We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Outstanding” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of St Michael's Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
St Michael's Guest House
Ranked #2 of 184 Scarborough B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Outstanding”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2013 via mobile

We wanted a few days away at short notice. Checked a few reviews. When we arrived we were greeted like old friends, made a cup of tea, our bags were taken to our room. Was shown to our room which was very clean, shown how the shower, TV and alarm worked. After a very good nights sleep. Came down to breakfast a selection of fresh fruit and cereals. Then a full english breakfast cooked just how you want it. Will definately be stopping again !!!!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stormgren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

861 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    848
    13
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
221
390
52
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2013

We had absolutely no idea where to book in Scarborough and wanted a clean b&b for a night. We booked this b&b purely based on the good reviews hoping that it remotely lived up to what other people had written. We echo everyone elses comments. We had a three year old with us and he was looked after from the moment we arrived. He was given sweets, dvds to watch and made to feel as welcome as we were. The rooms are comfortable and clean which was my only priority. The breakfast and everything else was a lovely bonus. It is the small things that really stand out like having your name remembered, children catered for with lovely little cups and tailor made breakfasts. The breakfast was the nicest breakfast I have had for years. In other b&bs you usually get a tiny little pure orange and feel almost embarrassed by asking for another drink. Here you get a full jug to yourself. The breakfast is enormous and I can eat!! It really does keep you going until tea time. If like me you have no idea where to stay in Scarborough just book this place and you will not be disappointed. (i'm quite fussy too!) The location is great. Thank you very much for looking after so well and we will return.
Joanne and Iwan x

Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank joanne w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2013

after spending two nights here and meeting the friendliest hosts in Ed n Jan made it a very welcoming place will definitely return if just to try and polish off the amazing full English beakfast haha . Spotlessly clean and in good location

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank keith c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2013

We stayed at St. Michaels Guest House for Two nights, May 24th and 25th. After a very long and very cold ride over from Leeds on our Vespa through wind, rain and hail!!..we couldn't have received a warmer welcome. We were greeted by Jan who offered us a lovely cup of coffee before showing us to our room which was perfect, we were in room 5 with a double and single bed, lovely bathroom and super comfy bed. The tea and coffee making facilities are excellent with complimentary biscuits. After a great nights sleep we were again warmly welcomed as we sat down for a full English breakfast...this has to be seen to be believed!! A hearty breakfast to say the least, a plate full of very tastey quality locally sourced ingredients. Jan and Ed were on hand to offer directions to local attractions and also lend a hand in any way they could. This is by far the best Bed & Breakfast we have stayed in and thoroughly deserve their certificates of excellence. Thank you Jan & Ed for making us feel so welcome you're lovely people and we will be back.
James & Izabela

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank James1H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2013

Just got back from a weekend in Scarborough staying at St Michael's, quite simply the best B&B that I've ever stayed in. Jan and Ed are fantastic hosts and are very welcoming, it felt like I was staying at a friends house. The B&B is spotlessly clean and is a nice quiet area of Scarborough. Easy to see why the St Michael's has won Trip Advisor awards, will definitely return.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank C0lly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2013

Jan and Ed are fantastic the best place we have stayed in ever!!!! Five star hotels don't even come close. jan and ed are welcoming and friendly and nothing is too much trouble for them they make your visit to Scarborough worth while, I wouldn't stay anywhere else and there breakfast is the best in the world !!! I would challenge anyone to beat it thank you for making our stay as special as always you truly are two special people and so proud to call you our friends. If your lucky enough to get a room here don't think twice book it you won't be disappointed this b&b is spotlessly clean, well decorated and your hosts are the best in the world what more can you ask for. Thanks for making us feel part of the family a home away from home lots of love leesa Paul and meya

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mimileoniewashington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bourne End, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2013

We stayed at this B@Bfor 3 nights and the hosts are extremely friendly, nothing is too much
trouble and the breakfasts are massive.Would recommend to friends and family. There is a
hairdryer in all rooms - great for the ladies!! In the bathroom there are shower gels and
shampoos. Biscuits are changed every day and there's plenty of tea and coffee.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 136judy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.9 mi away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#6 of 28 in Scarborough
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,499 reviews
0.6 mi away
Premier Inn Scarborough Hotel
0.3 mi away
Park Manor Hotel
Park Manor Hotel
#4 of 28 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 782 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Toulson Court
The Toulson Court
#1 of 184 in Scarborough
5.0 of 5 bubbles 664 reviews
0.0 mi away
North Bay Guest House
North Bay Guest House
#5 of 184 in Scarborough
5.0 of 5 bubbles 398 reviews
0.2 mi away
Leeway Hotel
Leeway Hotel
#3 of 184 in Scarborough
5.0 of 5 bubbles 374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St Michael's Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St Michael's Guest House

Property: St Michael's Guest House
Address: 149 Columbus Ravine, Scarborough YO12 7QZ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 184 B&Bs / Inns in Scarborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — St Michael's Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traditional seaside guest house ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Book Direct Rooms so you can book your St Michael's Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing