We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“More Like Staying With Family Than A Guest”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
St Michael's Guest House
Ranked #2 of 182 Scarborough B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow
Level Contributor
54 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“More Like Staying With Family Than A Guest”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2012

I spent 4 wonderful nights at St Michaels Guest House.
On arrival I was welcomed by Thomas then Jan, the welcome is warm and friendly.
I was then shown to the dining area where I had a cup of tea and a nice chat with Jan.
I was then shown to my room a single (Room 2) on the first floor.
The room is well decorated and furnished to a high standard and everything is well coordinated.
The single bed is very comfortable which made for a good nights sleep and the bedding is good quality.
Tea and Coffee and hot chocolate with biscuits and fredo bars was replenished daily.
Wifi is available in your room with no signal issues.
The ensuite is immaculate with a good warm powerful shower, good quality towels and toiletries.
Breakfast in the morning is excellent, I had fresh fruit, yoghurt, cereal bars, tea, orange juice and toast delicious, you could also choose from a cooked breakfast.
Jan and Ed have been running the guest house for a year they are professionals friendly welcoming and cannot do enough for you, they welcome you into their home and treat you as part of their family rather than a guest.
The house throughout is immaculate they are always updating rooms and areas around the house.
I thoroughly recommend this guest house friendly, welcoming where there number one concern is the welfare and comfort of their guests.
The room rate is very reasonable.
Wishing you all the best for the future.

Room Tip: All rooms would be of a high quality.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank saltire_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

880 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    867
    13
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
226
397
53
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2012

Booked this guest house in July 2012 after reading the reviews and we were not disappointed, From the minute we walked in we were made to feel at home with a very welcome cuppa. The room was very comfortable and spotlessly clean.The breakfast was well cooked and so filling we coudn't eat another thing until our evening meal. The toiletries and hospitality tray were generously re- filled every day.Nothing was too much trouble for Jan and Ed We couild go on at length but it really is"simply the best" Will definitely return and thank you to Jan and Ed for a smashing weekend break

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AmyErin2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suffolk
Level Contributor
137 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2012

Our very first time in a B & B. and not one I was looking forward to. How wrong can you be. From the email before arrival asking if we required two singles or a double to the very warm welcome this was a truly five star experience. Help with the luggage, parking permits, discount cards on local attractions etc etc etc all were offered with sincere friendliness and a desire to make your stay enjoyable. The attention to detail was amazing! the black out blind, the iPod dock the free wi- fi all were great I especially liked the chocolate Freddos left on our second day. The breakfast was better than the five star hotel we stayed in during April. The choice , the quality and the quantity of the breakfast was first class. I will be dieting for a week to compensate our hosts even offered us a lift to the theatre when it was raining. I must mention the cleanliness of the room which was first class. Would we return 'in a heart beat ' Thank you for a very enjoyable stay we will be returning in the Autumn.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MumsieSuffolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tadcaster, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2012

After reading all the 'excellent' reviews I had my hopes set high for our family break and I was not disappointed. We had a really friendly welcome and drinks were bought to our rooms. We booked two family rooms to give us some flexibility with our three young children. As the rooms were not large this worked out well. Both rooms were spotlessly clean and there were chocolates specifically for the children - this was in addition to the many treats Ed gave them during their stay!

The breakfasts were excellent both in size and quality and there was a wide choice of food to choose from.

This would be a good B&B but what sets this B&B above all others is the relaxed, friendly atmosphere created by Ed and Jan. They had saved a parking space for us in case we had difficulty parking, Jan gave us lots of bread to feed the ducks in Peasholm Park, the rooms had lovely touches - my children liked the lighthouse on the bathroom pull cord, the hospitality trays were well stocked and refreshed, and we felt that nothing would be too much trouble.

Thank you for a great stay.

Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Louise S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rotherham
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2012

We stayed here in July 2012. Jan & Ed made us feel most welcome during our stay, they put every effort into making St. Michael's a home from home. They are such a lovely couple and went above and beyond all our expectations to attend to all our needs. Ed's breakfast is the best we've ever had in any hotel we've stayed & the same applies to the hospitality tray in our room which was generously filled each day exactly to our tastes. Our room was spotlessly clean and beautifully decorated. We visited to celebrate our Wedding Anniversary & to visit family who live nearby. Our stay was a tonic and just what we needed. We will certainly be recommending St. Michael's when we return home. Jan & Ed, we hope you're still giggling about the adventures in Peasholm !!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank joy d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Skipton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2012

I stayed here in June 2012 with my friends for my friends Hen Party - we booked the whole B & B out. I found the rooms extremely clean and decorated to a very high standard. The bed was VERY comfy and the staff were wonderful, couldnt do enough to help and just generally lovely people all round. I will most definately be staying here again as i love Scarborough and the price of the B & B was excellent! Also, the breakfast was superb and well needed after the night out beforehand! All in all - i HIGHLY recommend this B & B.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emma8888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pudsey, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2012

Having been to Scarborough many many times, and always having stayed on Queens Parade/Blenehim Terrace, we fancied a change of venue this time. Because the reviews were so good for St Michael's, we thought we'd stay here, and we were not disappointed. We arrived early on Sunday and collected a parking permit so we could leave the car and have a good walk along Marine Drive - Jan greeted us with a fabulous welcome, and checked we had parked up okay and let us know when the room was going to be ready. We went back mid afternoon and met up with Jan again and also Ed, who although was busy decorating, carried our case up to the room, another nice touch, expecially as my husband has a bad back.

The room was lovely - very clean, and a comfy bed - which are both very important! We were both looking forward to the breakfast, especially after all the comments. This is definitely one big breakfast - all cooked perfectly and very good quality products used. Neither of us could eat anything else all day....not even an ice cream!

We would both highly recommend St Michael's if you're looking for somewhere to stay, and when we're back in Scarborough, we wouldn't dream of staying anywhere else.

Many thanks for a lovely few days.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.9 mi away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#6 of 28 in Scarborough
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,637 reviews
0.6 mi away
Premier Inn Scarborough Hotel
0.3 mi away
Park Manor Hotel
Park Manor Hotel
#4 of 28 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 801 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Toulson Court
The Toulson Court
#1 of 182 in Scarborough
5.0 of 5 bubbles 687 reviews
0.3 mi away
Leeway Hotel
Leeway Hotel
#3 of 182 in Scarborough
5.0 of 5 bubbles 377 reviews
0.0 mi away
North Bay Guest House
North Bay Guest House
#5 of 182 in Scarborough
5.0 of 5 bubbles 412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St Michael's Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St Michael's Guest House

Property: St Michael's Guest House
Address: 149 Columbus Ravine, Scarborough YO12 7QZ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 182 B&Bs / Inns in Scarborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — St Michael's Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traditional seaside guest house ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LateRooms, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotels.com, Priceline, Book Direct Rooms, Odigeo and HotelQuickly so you can book your St Michael's Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing