We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“home from home”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
St Michael's Guest House
Ranked #3 of 184 Scarborough B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 August 2012

we stayed for 2 nights at the st michael. we was met with a very warm welcome and cup of tea from jan & ed we were made to feel right at home , the hotel was very well decorated and very clean through out the room was fab with all the facilaties you need from tea & coffee to shower gel even biccies & chocs , the breakfast are outstanding too many too mention. mores to say we have already booked again . thankyou jan & ed for a fab stay with you see you soon tina & michael & phoebie xxx

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tina P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (951)
There are newer reviews for St Michael's Guest House
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

861 - 867 of 951 reviews

Reviewed 15 August 2012

I have stayed at this B&B twice now and I will not stay anywhere else in Scarborough after finding this clean, family friendly and warm welcoming atmosphere of this B&B. The breakfast is exceptional I just could not eat it all. The beds were very comfortable and I had a great nights sleep can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nichola S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2012

for the second time now I've stayed at this guest house. The first time it was good but this time it was great, clean, newly decorated, family friendly, everything in the rooms you need, and the breakfast room was outstanding, everything you could possibly want to eat and the cooked breakfast was excellent. Ed and Jan made everyone feel at home and I will defiantly be going again!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hazel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2012

I have to say we have never stayed in a warm welcoming guest house like we did when we stayed here, Jan n ed are so friendly and as for breakfast it is definitely a battle to eat but very nice we truly enjoyed it thanks Jan n ed. Rooms are really lovely and comfortable. Highly recommend to anyone to stay at st Michael's. See you again soon Jan n ed xxxx

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nikkinglen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2012

I have stayed in Scarborough hotels/guest houses several times last year or so, but the service at St Michaels deserves special mention & will doubtless bring many repeat customers including myself

I echo the previous reviews about the excellent initial welcome, and the friendly service. My room was normal Scarborough guest house size but substantial effort had been made to make it as comfortable as possible. It was spotlessly clean, comfortable, with a good quality tv, complimentary wi-fi offered on arrival

As a regular to the area I did not need much assistance but I witnessed Jan/Ed helping many others which for me is what differentiates a guest house to a national hotel chain. Special mention for the breakfast.....not only the selection which was superb, but also for the quality of the cooked items

Only problem with so many good reviews is it can be hard to make a reservation !!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2012

Stayed one night and from entering the guest house, Jan and Ed were very welcoming and friendly. The room was lovely, very clean and very well provided for all those special touches, including a mini fan. The breakfast was amazing, cereal, fruit, cake, yogurt, fresh orange and the biggest breakfast I have seen, all freshly cooked to perfection.

This was a lovely one night stay and I would return certainly would recomend to family, friends etc..

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mandyjane067
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2012

This was my first stop of my travels, I could not have been made to feel more welcome. J and greet me by asking if I would like a drink and nothing was rushed. The room was very nice light and airy. Parking was not trouble at all right outside on the street.

A big thank you to Jan and Ed for making my stay with them so great, would tell my friends and family to stay there. Everything is in walking distance, did not want to leave.

Room Tip: All rooms are of good quality
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Enjoyinglife2100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.9 mi away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#6 of 26 in Scarborough
4,911 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Toulson Court
The Toulson Court
#1 of 184 in Scarborough
784 reviews
0.0 mi away
North Bay Guest House
North Bay Guest House
#6 of 184 in Scarborough
455 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Leeway Hotel
Leeway Hotel
#5 of 184 in Scarborough
412 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Almar
The Almar
#10 of 184 in Scarborough
580 reviews
1.2 mi away
Mansion House Scarborough
Mansion House Scarborough
#18 of 184 in Scarborough
635 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St Michael's Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St Michael's Guest House

Address: 149 Columbus Ravine, Scarborough YO12 7QZ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 184 B&Bs / Inns in Scarborough
Price Range: £57 - £65 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — St Michael's Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traditional seaside guest house ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Book Direct Rooms, 5viajes2012 S.L. and LateRooms so you can book your St Michael's Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing