We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“friends 50th birthday”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
St Michael's Guest House
Ranked #2 of 182 Scarborough B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bradford
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“friends 50th birthday”
Reviewed 25 July 2012

this is the only place we all stay on days away can not be faulted in anyway its more like a second home .,rooms are to a high stanard warm and comfy and the breafast is not to be missed its a challange to eat it.and the hosts jan and ed they r just the best xxxxxx

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rterry300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

921 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    908
    13
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
231
420
60
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Luton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2012

Stayed for 2 wet nights in July but got a very warm welcome from Ed and Jan, cup of tea and a cake was a nice touch when we arrived. A lot of effort has gone into making your stay a very pleasant experience and we cant recommend it enough, our room was clean and comfortable it was easy to park right outside, the breakfast must be one of the biggest I have had in any hotel or b&b including fruit and cereal etc as well as a fantastic full english.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GordonLU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walsall, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2012

As someone who tours round the UK and Europe on a motorbike regular, ive stayed in alot of B&B's. Ed & Jan were the perfect hosts and could not do enough for me whilst I stayed there over the w/end. My single room was spotless and clean and a hot cuppa on arrival from Jan was just the tonic I needed after getting abit chilly riding for 3 hours through freezing fog. The B&B is ideally placed for a lovely stroll onto the promenade / beach and is only about 5 minutes ride from the Olivers Mount road race circuit that I was attending. There is onstreet parking for motorbikes / cars and Jan supplies you with a permit if you need one, but after 5pm its free anyway. I will def be going back upto the North Yorks Moors and will ALWAYS pick St.Michaels' for my base.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MotorbikeMo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Browns Bay, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 July 2012

We are visitors from New Zealand and it was our good fortune to stay at St Michael's Guest House, sadly for only one night. Parked directly outside the guest house and received a warm welcome from Ed and Jan. Our room and in fact the whole of the guest house, breakfast room etc, was spotlessly clean and beautifully furnished and decorated. In addition there was an abundance of accessories in the bedroom for teamaking etc and bubbly things in the bathroom.

The crowning glory though has to be the magnificent breakfast, cooked to perfection and having everything you could wish for on a breakfast plate. Unforgettable. As an added culinary bonus there is just down the road a fish and chip shop which provided the best fish and chip meal I have ever had. Marvellous.

Our hosts were very approachable and interested in our wellbeing and I will always from now on be following the fortunes of Peterborough United, "The Rock".

We will of course heartilly recommend this guest house to our friends and to any prospective travellers to Scarborough.

Roger and Rhyll

Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Roger W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2012

I spent 4 wonderful nights at St Michaels Guest House.
On arrival I was welcomed by Thomas then Jan, the welcome is warm and friendly.
I was then shown to the dining area where I had a cup of tea and a nice chat with Jan.
I was then shown to my room a single (Room 2) on the first floor.
The room is well decorated and furnished to a high standard and everything is well coordinated.
The single bed is very comfortable which made for a good nights sleep and the bedding is good quality.
Tea and Coffee and hot chocolate with biscuits and fredo bars was replenished daily.
Wifi is available in your room with no signal issues.
The ensuite is immaculate with a good warm powerful shower, good quality towels and toiletries.
Breakfast in the morning is excellent, I had fresh fruit, yoghurt, cereal bars, tea, orange juice and toast delicious, you could also choose from a cooked breakfast.
Jan and Ed have been running the guest house for a year they are professionals friendly welcoming and cannot do enough for you, they welcome you into their home and treat you as part of their family rather than a guest.
The house throughout is immaculate they are always updating rooms and areas around the house.
I thoroughly recommend this guest house friendly, welcoming where there number one concern is the welfare and comfort of their guests.
The room rate is very reasonable.
Wishing you all the best for the future.

Room Tip: All rooms would be of a high quality.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank saltire_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2012

Booked this guest house in July 2012 after reading the reviews and we were not disappointed, From the minute we walked in we were made to feel at home with a very welcome cuppa. The room was very comfortable and spotlessly clean.The breakfast was well cooked and so filling we coudn't eat another thing until our evening meal. The toiletries and hospitality tray were generously re- filled every day.Nothing was too much trouble for Jan and Ed We couild go on at length but it really is"simply the best" Will definitely return and thank you to Jan and Ed for a smashing weekend break

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AmyErin2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suffolk
Level 6 Contributor
142 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2012

Our very first time in a B & B. and not one I was looking forward to. How wrong can you be. From the email before arrival asking if we required two singles or a double to the very warm welcome this was a truly five star experience. Help with the luggage, parking permits, discount cards on local attractions etc etc etc all were offered with sincere friendliness and a desire to make your stay enjoyable. The attention to detail was amazing! the black out blind, the iPod dock the free wi- fi all were great I especially liked the chocolate Freddos left on our second day. The breakfast was better than the five star hotel we stayed in during April. The choice , the quality and the quantity of the breakfast was first class. I will be dieting for a week to compensate our hosts even offered us a lift to the theatre when it was raining. I must mention the cleanliness of the room which was first class. Would we return 'in a heart beat ' Thank you for a very enjoyable stay we will be returning in the Autumn.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MumsieSuffolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.9 mi away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#6 of 28 in Scarborough
4,845 reviews
0.3 mi away
Park Manor Hotel
Park Manor Hotel
#4 of 28 in Scarborough
864 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Toulson Court
The Toulson Court
#1 of 182 in Scarborough
747 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Leeway Hotel
Leeway Hotel
#3 of 182 in Scarborough
395 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Helaina
The Helaina
#12 of 182 in Scarborough
485 reviews
0.7 mi away
Palace Hill Hotel Scarborough
Palace Hill Hotel Scarborough
#8 of 182 in Scarborough
505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St Michael's Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St Michael's Guest House

Property: St Michael's Guest House
Address: 149 Columbus Ravine, Scarborough YO12 7QZ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 182 B&Bs / Inns in Scarborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — St Michael's Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traditional seaside guest house ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Odigeo and LateRooms so you can book your St Michael's Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing