We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very nice break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
St Michael's Guest House
Ranked #2 of 182 Scarborough B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“very nice break”
Reviewed 10 July 2014

we stayed here on Monday 7th and Tuesday the 8th of july. we booked because of the reviews on trip advisor and would like to thank everyone for their views,we found everything fantastic spotlessly clean and the breakfast spot on, we have every intention of returning and would like to thank ed and jan for a truly memorable short break,thankyou both for everything.from the welcome when we arrived,to the sad goodbye.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank edwin h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jan M, Owner at St Michael's Guest House, responded to this review, 13 July 2014
It was lovely to meet you both and chat with you, we look forward to welcoming you back soon and thankyou for all your lovely comments. Ed and Jan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

921 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    908
    13
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
231
420
60
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Andover, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014

We chose this guest house as the reviews were excellent and this was true. Jan and Ed made us very welcome when we arrived offering us a hot or cold drink. The guest house was nicely decorated and very warm and inviting. The room was lovely and spotlessly clean. Breakfast was amazing and plenty of it. great choice of everything. We cannot fault anything and would definately stay again. T&C Boulton

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tanya B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jan M, Owner at St Michael's Guest House, responded to this review, 13 July 2014
We are really pleased you enjoyed Scarborough and your stay with us, hope to see you again if you come back to Scarborough. Ed and Jan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottinghamshire, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 July 2014

jan & ed made you feel welcome as soon as you arrived with a nice cup of tea. nothing is to much trouble. it is nicely decorated & very clean. room could not be better just what you need.
the breakfast is something to be believed everything you want and huge. will definately stay again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karl D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jan M, Owner at St Michael's Guest House, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave us such a lovely review. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again when you next visit Scarborough. Ed and Jan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elland, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

We had chosen this guest house due to the great reviews on here and we weren't wrong to do so! Brilliant hosts who even saved us a car parking space with their own car and moved it when we arrived. When we got inside, we were offered a tea, coffee or beer - beer it was! As you will read further down, Ed and Jan are great hosts who bring a real homely vibe to your stay. Breakfast was so filling and cooked to perfection.. the rooms were spotless and included everything you needed.. the bed was super comfy too! Next time we return to Scarborough, we will only be staying here.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Danielle T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jan M, Owner at St Michael's Guest House, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
So glad you enjoyed your stay with us and your time in Scarborough. It was lovely to chat with you both and we look forward to seeing you again, thank you so much for your great comments. Ed and Jan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Selby
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

Never quite know what to expect when picking off the internet, but even the fantastic reviews don't do St Michaels justice. Spotlessly clean, great rooms, great location, friendly owners and an unbelievable breakfast. 11 out of 10 on all counts!!!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Marcauty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jan M, Owner at St Michael's Guest House, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
We are really thrilled you enjoyed your stay with us and your time in Scarborough and thank you so much for the lovely feedback. Ed and Jan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

An excellent 3 night stay with a lovely spotlessly clean room, superb breakfasts.Jan & Ed are the perfect hosts and do everything possible to make your stay as perfect as possible.The provision of a parking permit is very important and much appreciated.We are looking forward to a revisit hopefully later in the year.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Les C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jan M, Owner at St Michael's Guest House, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
It was lovely to meet and chat with you both, we are pleased you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you both again. Ed and Jan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burton upon Trent, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for one night only having arrived with high expectations based upon previous trip advisor reviews.
Welcomed by ed & jan with the offer of a cuppa, we declined as it was beer o clock, cue beer from the fridge. The rooms are immaculate with great amenities. Breakfast is great, hope you are hungry!! Fantastic hosts, fantastic service and fantastic value. Book it, you won't be disappointed.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Slater956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jan M, Owner at St Michael's Guest House, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Thankyou so much for the great feedback, really glad you enjoyed your stay and your trip down memory lane. Ed and Jan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.9 mi away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#6 of 28 in Scarborough
4,846 reviews
0.3 mi away
Park Manor Hotel
Park Manor Hotel
#4 of 28 in Scarborough
864 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Toulson Court
The Toulson Court
#1 of 182 in Scarborough
748 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Leeway Hotel
Leeway Hotel
#3 of 182 in Scarborough
395 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Helaina
The Helaina
#12 of 182 in Scarborough
485 reviews
0.7 mi away
Palace Hill Hotel Scarborough
Palace Hill Hotel Scarborough
#8 of 182 in Scarborough
505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St Michael's Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St Michael's Guest House

Property: St Michael's Guest House
Address: 149 Columbus Ravine, Scarborough YO12 7QZ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 182 B&Bs / Inns in Scarborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — St Michael's Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traditional seaside guest house ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and LateRooms so you can book your St Michael's Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing