We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“EXCELLENT HIGHLY RECOMMEND”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
St Michael's Guest House
Ranked #2 of 183 Scarborough B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“EXCELLENT HIGHLY RECOMMEND”
Reviewed 9 August 2012

I have to say we have never stayed in a warm welcoming guest house like we did when we stayed here, Jan n ed are so friendly and as for breakfast it is definitely a battle to eat but very nice we truly enjoyed it thanks Jan n ed. Rooms are really lovely and comfortable. Highly recommend to anyone to stay at st Michael's. See you again soon Jan n ed xxxx

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nikkinglen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

908 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    895
    13
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
228
413
59
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2012

I have stayed in Scarborough hotels/guest houses several times last year or so, but the service at St Michaels deserves special mention & will doubtless bring many repeat customers including myself

I echo the previous reviews about the excellent initial welcome, and the friendly service. My room was normal Scarborough guest house size but substantial effort had been made to make it as comfortable as possible. It was spotlessly clean, comfortable, with a good quality tv, complimentary wi-fi offered on arrival

As a regular to the area I did not need much assistance but I witnessed Jan/Ed helping many others which for me is what differentiates a guest house to a national hotel chain. Special mention for the breakfast.....not only the selection which was superb, but also for the quality of the cooked items

Only problem with so many good reviews is it can be hard to make a reservation !!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2012

Stayed one night and from entering the guest house, Jan and Ed were very welcoming and friendly. The room was lovely, very clean and very well provided for all those special touches, including a mini fan. The breakfast was amazing, cereal, fruit, cake, yogurt, fresh orange and the biggest breakfast I have seen, all freshly cooked to perfection.

This was a lovely one night stay and I would return certainly would recomend to family, friends etc..

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mandyjane067
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2012

This was my first stop of my travels, I could not have been made to feel more welcome. J and greet me by asking if I would like a drink and nothing was rushed. The room was very nice light and airy. Parking was not trouble at all right outside on the street.

A big thank you to Jan and Ed for making my stay with them so great, would tell my friends and family to stay there. Everything is in walking distance, did not want to leave.

Room Tip: All rooms are of good quality
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Enjoyinglife2100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MK UK
Level Contributor
113 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2012

Jan and Ed make you feel welcome without being overbearing and nothing seems to be too much trouble for them.

The welcome cup of tea was appreciated, it makes you feel at home. Even though I had booked a single room I was given a family room which was very pleasantly decorated, spotlessly clean and the bed was very comfortable. With a double bed and a bunk bed it wasn't overly spacious but it's unlikely you would want to be spending all day in the room anyway.

The wi-fi (always important for me) is fast and reliable.

The breakfast is legendary and it is enough to see you through the day.

All in all a great place to stay, exceptional value for money and one of those rare places I would stay at again.

The location is good, just a five minute stroll from North Bay and about a 10-15 minute stroll from the town centre.

Parking is on the street and there is a parking disc scheme with three hours free parking after 09:00 Mon - Sat and after 12:00 Sunday. This may be a problem if you are staying for a few days as you would need to relocate your car after the three hours.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BritishTraveller123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jan M, Owner at St Michael's Guest House, responded to this review, 3 August 2012
Thank you for all your lovely comments, we are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us, but we would just like to clarify that when guests stay with us free parking permits are issued for the length of the stay so the car can stay parked there for the length of the stay if the guest so wishes.
Thanks again Ed and Jan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mansfield, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 1 August 2012

We only had chance to stay for one night with my better half, it was flawless from start to finish.
Jan & Ed are as many have said the perfect hosts, rooms perfect for surroundings, breakfast exceptional & puts many hotels with twice the price tag too shame, i could ramble on longer but the perfect stay, we will be back Lee & Coll.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lee c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2012

stayed here with my partner and 8 year old daughter. Owners Jan and Ed couldn't have been nicer. genuinely nice, friendly people, nothing was too much trouble. clean bedroom and a great breakfast, set us all up for the day! good sweet supply for my daughter also! 5 min walk to the north bay which is a lot quieter than the south bay but still a good walk to the south bay. Not too far from the town centre either. Had a great stay

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Becky B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.9 mi away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#6 of 28 in Scarborough
4,794 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Toulson Court
The Toulson Court
#1 of 183 in Scarborough
728 reviews
0.3 mi away
Leeway Hotel
Leeway Hotel
#3 of 183 in Scarborough
384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
North Bay Guest House
North Bay Guest House
#5 of 183 in Scarborough
430 reviews
0.4 mi away
La Baia Hotel
La Baia Hotel
#6 of 183 in Scarborough
538 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Almar
The Almar
#7 of 183 in Scarborough
552 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St Michael's Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St Michael's Guest House

Property: St Michael's Guest House
Address: 149 Columbus Ravine, Scarborough YO12 7QZ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 183 B&Bs / Inns in Scarborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — St Michael's Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traditional seaside guest house ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Book Direct Rooms so you can book your St Michael's Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing