We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
St Michael's Guest House
Ranked #2 of 183 Scarborough B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 August 2012

We have just returned from a two night stay at the St Michaels hotel in Scarborough and without a doubt it is the best B&B we have ever stayed in.
From arrival to departure Ed and Jan are the perfect hosts, nothing is too much trouble and with-in minutes you feel as if you were staying with good friends.
We had our grandson with us and the welcome they gave him was unbelievable, they loaned DVDs, books indeed anything that would help amuse a four year old.
The hotel is ideally positioned for Peasholme Park, beach, putting, crazy golf and numerous attractions can be reached via the open topped buses.
We had a family room, which was very, very clean and spacious and the courtesy trays were replenished every day, with special treats left for the grandson.
The breakfasts are out of this world with an unbelievable choice of cereals and fruits followed by the best cooked breakfast ever, all local produce cooked to perfection by Ed who does not do 'small portions', the breakfast lasts you all day and sometimes longer!
We will hopefully return to Scarborough later in the year and will definitely be staying at the St Michael’s.

Room Tip: We had a rear room which was nice and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (973)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

877 - 883 of 973 reviews

Reviewed 19 August 2012

Can definately understand why this B and B is rated No 1 in Scarborough.We stayed there on Friday night Aug 17th 2012 and were very happy with the pretty room we were given.The cleanliness was second to none and we believe this to be the most important aspect of any establishment.The owners were really nice people and could not do enough to make our stay pleasant.Could not believe the size of the breakfast, even after reading the reviews before we went. There was cereal and fresh fruit to choose from and then the lovely full English breakfast. The quality of the food was outstanding with 3 lovely sausages,3 rashers of back bacon,2 hash browns,beans,egg,mushrooms,fresh tomatoes, tinned tomatoes and blackpudding.We thoroughly enjoyed it and I even managed to finish it.We would highly recommend St Michael 's
guest house and would not consider staying anywhere else when we return to Scarborough.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank thorntonpeter1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2012

stayed here with my wife for a short break was met by jan and ed who offered us a coffee and had a chat they were very welcoming to both of us ,the room was lovely and clean and tidy,breakfast was huge and excellent ,we went out for the day and came back and ed was there offered us a beer which was apprieciated and had a lovely chat about things,would not hesitate to return or recommend this excellent guest house welldone jan and ed

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wbreweruk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2012

A big thank you to Jan and Ed for a wonderful stay. We can only echo previous comments. Jan and Ed are fantastic hosts and made us all feel very welcome. The room we had was well-equipped and extremely comfortable. The location is perfect, just a short walk from the beach and park. The breakfast was enormous and of an excellent quality. Nothing was too much trouble and we would highly recommend a stay to anyone visiting Scarborough.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ClaireandIanH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2012

We stayed at St Michaels with my husbands parents and it was fantastic and amazing value for money. The service that Jan and Ed provided could not be faulted and they were extremely helpful and welcoming. The rooms were perfect, newly decorated and had everything we needed and lovely comfy beds. The breakfast was delicious and huge but could be tailored to your requirements. We really enjoyed our stay and will definitely be back and I have already recommended this B and B to my friends and family.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JillandSimonH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2012

we stayed for 2 nights at the st michael. we was met with a very warm welcome and cup of tea from jan & ed we were made to feel right at home , the hotel was very well decorated and very clean through out the room was fab with all the facilaties you need from tea & coffee to shower gel even biccies & chocs , the breakfast are outstanding too many too mention. mores to say we have already booked again . thankyou jan & ed for a fab stay with you see you soon tina & michael & phoebie xxx

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tina P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2012

I have stayed at this B&B twice now and I will not stay anywhere else in Scarborough after finding this clean, family friendly and warm welcoming atmosphere of this B&B. The breakfast is exceptional I just could not eat it all. The beds were very comfortable and I had a great nights sleep can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nichola S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.9 mi away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#6 of 26 in Scarborough
4,963 reviews
2.3 mi away
Wrea Head Hall
Wrea Head Hall
#1 of 26 in Scarborough
1,935 reviews
0 mi away
The Toulson Court
The Toulson Court
#1 of 183 in Scarborough
822 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
The Beaches
The Beaches
#5 of 183 in Scarborough
290 reviews
0.1 mi away
Atlanta Hotel
Atlanta Hotel
#3 of 183 in Scarborough
306 reviews
0 mi away
North Bay Guest House
North Bay Guest House
#6 of 183 in Scarborough
478 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St Michael's Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St Michael's Guest House

Address: 149 Columbus Ravine, Scarborough YO12 7QZ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 183 B&Bs / Inns in Scarborough
Price Range: £56 - £66 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — St Michael's Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traditional seaside guest house offering clean, comfortable, high quality guest rooms and breakfast. Each guestroom having it's own private toilet/ shower room facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Book Direct Rooms, 5viajes2012 S.L., LateRooms and Ebookers so you can book your St Michael's Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing