We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't be beaten”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
St Michael's Guest House
Ranked #2 of 182 Scarborough B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Can't be beaten”
Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

We have just returned from what has got to be the best B and B in Scarborough. It was our 2nd visit and won't be the last. Absolutely immaculate and the food cooked to perfection. Jan and Ed are the friendliest most welcoming people you could wish to meet. They can't do enough for you.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Cliff M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jan M, Owner at St Michael's Guest House, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
It was great to see you again and meet the family, really good atmosphere as it was good weather and Staus Quo weekend. Looking forward to seeing you in August, thanks for your great comments much appreciated. Ed and Jan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

878 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    865
    13
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
225
396
53
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Ripon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Just returned from a two night stay at this excellent bed and breakfast. Greeted with hot drink and shown to our lovely room.car parking permit provided so no driving round for space.owners talked to us about area we were in and recommended restaurant's and a super place for bar meal.breakfast, be careful we opted for everything, my partner has a very healthy appetite and he struggled absolutely delicious.if you are thinking of booking do not hesitate this place would be hard to match.can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank linda1958-10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jan M, Owner at St Michael's Guest House, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Thankyou so much for your lovely review, we are really pleased you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you both again. Ed and Jan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seaham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 July 2014

Stayed for 3 nights for our daughters' wedding. A lovely warm welcome and a cup of coffee when we checked in and Jan & Ed were so friendly, that we ended up talking for an hour before we went up to our room.

Ed was happy to take our very heavy luggage up to the top floor...very glad it was him and not us! The room was spacious, absolutely spotless and you couldn't have wished for more. The breakfasts are brilliant, big portions if you want them, great quality and excellent service.

Overall, a gem of a B & B, run by a lovely couple who obviously care about their guests and nothing is too much trouble. (Jan even lent us her sewing box, when we'd run out of pins whilst decorating the reception venue).

You arrive as a guest, but feel like a friend by the time you leave and St Michaels will always be our first choice if we need to stay in Scarborough.

How a B & B should be.....now stop reading this review and book a room, you'll love it!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rick P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jan M, Owner at St Michael's Guest House, responded to this review, 13 July 2014
Thankyou so much for your lovely comments and feedback, we are so pleased all went well for your special occasion and the sun shone. We enjoyed chatting with you and hope to see you again when you visit Scarborough. Ed and Jan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014

we stayed here on Monday 7th and Tuesday the 8th of july. we booked because of the reviews on trip advisor and would like to thank everyone for their views,we found everything fantastic spotlessly clean and the breakfast spot on, we have every intention of returning and would like to thank ed and jan for a truly memorable short break,thankyou both for everything.from the welcome when we arrived,to the sad goodbye.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank edwin h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jan M, Owner at St Michael's Guest House, responded to this review, 13 July 2014
It was lovely to meet you both and chat with you, we look forward to welcoming you back soon and thankyou for all your lovely comments. Ed and Jan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andover, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014

We chose this guest house as the reviews were excellent and this was true. Jan and Ed made us very welcome when we arrived offering us a hot or cold drink. The guest house was nicely decorated and very warm and inviting. The room was lovely and spotlessly clean. Breakfast was amazing and plenty of it. great choice of everything. We cannot fault anything and would definately stay again. T&C Boulton

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tanya B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jan M, Owner at St Michael's Guest House, responded to this review, 13 July 2014
We are really pleased you enjoyed Scarborough and your stay with us, hope to see you again if you come back to Scarborough. Ed and Jan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottinghamshire, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 July 2014

jan & ed made you feel welcome as soon as you arrived with a nice cup of tea. nothing is to much trouble. it is nicely decorated & very clean. room could not be better just what you need.
the breakfast is something to be believed everything you want and huge. will definately stay again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karl D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jan M, Owner at St Michael's Guest House, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave us such a lovely review. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again when you next visit Scarborough. Ed and Jan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

We had chosen this guest house due to the great reviews on here and we weren't wrong to do so! Brilliant hosts who even saved us a car parking space with their own car and moved it when we arrived. When we got inside, we were offered a tea, coffee or beer - beer it was! As you will read further down, Ed and Jan are great hosts who bring a real homely vibe to your stay. Breakfast was so filling and cooked to perfection.. the rooms were spotless and included everything you needed.. the bed was super comfy too! Next time we return to Scarborough, we will only be staying here.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Danielle T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jan M, Owner at St Michael's Guest House, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
So glad you enjoyed your stay with us and your time in Scarborough. It was lovely to chat with you both and we look forward to seeing you again, thank you so much for your great comments. Ed and Jan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.9 mi away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#6 of 28 in Scarborough
4,617 reviews
0.6 mi away
Premier Inn Scarborough Hotel
0.3 mi away
Park Manor Hotel
Park Manor Hotel
#4 of 28 in Scarborough
797 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Toulson Court
The Toulson Court
#1 of 182 in Scarborough
686 reviews
0.0 mi away
North Bay Guest House
North Bay Guest House
#5 of 182 in Scarborough
411 reviews
0.3 mi away
Leeway Hotel
Leeway Hotel
#3 of 182 in Scarborough
376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St Michael's Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St Michael's Guest House

Property: St Michael's Guest House
Address: 149 Columbus Ravine, Scarborough YO12 7QZ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 182 B&Bs / Inns in Scarborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — St Michael's Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traditional seaside guest house ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LateRooms, Traveltool, S.L.U., Book Direct Rooms, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and HotelQuickly so you can book your St Michael's Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing