We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
St Michael's Guest House
Ranked #2 of 184 Scarborough B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Returned home today from a 2 night stay at this lovely, welcoming B&B. They remembered me from a one night stay a year ago. So convenient for the Open Air Theatre and Peasholm Park and within walking distance from the rail station. You would not get a better breakfast at a 5* hotel, cooked fresh to perfection and fresh strawberries plus other fruits on offer too as well as the usual cereals etc.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Ann P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jan M, Owner at St Michael's Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2014

It was lovely to see you again and have a good catch up. We are really pleased you enjoyed your stay and the breakfast and we look forward to seeing you next year if the Quo come back. Ed and Jan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (951)
There are newer reviews for St Michael's Guest House
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

525 - 531 of 951 reviews

Reviewed 13 July 2014

second stay at this B&B and we were treated like long lost family, you`ll have to go a long way to find better hosts than Ed & Jan (+ H). If you are looking at staying in Scarborough look no further than St.Michael`s Guest House

Room Tip: look no further, book it
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Philip A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jan M, Owner at St Michael's Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2014

Thankyou for your smashing review, its always great for us to welcome returning guests . we are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and hopefully The Quo will be here next year. Ed and Jan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

We have just returned from what has got to be the best B and B in Scarborough. It was our 2nd visit and won't be the last. Absolutely immaculate and the food cooked to perfection. Jan and Ed are the friendliest most welcoming people you could wish to meet. They can't do enough for you.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Cliff M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jan M, Owner at St Michael's Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2014

It was great to see you again and meet the family, really good atmosphere as it was good weather and Staus Quo weekend. Looking forward to seeing you in August, thanks for your great comments much appreciated. Ed and Jan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Just returned from a two night stay at this excellent bed and breakfast. Greeted with hot drink and shown to our lovely room.car parking permit provided so no driving round for space.owners talked to us about area we were in and recommended restaurant's and a super place for bar meal.breakfast, be careful we opted for everything, my partner has a very healthy appetite and he struggled absolutely delicious.if you are thinking of booking do not hesitate this place would be hard to match.can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank linda1958-10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jan M, Owner at St Michael's Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2014

Thankyou so much for your lovely review, we are really pleased you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you both again. Ed and Jan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014

Stayed for 3 nights for our daughters' wedding. A lovely warm welcome and a cup of coffee when we checked in and Jan & Ed were so friendly, that we ended up talking for an hour before we went up to our room.

Ed was happy to take our very heavy luggage up to the top floor...very glad it was him and not us! The room was spacious, absolutely spotless and you couldn't have wished for more. The breakfasts are brilliant, big portions if you want them, great quality and excellent service.

Overall, a gem of a B & B, run by a lovely couple who obviously care about their guests and nothing is too much trouble. (Jan even lent us her sewing box, when we'd run out of pins whilst decorating the reception venue).

You arrive as a guest, but feel like a friend by the time you leave and St Michaels will always be our first choice if we need to stay in Scarborough.

How a B & B should be.....now stop reading this review and book a room, you'll love it!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rick P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jan M, Owner at St Michael's Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2014

Thankyou so much for your lovely comments and feedback, we are so pleased all went well for your special occasion and the sun shone. We enjoyed chatting with you and hope to see you again when you visit Scarborough. Ed and Jan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014

we stayed here on Monday 7th and Tuesday the 8th of july. we booked because of the reviews on trip advisor and would like to thank everyone for their views,we found everything fantastic spotlessly clean and the breakfast spot on, we have every intention of returning and would like to thank ed and jan for a truly memorable short break,thankyou both for everything.from the welcome when we arrived,to the sad goodbye.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank edwin h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jan M, Owner at St Michael's Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2014

It was lovely to meet you both and chat with you, we look forward to welcoming you back soon and thankyou for all your lovely comments. Ed and Jan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

We chose this guest house as the reviews were excellent and this was true. Jan and Ed made us very welcome when we arrived offering us a hot or cold drink. The guest house was nicely decorated and very warm and inviting. The room was lovely and spotlessly clean. Breakfast was amazing and plenty of it. great choice of everything. We cannot fault anything and would definately stay again. T&C Boulton

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tanya B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jan M, Owner at St Michael's Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2014

We are really pleased you enjoyed Scarborough and your stay with us, hope to see you again if you come back to Scarborough. Ed and Jan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.9 mi away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#6 of 26 in Scarborough
4,911 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Toulson Court
The Toulson Court
#1 of 184 in Scarborough
784 reviews
0.0 mi away
North Bay Guest House
North Bay Guest House
#5 of 184 in Scarborough
455 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Leeway Hotel
Leeway Hotel
#4 of 184 in Scarborough
412 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Almar
The Almar
#10 of 184 in Scarborough
580 reviews
0.1 mi away
Atlanta Hotel
Atlanta Hotel
#3 of 184 in Scarborough
292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St Michael's Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St Michael's Guest House

Address: 149 Columbus Ravine, Scarborough YO12 7QZ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 184 B&Bs / Inns in Scarborough
Price Range: £59 - £65 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — St Michael's Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traditional seaside guest house ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Book Direct Rooms, 5viajes2012 S.L. and LateRooms so you can book your St Michael's Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing