We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quick getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
St Michael's Guest House
Ranked #2 of 183 Scarborough B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 November 2012

30/10/2012,2,night's at Ed and Jan's,thanks for a great stay,perfect host's,great location,Nr the park north bay,Had a good walk from the top end of nth bay to the far end of the south bay,beaches still look great, lovely Yorkshire size breakfast or anything you want just ask!,Tram to the beach still running The little Cafe at the top of the Tram's good value for drinks and buttie's if we're in Scarborough again looking for a b&b,we'll be back!,thanks John & Lesley, from Hull.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rjohnno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (973)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

848 - 854 of 973 reviews

Reviewed 31 October 2012

Ed & jan are such amazing hosts.
me & my mate was workin in scarborough for a week. We stayed at their guest house. I am deffinetly going to come back & bring my wife & 3 children. Ed makes such tremendous breakfasts (if u can eat it, then well done). The two of tem are very welcoming.

Will

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 19will99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2012

We stayed for 2 nights at St Michael’s and had a wonderful experience. Our hosts, Ed and Jan, were welcoming and informative. Our en-suite twin room was beautifully decorated, very clean and with all the necessary amenities. I’ve stayed at places in the past where there was something not quite working or something missing – it was not the case here. Our room was the right sized and layout and I felt that Ed and Jan had really thought about the little details that would make their guests feel welcome and at home. Breakfast included cereal, fruit and a large full English breakfast. The full English was so big that we had to ask for a smaller portion the next day.

The guesthouse is about 10 minutes’ walk to the North Bay beach. We had a wonderful time walking along the North Bay, up to the Scarborough castle, and down to the South Bay. There are restaurants close by including Jeremy’s, Haz (Turkish) and Tikka Tikka (Indian on Dean Road). Scarborough is a lovely place to visit with friends or even by yourself. I understand the guesthouse also has a single room.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CazPa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2012

Stayed one night on our drive through Yorkshire, and found St. Michael's a comfortable respite. Jan and Ed were perfect hosts, the room was comfortable, the breakfast enormous. Couldn't have found a better play to land and plan to return on my next trip to the UK.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank britron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2012

The breakfast is enormous - a true challenge (that we duly rose to), but it is outdone by the friendliness of the welcome. It must be difficult to stay so positive when people invade your home with their wants and ways but it's all the same to this lovely couple. They seem to genuinely enjoy their work.
The location is good for the (far preferable) north bay and the cricket ground.
If I had to moan I would say that Columbus Ravine remains noisy with traffic throughout the night and it would be nice to get a carafe of real coffee with breakfast but, at the price, these comments seem churlish and I feel almost guilty bringing them up.
Book with confidence.

Room Tip: If you sleep with the window open, it might be quieter at the rear of the house.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank michaelandjoanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2012

stayed 2 nights for our 1st anniversary and couldnt have picked a better place to stay; the room we stayed in was immaculate; lovely decorated and fresh; with everything u needed for a cosy night in. The service was fantastic and always with a smile and a welcome arm; couldnt fault it any way; altho jan and edd were busy; they were never too busy to take time out for a chat and a cup of tea. As for the breakfast; well what more can i say; they are huge and such a variety from fresh fruit; cereal to a massive fry up which to be honest; kept you going for the day; we were sorry to have to leave so soon and wished that we had booked for longer; a big thankyou to jan and edd for making our anniversary so special and we hope to see you all again real soon. A definate stay if you are going to Scarborough xx

Room Tip: it doesnt matter; you wont be dissapointed with any of them
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Claire H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2012

yet again we found ed and jan the most hospitabal hosts you will ever meet if every b/b met there welcome standards cleanliness trip advisor would not be needed we stayed once again on the 28/09/12 and we never want to leave they treat everyone the same just as you are family the rooms the FOOD are way above the norm in a word just go there and see if i am telling the truth and for four in a bed participents go there and take a look and then take the standard's set by jan and ed and use them to win cause you will best of british to JAN @ EDD you are superstars One thing i do feel is that i cheated jan and ed by paying such a low price for such a fantastic stay worth double the amount

Room Tip: no advice they are all exceptional
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank graham s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.9 mi away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#6 of 26 in Scarborough
4,954 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Toulson Court
The Toulson Court
#1 of 183 in Scarborough
818 reviews
0.1 mi away
Atlanta Hotel
Atlanta Hotel
#3 of 183 in Scarborough
305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
North Bay Guest House
North Bay Guest House
#7 of 183 in Scarborough
474 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Beaches
The Beaches
#6 of 183 in Scarborough
288 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Helaina
The Helaina
#18 of 183 in Scarborough
501 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St Michael's Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St Michael's Guest House

Address: 149 Columbus Ravine, Scarborough YO12 7QZ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 183 B&Bs / Inns in Scarborough
Price Range: £57 - £66 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — St Michael's Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traditional seaside guest house offering clean, comfortable, high quality guest rooms and breakfast. Each guestroom having it's own private toilet/ shower room facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Book Direct Rooms, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and LateRooms so you can book your St Michael's Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing