We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still fantastic”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
St Michael's Guest House
Ranked #2 of 183 Scarborough B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 March 2013

Yet another brilliant week-end stay with jan & ed. everything was just perfect I would totally recommend a stay here to everyone. So what are you waiting for , go to the best b & b in Scarborough , the welcome & friendliness is second to non , the rooms are always spotless , and the breakfast is out of this world

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Keith W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (972)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

811 - 817 of 972 reviews

Reviewed 14 March 2013 via mobile

Stayed here last night, sadly only for 1 night. From the moment we arrived Jan made us feel right at home. Our room was spotlessly clean and had absolutely everything one could need. The breakfast was AMAZING and Ed & Jan are such lovely people. So friendly & accommodating. I would recommend this b&b to anyone. The price Is an absolute bargain. My fiancé actually said he felt like we'd not paid enough for the excellent service we received. Keep up the tremendous work Jan & Ed

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nursie11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2013

I stayed on the night of Friday 8th March and loved every minute of my stay. Jan & Ed were so warm and welcoming on my arrival, they are a lovely, friendly couple. The room was immaculate, the cleanest B&B i've ever stayed in. The breakfast was amazing and had everything you could possibly want. There was that much I didn't even have to worry about getting lunch. On arrival I was offered a beer which certainly went down well after a long drive and day at work. If your staying or working away in the area, this is the place to stay. When i'm next in Scarborough, I wouldn't stay anywhere else. I was here for work, but would certainly bring my young family or partner to stay. Supurb value for money as well. Many thanks, Dan

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daniel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2013

The best guest house I have stayed in, the owners (Jan and Ed) are friendly and not over bearing, the rooms clean and spacious, the location great for both the North bay sea front and a walk into the main town.

The rooms all have tea, coffee, hot chocolate and biscuits fresh towels and very comfy beds. The shower was OK but could have been a little more powerful but given this is an old house it would probably mean a major rewire and its not worth it for a 5 mins freshion up!

The owner is a POSH (Peterborough United football) fan and the house has little reminders all over it! The owners are great, offering to drive us to meet friends, providing free door step parking, remembering our names and

The breakfast was "epic" if anything a little too "epic" although one of our group managed to clear his plate twice the rest of us reigned back from ordering the "full" English to a more retrained version, I could not fault it, there arent enough characters available to describe all on offer! The standard of the food was good too.

Room Tip: Do not eat for two days before you go so you can enjoy the breakfast to the max!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank S8C11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2013

The hosts of thw family run concern are polite, attentive, and nothing is to much trouble for them. The rooms are of a very high standard and the breakfast is amazing. We will cirtainly return when we next visit this part of the world. Many thanks for your hospitality. Tony, Dianne & Louisa

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tonystirls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2013

We stayed on the 1st and 2nd march, we were welcomed by Jan and Ed late in the evening.
They are a very friendly couple, making the guests feel very welcome.
the rooms were very clean and tidy, we hadnt even unpacked and Jan was bringing me a cup of tea up after the long drive.
The breakfast is the best ive ever had at a B&B. i also forgot to pack my toiletry bag but jan posted it out to me during the week. highly recommend and will be certainly going again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ryan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2013

We have just spent a lovely weekend at the St Michaels Guest House.
Jan and Ed are the most loveliest couple, was welcomed with a lovely cup of tea when we arrived. The rooms are of a very high standard of cleanliness, as is the rest of the B&B. The beds are very comfortable and for having a room on the main road we slept well and it went quiet at night.
The breakfast was fab hot and very filling you could have a big full English or a smaller one. Nothing was a bother, our second morning i asked for bacon sandwich and it was no bother. It is somewhere on our list that will become a regular B&B for us when we next go to Scarborough.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pauline502
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.9 mi away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#6 of 26 in Scarborough
4,954 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Toulson Court
The Toulson Court
#1 of 183 in Scarborough
818 reviews
0.1 mi away
Atlanta Hotel
Atlanta Hotel
#4 of 183 in Scarborough
305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
North Bay Guest House
North Bay Guest House
#7 of 183 in Scarborough
474 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Beaches
The Beaches
#6 of 183 in Scarborough
287 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Helaina
The Helaina
#18 of 183 in Scarborough
499 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St Michael's Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St Michael's Guest House

Address: 149 Columbus Ravine, Scarborough YO12 7QZ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 183 B&Bs / Inns in Scarborough
Price Range: £57 - £66 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — St Michael's Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traditional seaside guest house offering clean, comfortable, high quality guest rooms and breakfast. Each guestroom having it's own private toilet/ shower room facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Book Direct Rooms, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and LateRooms so you can book your St Michael's Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing