We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
St Michael's Guest House
Ranked #2 of 182 Scarborough B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Amazing!”
Reviewed 12 June 2012

This was definitely a fantastic choice of b&b. Jan and Ed were absolutely amazing hosts, took excellent care of us. They made us feel at home and were very helpful whenever we needed advice on where to go or what to do. The room was clean, sunny, beautifully decorated and very comfortable. The tea and coffee making facilities as well as toiletries were great and replenished when we needed them. Breakfasts were fantastic and plenty of it! (even my boyfriend was defeated by the amount of food!). Definitely the best b&b we have ever stayed at. It is a very short walk from the North bay beach front!
Again, a massive thank you to Jan and Ed for being such amazing hosts, made our first (and hopefully not last) stay in Scarborough unforgettable!
Definitely would recommend this place to everyone!

Peter and Dory

Room Tip: They are all beautiful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dory-the-fish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

918 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    905
    13
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
230
419
60
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Thame, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2012

Would like to say thank you for a really friendly welcoming, fantastic breakfasts, clean and comfortable rooms. All round fantastic experience that I would highly recommend. Can't fault it :)

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dawn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hebden Bridge, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2012

We arrived to a very friendly welcome, and welcome cup of tea, Jan sorted out our parking straight away which was good. Our room was very clean and comfortable with a great en suite bathroom. The TV was easy to use, with the clear instructions provided, and the room had tea making facilities (with a check the following day whether we needed fresh milk). We had two good nights' sleep, despite the best efforts of the seagulls. The cooked breakfast had just about everything you could think of, and I had to admit defeat on the first morning there was so much on the plate. On the second morning, Jan and Ed had remembered that my wife likes skimmed milk and provided this which really impressed us. On both days there were morning papers if needed and, as above, the hosts were friendly and welcoming throughout the stay. We will definitely try and stay at this guest house when we next visit Scarborough. Thanks for a great 2 days..........Viv and Colin xx

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Colin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2012

We had an excellent 2 night stay, and can only back up previous reviews. The room was pefect for our stay and extremely clean, and the breakfast was excellent and with all our requirements being met. We would definately look to stay again when visiting Scarborough.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brett W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 9 June 2012

Excellent just like been at home they are very friendly people and they make you feel like your at home and there breakfast is amazing highly recomended and defentialy will be visiting again

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank emmalofthouse2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 5 June 2012

We recently stayed here and would recommend this guest house to everyone.
Not only was Ed & Jan very welcoming, but the breakfast they served each morning was the best we have had. They treated us like one of the family and nothing was too much trouble for them.

Excellent value for money! Large Hotels need to take a leaf out of St Michaels Book.


Ann & Glenn, Ted & Irene Beswick

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank abeswick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2012

We have just got home from our 3-night holiday at St Michael's, and can only reiterate the praise others have given. From the moment we arrived to when we drove away Jan and Ed did everything they could to make us feel welcome.
The rooms are excellent, spotlessly clean and extremely comfortable. A generous, delicious breakfast with choice of continental and cooked items, and a friendly and welcoming atmosphere.
This was our first holiday with our 12-month old boy, and Jan and Ed made our time extra special. Would recommend this guest house 100% to anyone - we will certainly be returning in the future.
Andy, Suzy & James.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AndyHargreaves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.9 mi away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#6 of 28 in Scarborough
4,836 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Toulson Court
The Toulson Court
#1 of 182 in Scarborough
743 reviews
0.0 mi away
North Bay Guest House
North Bay Guest House
#5 of 182 in Scarborough
440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Leeway Hotel
Leeway Hotel
#4 of 182 in Scarborough
395 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Almar
The Almar
#7 of 182 in Scarborough
555 reviews
0.4 mi away
La Baia Hotel
La Baia Hotel
#6 of 182 in Scarborough
541 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St Michael's Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St Michael's Guest House

Property: St Michael's Guest House
Address: 149 Columbus Ravine, Scarborough YO12 7QZ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 182 B&Bs / Inns in Scarborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — St Michael's Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traditional seaside guest house ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L., Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Book Direct Rooms so you can book your St Michael's Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing