We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Extremely friendly and we would return.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
St Michael's Guest House
Ranked #2 of 183 Scarborough B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Extremely friendly and we would return.”
Reviewed 21 August 2011

The owners of this Guest House were so friendly and helpful. We stayed as a party of 6 for the weekend (myself, husband, children- ages 3 and 7, nan and grandad). The rooms were very clean and comfortable. The children loved the bunk beds!

Children are made very welcome and have their own refreshments on the tea/coffee trays in the family rooms. Also our children mentioned that they liked pancakes during breakfast on the first morning and on the next morning they were offered pancakes!

We really enjoyed our break and the little touches that came from the guest house to make our stay comfortable. Thank you.

Just to be aware that it does not have a communal lounge which we would have used probably once as we were staying in 2 separate rooms. But as we were out and about we would have used this minimally anyway. This did not spoil our stay in anyway.

Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Jo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

910 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    897
    13
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
228
415
59
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Derby, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2011

The service we received at this guest house was second to none,they couldn't do enough for us and i didn't have to ask for anything,breakfast is excellent,great for a holiday appetite ! Our room was lovely,comfy bed and en suite facilities with flat screen tv
Its close to Peasholm park,short walk to the town centre,local shops nearby for the morning papers.
We will definately be going again,next may in fact

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank betty_boob_65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2011

Arrived after a 3 hr drive and was met by the new owners, Jan and Ed who immediately made me feel welcome and relaxed. Room was clean and tastefully decorated with a good size ensuite. In addition there was superb coffee and tea making facilities with biscuits etc. Breakfast the following morning was well presented and tasty. Interestingly the new owners only took over a month ago and I look forward to returning in the future to see how they have progressed.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank CliveHarbour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire, England
Level Contributor
47 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2009

I was a little worried before I came due to the fact that no one had reviewed this bed and breakfast. I was very pleasantly surprised to find a very clean and tidy guest house with a warm welcome from Gill and a lovely breakfast to boot. The prices were very reasonable and compared to the cost of trying to rent a caravan on one of the local caravan parks were about a third of the price for a short break. I stayed for 2 nights with my 2 grandchildren for a weekend break and we all loved it and will be returning again next year. The location of the bed and breakfast is excellent approximately 150 yeards from the back of peasholme park and roughly the same from kidszone. There is a very good sandwich shop called alfresco very close by and also a restuarant called the coffee pot which is licensed and serves lovely food at reasonable prices again child friendly.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Graham-Janice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.9 mi away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#6 of 28 in Scarborough
4,797 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Toulson Court
The Toulson Court
#1 of 183 in Scarborough
728 reviews
0.3 mi away
Leeway Hotel
Leeway Hotel
#3 of 183 in Scarborough
385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
North Bay Guest House
North Bay Guest House
#5 of 183 in Scarborough
430 reviews
0.4 mi away
La Baia Hotel
La Baia Hotel
#6 of 183 in Scarborough
539 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Helaina
The Helaina
#10 of 183 in Scarborough
482 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St Michael's Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St Michael's Guest House

Property: St Michael's Guest House
Address: 149 Columbus Ravine, Scarborough YO12 7QZ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 183 B&Bs / Inns in Scarborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — St Michael's Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traditional seaside guest house ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Priceline and Book Direct Rooms so you can book your St Michael's Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing