We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“first class”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
St Michael's Guest House
Ranked #3 of 184 Scarborough B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 June 2013

stayed with ED and JAN on 12th and 13th june 2013. After introductions we were offered tea or coffee, and sat chatting for 10 mins. could not fault anything.JAN and ED have very high standards.(AND IT SHOWS. SO CLEAN) and the little extra touches in your room,coffee tea even hot choc and biscuits replenished daily. and the chocolates ooh. harry never got to taste as I arrived in room before him each day haha. asked for small breakfast. when it arrived thought they had made a mistake. could hardly see the plate.and it was all hot.pot of coffee each. jug of juice .well need I go on.ONE other important thing we must add is.You arrive as a guest but definitely leave as friends. SEE YA SOON JAN AND ED KEEP UP THE GOOD WORK.
HARRY AND LIZ D.. XX

Room Tip: All rooms are of a high standard
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hizzar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (951)
There are newer reviews for St Michael's Guest House
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

761 - 767 of 951 reviews

Reviewed 13 June 2013

Couple in early sixties visited again and can confirm that standards have been maintained and even improved on "First Class". Jewel in the Crown of East Coast Guest Houses.
Tremendous breakfast with Jan and Ed there to look after the property and their guests.

Room Tip: Enquire of Jan and Ed to explain your requirements.
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tcowley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2013

This Guest House is the best I have ever had the pleasure of staying at. from the moment you arrive to the time you have to leave, Ed and Jan made your sty First Class and Perfect. The rooms are delightful and the Breakfast has to be seen to be believed. No need to look anywhere else in Scarborough.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2013 via mobile

We wanted a few days away at short notice. Checked a few reviews. When we arrived we were greeted like old friends, made a cup of tea, our bags were taken to our room. Was shown to our room which was very clean, shown how the shower, TV and alarm worked. After a very good nights sleep. Came down to breakfast a selection of fresh fruit and cereals. Then a full english breakfast cooked just how you want it. Will definately be stopping again !!!!

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stormgren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2013

We had absolutely no idea where to book in Scarborough and wanted a clean b&b for a night. We booked this b&b purely based on the good reviews hoping that it remotely lived up to what other people had written. We echo everyone elses comments. We had a three year old with us and he was looked after from the moment we arrived. He was given sweets, dvds to watch and made to feel as welcome as we were. The rooms are comfortable and clean which was my only priority. The breakfast and everything else was a lovely bonus. It is the small things that really stand out like having your name remembered, children catered for with lovely little cups and tailor made breakfasts. The breakfast was the nicest breakfast I have had for years. In other b&bs you usually get a tiny little pure orange and feel almost embarrassed by asking for another drink. Here you get a full jug to yourself. The breakfast is enormous and I can eat!! It really does keep you going until tea time. If like me you have no idea where to stay in Scarborough just book this place and you will not be disappointed. (i'm quite fussy too!) The location is great. Thank you very much for looking after so well and we will return.
Joanne and Iwan x

Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank joanne w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2013

after spending two nights here and meeting the friendliest hosts in Ed n Jan made it a very welcoming place will definitely return if just to try and polish off the amazing full English beakfast haha . Spotlessly clean and in good location

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank keith c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2013

We stayed at St. Michaels Guest House for Two nights, May 24th and 25th. After a very long and very cold ride over from Leeds on our Vespa through wind, rain and hail!!..we couldn't have received a warmer welcome. We were greeted by Jan who offered us a lovely cup of coffee before showing us to our room which was perfect, we were in room 5 with a double and single bed, lovely bathroom and super comfy bed. The tea and coffee making facilities are excellent with complimentary biscuits. After a great nights sleep we were again warmly welcomed as we sat down for a full English breakfast...this has to be seen to be believed!! A hearty breakfast to say the least, a plate full of very tastey quality locally sourced ingredients. Jan and Ed were on hand to offer directions to local attractions and also lend a hand in any way they could. This is by far the best Bed & Breakfast we have stayed in and thoroughly deserve their certificates of excellence. Thank you Jan & Ed for making us feel so welcome you're lovely people and we will be back.
James & Izabela

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank James1H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.9 mi away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#6 of 26 in Scarborough
4,911 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Toulson Court
The Toulson Court
#1 of 184 in Scarborough
784 reviews
0.0 mi away
North Bay Guest House
North Bay Guest House
#6 of 184 in Scarborough
455 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Leeway Hotel
Leeway Hotel
#5 of 184 in Scarborough
412 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Almar
The Almar
#10 of 184 in Scarborough
580 reviews
1.2 mi away
Mansion House Scarborough
Mansion House Scarborough
#18 of 184 in Scarborough
635 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St Michael's Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St Michael's Guest House

Address: 149 Columbus Ravine, Scarborough YO12 7QZ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 184 B&Bs / Inns in Scarborough
Price Range: £57 - £64 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — St Michael's Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traditional seaside guest house ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Book Direct Rooms, 5viajes2012 S.L. and LateRooms so you can book your St Michael's Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing