and well maintained . The owners are very friendly . The amenities were spotless .Our son loved collecting the freshly laid egg on a morning, some days waiting at the hen hut from 7:30 lol ... It is such a child friendly site ..Would we go back ???? Too right we would .We will be re- booking in the next couple of weeks ..Thankyou to the owners for making our stay perfect ..From. Lorraine,Craig & Nathan x

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lollipop1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ScarboroughCastle, Manager at Humble Bee Farm, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Hello there, and we very much appreciate your lovely review and your kinds words. We are so glad you enjoyed your holiday with us and of course enjoyed making farmyard friends. Please join us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Scarborough
23.4 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#2 of 20 in Whitby
2,019 reviews
6.2 mi away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#6 of 28 in Scarborough
4,836 reviews
4.2 mi away
Dale Farm
Dale Farm
#1 of 5 in Hunmanby
74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Pinewood Park
Pinewood Park
#5 of 35 in Scarborough
265 reviews
17.8 mi away
Rocklands Lodges
Rocklands Lodges
#1 of 29 in Pickering
279 reviews
7.3 mi away
The Sands - Sea Front Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Humble Bee Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Humble Bee Farm

Property: Humble Bee Farm
Address: Flixton, Scarborough YO11 3UJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 35 Speciality Lodging in Scarborough
Hotel Class:4 star — Humble Bee Farm 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Humble Bee Farm is close to Scarborough, Filey, Bridlington, Whitby and the North York Moors National Park. Stay with us in this lovely part of Yorkshire. You can be as busy as bees exploring the area and return to our site to for relaxed, quality time with family or friends. We have cows, sheep and crops in our fields, ensuring a superb holiday accommodation with the great outdoors! Collect an egg for breakfast, meet the farmyard gang. Walkers, cyclists and surfers are welcome. Child and dog friendly! We are a Low Noise Policy site so you can relax with us, down on the farm. Our special events programme runs from February to October and includes Lambing and Calving weekends, Bat and Owl Watches, Halloween, Stargazing and much more. So go for the glamp here at Humble Bee – the best glamping experience in Yorkshire. The site includes luxury holiday cottages, Big chief wigwams, Deluxe Wigwams, Bell Tents, Nomadic Yurts and peaceful camping pitches. Humble Bee Farm is also a winner of a prestigious White Rose Award 2015. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Humble Bee Farm Hotel Scarborough

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing