We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent B & B”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
St Michael's Guest House
Ranked #2 of 184 Scarborough B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 May 2014

We booked this B&B because of the reviews trust me there all true, We book this in as Family & Friends- this is the best B&Bs we have stopped in for many years. Ed(Barry Fry lol ) & Jan are lovely people who made us all very welcome as soon as we arrived. The rooms are lovely inside and immaculatey clean,
The breakfast is first class & quality produce (where do you get them sausages from need to know supplier). We will all be back again soon . Have a busy season no doubt you will.
Steve & Family Durham. May17th/18th

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brad778
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jan M, Owner at St Michael's Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2014

Many thanks for your lovely comments, we enjoyed meeting you all and we are really pleased you had a good weekend with us Hope to see you again if you come to Scarborough. Ed and Jan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (962)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

575 - 581 of 963 reviews

Reviewed 19 May 2014

From the minute we arrived we were made to feel at home with a lovely welcome cuppa from Jan and Ed. They are lovely people who run a beautiful Guest House. It is spotlessly clean and warm (stop worrying about the boiler Jan lol) Ed's breakfasts are gigantic so it was a good job I saw the menu and went for the mini version, I wouldnt have eaten for a week had I had the full monty. My husband managed it though...... twice! Overall we had a relaxing stay for 2 nights and when we visit lovely Scarborough again we would always try here first. Thanks Jan & Ed for a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SwintonKaren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jan M, Owner at St Michael's Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2014

Thanks for your great review, so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and lovely Scarborough, hope to see you both again when you next visit . Ed and Jan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014 via mobile

My husband, young daughter & parents stayed with ed & jan for 2 nights. We couldn't have asked for better hospitality & beautifully clean & bright rooms (well equipped with tea/coffee making facilities & biscuits, and jan had left a drink & treat for our daughter in our room - thank you!) The cooked breakfasts were out of this world! Plenty to choose from too if you didn't opt for a cooked breakfast. From the minute we arrived (ed came out & brought in our bags) to the minute we left, we were made to feel so welcome. The guest house is situated very close to peasholm park & scarborough seafront, which was ideal. We will definitely be back ... if you're looking for a relaxing, friendly, welcoming, well situated guest house, this is the place for you! Thanks to ed & jan for a fab stay .. hope to see you next year.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank The3Ferries
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jan M, Owner at St Michael's Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2014

We are thrilled to read your positive review of St Michael's and that you all had a great time, hope you enjoyed the rest of your hols and hope to see you again next year. Ed and Jan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2014

This is without doubt the best guest house in Scarborough, the owners and the place could not be faulted. However do not go here if you are on a diet, Ed and Jan give you far to much to eat A***" Also their prices are far too small for the service.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dik1941
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jan M, Owner at St Michael's Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2014

Well what can we say we loved meeting you all and are pleased that you all chose to stay with us. Thank you for all your positive feedback and hope to see you again. Ed and Jan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2014

This is a lovely b&b. Ed and Jan are great hosts, from a welcoming cup of tea to a brilliant breakfast which set us up for the rest of the day. We stayed in the family room (sans kids) which was very comfortable - a great idea to have a wide range of games and DVDs if the kids get bored on a wet Scarborough day. All in all - highly recommended!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gary A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jan M, Owner at St Michael's Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2014

It is always rewarding when we hear we have met our guests expectations and that they have enjoyed their stay with us. Thankyou for your lovely feedback. Ed and Jan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2014

Well what can we say about Jan and Ed proprieters of St Michaels ..From when we first arrived we were welcomed with a cup of tea or coffee which was really appreciated after travelling.The room we had was immaculate with a comfortable bed, plenty of towels and a complimentary tea and coffee tray.The whole place was spotless.Breakfast was a great choice of continental or full English or a choice of what you fancy. Jan and Ed are the most perfect hosts and welcoming couple you could wish to meet.If anybody needs a Guest house in Scarborough this is the place to be..We arrived as Guests and left as friends .We can only give 10 out of 10 as it is well and truly the best Guest house we have ever visited.John and Wendy.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JOHNNY19472014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jan M, Owner at St Michael's Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2014

Thank you for your five star review. We really appreciate your feedback and are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and we enjoyed chatting with you, hope to see you again. Ed and Jan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2014

We are from Perth Western Australia, and this stay was the last night of our 4 week holiday. Our hosts Ed and Jan were so friendly and welcoming. Every previous review has already clearly stated that this is the best place to stay in the region....and we agree !!!!
Our only disappointment was that we could only stay one night.....we were so impressed that I'm writing this from Heathrow airport on way home.
We genuinely recommend this establishment to anyone who values friendliness, cleanliness, huge breakfasts and old fashioned great value for money. If you're Australian, Ed will also talk about cricket and fishing......but not too much cricket....best wishes to you both and continue your great work until we can visit you again....Tony P

Room Tip: St Michaels superior room No 3 was fantastic......it should cost more !!!!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Anthony P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jan M, Owner at St Michael's Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2014

Well what can we say return guests all the way from Perth, it was lovely to see you both again and thankyou for your fantastic feedback it is much appreciated. Hope to see you again when you are next in England. Ed and Jan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.9 mi away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#6 of 26 in Scarborough
4,928 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Toulson Court
The Toulson Court
#1 of 184 in Scarborough
797 reviews
0.0 mi away
North Bay Guest House
North Bay Guest House
#6 of 184 in Scarborough
468 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Leeway Hotel
Leeway Hotel
#5 of 184 in Scarborough
418 reviews
0.1 mi away
Atlanta Hotel
Atlanta Hotel
#4 of 184 in Scarborough
300 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Beaches
The Beaches
#7 of 184 in Scarborough
281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St Michael's Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St Michael's Guest House

Address: 149 Columbus Ravine, Scarborough YO12 7QZ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 184 B&Bs / Inns in Scarborough
Price Range: £58 - £66 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — St Michael's Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traditional seaside guest house ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Book Direct Rooms, 5viajes2012 S.L. and LateRooms so you can book your St Michael's Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing