We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“First Rate”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
St Michael's Guest House
Ranked #2 of 182 Scarborough B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Chobham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“First Rate”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2014

We really enjoyed our stay in Scarborough, not least because of the warm welcome we received from Jan and Ed. Their guesthouse is spotless and they do everything they can to make you feel welcome. The breakfasts were cooked to order and were superb.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ForestGreen2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jan M, Owner at St Michael's Guest House, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Thank you for the positive review, we are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay, hope to see you again if you come back to Scarborough.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

882 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    869
    13
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
226
398
54
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
london
Level Contributor
57 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2014

We got a fantastic welcome from Jan and Ed and soon found out the only problem was that Ed supported Peterborough but some one has to.
The hotel was spotless and Room 2 was a very nice size with a very roomy bathroom. All the nice touches are here and Jan even offered to run us to the station at the end of the stay as we were travelling by train.
If you are in Scarborough you must stay here. Faultless, oh and good luck to the Posh in the playoffs Ed.

Room Tip: Room 2 is an excellent twin room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tone8906
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jan M, Owner at St Michael's Guest House, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
We are really pleased you enjoyed your stay in our Twin room and your breakfast. it was lovely meeting you both and talking football . We always try our hardest to ensure our guests feel at home and enjoy their stay so we are really pleased to get such lovely comments, thankyou Ed and Jan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

Just returned from our first visit to St Michael's guest house and we hope to return soon. Jan and Ed are a lovely couple, very helpful, and welcoming. The rooms are well laid out with comfy beds, en suite shower, tea making facilities, tea, coffee, biscuits etc. The breakfasts are huge (if you can eat a lot) or smaller if you are watching the waistline. Jan and Ed do their best to provide as much or as little as you want. Cereals, yoghurts, fruit, full english with all the trimmings, toast, tea or coffee, believe me it's worth stopping at St Michael's for the breakfasts alone, add Jan and Ed's hospitality and you couldn't ask for more. A previous award winner and we could see why.

Mike & Karen

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michael N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jan M, Owner at St Michael's Guest House, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Thanks for the positive review, we are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to seeing you again soon when hopefully the sun will be shining. Ed and Jan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackburn, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014

Just returned from our first visit to Ed and Jan's place and will be returning! They were so helpful in recommending places to visit and eat, all of which were good. Stayed in the family en suite which was bright, spotlessly clean and airy. We all slept well each night. The breakfasts were fantastic! Thank you so much for the little Easter Egg for Evie, she wanted to stay longer - and so did we! Danny, Fiona & Evie

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fiona E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jan M, Owner at St Michael's Guest House, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Thankyou for the positive review, we enjoyed meeting you all and are really pleased you enjoyed your stay and the easter eggs. It is always great to hear that our guests have slept well and had a lovely time. You know where we are if you travel to Scarborough in the future. Ed and Jan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kendal
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014

We received a lovely warm welcome when we arrived; a cup of tea and bags taken to our room. The room was spotless and beautifully decorated. Amazing breakfast with as much or as little of whatever you wanted. Jan and Ed were so friendly and helpful. Can't wait to go back! Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bigvis65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jan M, Owner at St Michael's Guest House, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Many thanks for leaving us your great feedback. We are really pleased you enjoyed your time in Scarborough and your stay with us, hope to see you again when you next visit Scarborough. Ed and Jan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancaster, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014

Just landed home from a fantastic four day stay at St Michaels, Jan and Ed are the loveliest people you will ever meet, very welcoming and accommodating to your needs. The room are done to an excellent standard and are very comfortable the little touches Jan does to your room is what makes your stay, It's been Easter we had choc eggs every A.m in your room, little chicks dotted on your towel bale as you arrive. ( Next towels ) I may add.. lol.. And for Ed's breakfast well what can you say, except Bring your appetite as it is amazing and the potion size will fill even the hungriest of people..
If you need advise on where to eat out, or places to visit during your stay they will tell you where to go and offers available al in all a fantastic stay and we will see them again soon.
Up the POSH..!!!!! xxx

Room Tip: Every room is a good room, can't fault any of them
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sharon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jan M, Owner at St Michael's Guest House, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Thanks for taking the time out of your busy day to write us such a great review really appreciate it. Its always great catching up with you both and so glad you had a great stay with us and enjoyed the bunnies !!! Ed and Jan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014

Feel compelled to write my first ever tripadvisor review having just returned from a 3 night stay at St Michaels.

Just to set the scene; party of 3 including my pregnant partner and my 3 year old son decided to visit Scarborough for a 3 day break.

Upon arrival, Jan greeted us and Ed moved his car to make a parking space available on the front of the hotel, a great gesture when you have a 3 year old child running riot and lots of bags to take up! We were shown to room 5, which was absolutely immaculate. The general appearance of the whole place is.

Jan and Ed can't do enough for you, even bringing a plate of spaghetti hoops up to the room for my son who can be a bit fussy at times!!

The breakfasts are colossal, the service impeccable. If you plan to stay in Scarborough there is only one place to stay in my eyes.

Thanks Jan and Ed.

Love Craig, Clare and James.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Craig D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jan M, Owner at St Michael's Guest House, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
We feel very privileged to be your first review so thankyou very much. We enjoyed meeting your family and the dinosaur !! and we wish you well with your new addition and hope to meet them next year. Thanks again. Ed and Jan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.9 mi away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#6 of 28 in Scarborough
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,648 reviews
0.6 mi away
Premier Inn Scarborough Hotel
0.3 mi away
Park Manor Hotel
Park Manor Hotel
#4 of 28 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 804 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Toulson Court
The Toulson Court
#1 of 182 in Scarborough
5.0 of 5 bubbles 687 reviews
0.3 mi away
Leeway Hotel
Leeway Hotel
#3 of 182 in Scarborough
5.0 of 5 bubbles 377 reviews
0.0 mi away
North Bay Guest House
North Bay Guest House
#5 of 182 in Scarborough
5.0 of 5 bubbles 414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St Michael's Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St Michael's Guest House

Property: St Michael's Guest House
Address: 149 Columbus Ravine, Scarborough YO12 7QZ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 182 B&Bs / Inns in Scarborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — St Michael's Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traditional seaside guest house ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, LateRooms, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Book Direct Rooms and HotelQuickly so you can book your St Michael's Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing