We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“JLS - Just Love Scarborough”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
St Michael's Guest House
Ranked #2 of 183 Scarborough B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 August 2012

We went to Scarborough to see JLS at The Open Air Theatre this weekend and stayed at St Michael's Guest House again. Yes again and it was just as fantastic as it was the last time.
Such wonderful people. So Kind, helpful and caring. Nothing is too much trouble, wether its advise where to go or a bed time drink of milk for the children.
The hotel is so lovely. We went into our room and the smell of fresh linen and cleanliness was lovely. Jan even pops in to replenish the toiletries etc in the morning. She is a absoulute star.
The breakfast is something else !!!! Really sets you up for the day right through til evening. Edd cooks a pretty mean breakfast. Full english means full english,superb. You can have fresh fruit, toast, cereal, yogurts,cereal bars. Gluten free people are catered for too. Is there no end to the thoughtfulness of these people ???? They really do think of everything to make sure your stay is relaxing and enjoyable. Simply wouldn't want to stay anywhere else and nor would we.
Thank You Edd, Jan and Thomas. You're outstanding people. xx

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank helen m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (973)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

870 - 876 of 973 reviews

Reviewed 25 August 2012

gary and sarah spent the weekend with jan and ed at st michaels b and b we were met with a warm welcome and a cup of tea after a long journey. we wereshown to our excelent room with great facilities it was like home from home clean and well equipt. we had a comfortable night. ed's huge breakfast was to die for. weve recomended to all our freinds. jan and ed are the best host. we will be back in the future.
sarah and gary from carlisle.

Room Tip: clean comfortable well equipt
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gary m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2012

Thanks to Ed and Jan for making us so welcome. The rooms were beautifully appointed and most importantly for me spotlessly clean. Ed made us feel immediately at home, ensuring we had parking permits and helping with the bags up to our room. There was a good mix of people staying and all were made equally welcome. I would actively recommend St Michaels to anyone looking for a central base for exploring. We were in easy walking distance for the beach and the town. Thank you both and we look forward to seeing you again.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheBlackHorseGR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2012

Stayed 2 nights in this lovely b&b. Jan & Ed are the perfect hosts - so warm and friendly. The rooms are beautifully decorated and nothing is too much trouble. Ed's breakfasts are fit for a king! We shall definitely be back.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lisascholes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2012

Jan and Ed are fantastic, really friendly hosts, always helpful and full of useful advice. The rooms are very well kept, really clean and look lovely. The breakfast is cooked perfectly (runny yolks every time, with huge portions!). After a 2 night stay trying to leave felt like we were leaving a second home! Our 4 yr old is still asking to go back to see Jan and Ed again :) We will definitely be returning as soon as we can.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sammy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2012 via mobile

My husband 2 daughters and myself stayed here for 2 nights on Mon 20th Aug.
On arrival Jan and Ed were very welcoming making us a hot drink and issuing us with a parking permit.
Without repeating exactly what others have said re bedroom and breakfast which is the same lovely comments I shall add what made our stay lovely.
-cutlery and bowls/beakers for our 2 were a lovely touch as so many places expect small children to use a adult knife and fork! I admit it's our responsibility to provide for our children but it just saved bringing this equipment.
-the DVD's games provided all helped in occupying our two whilst packing up etc.
- the day parking permit which Jan gave us on our last day to save paying for parking in Scarborough.
-the helpful advice from Jan on the places we wanted to visit.
All in all a lovely stay in a lovely guest house. We shall return one day and I shall be telling everyone I know about St Michaels.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MrsBH46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2012

3 day break with daughter.Brilliant,great welcome,very friendly.Room very clean,fresh good towels,soaps,shampoos,gels,biscuits for each guest and a small choclate each.Best breakfast you will have ( guaranteed,you need to try it).Daughter used Wi-Fi,perfect.Good location.Ed and Jan were perfect hosts,seems like we've known them forever,so nice.Will be back for sure

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank andymolloy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.9 mi away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#6 of 26 in Scarborough
4,963 reviews
2.3 mi away
Wrea Head Hall
Wrea Head Hall
#1 of 26 in Scarborough
1,935 reviews
0 mi away
The Toulson Court
The Toulson Court
#1 of 183 in Scarborough
822 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
The Beaches
The Beaches
#6 of 183 in Scarborough
290 reviews
0.1 mi away
Atlanta Hotel
Atlanta Hotel
#4 of 183 in Scarborough
306 reviews
0 mi away
North Bay Guest House
North Bay Guest House
#7 of 183 in Scarborough
479 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St Michael's Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St Michael's Guest House

Address: 149 Columbus Ravine, Scarborough YO12 7QZ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 183 B&Bs / Inns in Scarborough
Price Range: £56 - £66 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — St Michael's Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traditional seaside guest house offering clean, comfortable, high quality guest rooms and breakfast. Each guestroom having it's own private toilet/ shower room facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Book Direct Rooms, 5viajes2012 S.L., LateRooms and Ebookers so you can book your St Michael's Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing