We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Perfect Home from Home!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
St Michael's Guest House
Ranked #2 of 183 Scarborough B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Peterborough, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A Perfect Home from Home!”
Reviewed 30 July 2014

I stayed here with my extended family as part of my son's University graduation celebration. The wonderful Ed and Jan knew this to be the occasion and welcomed us on our arrival with celebratory banners and fizz!! This exemplary attention to detail was then maintained for the whole of our stay. My room was a delight - beautifully decorated and cosy, fluffy towels, hairdryer and all the extras you need. The morning after the night before was remedied by the legendary breakfast - perfectly cooked and piping hot ( a mistake a lot of b&b's make) and even though some of our party were late to check out we didn't feel at all rushed. We shall return and would willingly recommend St Michael's to everyone. Thanks again. Heidi (Peterborough)

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank heidi19662014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jan M, Owner at St Michael's Guest House, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Thankyou for choosing St Michael's for your graduation celebration and leaving us such a fantastic review. We value the opinions of our guests and were really pleased that you and your family had a great time. Ed and Jan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

897 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    884
    13
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
227
408
56
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Evesham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

My best friend organised a surprise weekend for my up and coming 60th birthday, we actually went to see Boyzone which was spectacular, but our stay with Ed and Jan just made the weekend perfect, from the minute we arrived they made us feel so welcome as if they had known us for years, nothing was ever too much trouble, the breakfast was to die for, very clean and comfortable guest house. We would recommend to anyone and on next visit to Scarborough we will definitely be staying at St Michaels. Thankyou Ed and Jan we had a wonderful time. Joanne and Gill

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gillian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jan M, Owner at St Michael's Guest House, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
We are so glad you chose St Michael's for your special weekend and we enjoyed meeting you both. We are thrilled that you enjoyed every aspect of your stay and hope to see you again when you return to Scarbados oop !! Scarborough. Ed and Jan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sutton Coldfield
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014

what more could you ask for than that special feeling as if you are a part of the family :) hospitality in this lovely place is from a different planet. Absolutely faultless guest house. Room clean and cosy just makes you wanna stay in… breakfasts legendary… owners are the nicest people on earth… amazing value as well… just book ! Daga&Phil (only had one night but would love to go back)

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dagmara1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jan M, Owner at St Michael's Guest House, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Thankyou so much for your wonderful comments. We are really pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and would love to welcome you back. Ed and Jan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, Scotland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

The best B&B you'll find in the pretty sea side town of Scarborough. Ed & Jan are wonderful hosts and nothing is too much trouble for them. I have just returned from my second visit to this establishment and i was welcomed back like an old friend. Spotless rooms, comfortable bed and big spacious bathroom. Delicious breakfast. Excellent value for money. Definitely be back. Andrew (Glasgow)

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank andydiana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jan M, Owner at St Michael's Guest House, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
It was great to see you again and we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us again, we look forward to seeing you when you are back in Scarborough. Ed and Jan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tauranga, New Zealand
Level Contributor
183 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

we just loved this place, the room, the great couple who run it, nothing was too much trouble. We left an item in the room (1st time in 40yrs), rang them and they posted onto our accommodation 4nights ahead (and it was there), just great service

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 60stravellers2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jan M, Owner at St Michael's Guest House, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
So glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Many thanks for your positive comments it really does mean a lot to us. We hope you enjoyed the rest of your hols in England. Ed and Jan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hessle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

This has been our second break at St. Michael's and we will be returning here many times in the future. Ed and Jan are great hosts and welcomed us back like old friends. The rooms are lovely and always spotless and the breakfasts are so large that you will not need anything else until late afternoon! We made some lovely new friends and would recommend this accommodation as suitable for all.
Thank you once again. Richard and Hazel x

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hazel-Rich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jan M, Owner at St Michael's Guest House, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Its always great to see you both and thank you for all your great comments. We look forward to seeing you in October. Ed and Jan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Last week my partner and I decided to have a night in Scarborough with our 1 year old daughter. We arrived Thursday, and stayed until Friday. after our experience here at St Michaels with owners Jan and Ed, we are very much looking forward to booking a return trip, hopefully for a longer stay next time. From arriving to leaving Jan & Ed couldn't do enough for us and our daughter, they where fantastic and made us feel very welcome. The guest house itself was immaculate, not a thing out of place, very clean and tidy and our room was lovely. Jan supplied a cot bed for our daughter and even warmer her milk up morning and night :) On the Friday morning we went down for breakfast which we pre-ordered the night before and it was fantastic. we were stuffed to say the least and our daughter was full up on fresh fruit, cereal and kiddies yogurt which she loved. A high chair and suitable cutlery was also set up and ready for us going down to eat at 8:30am. Throughout our stay we where made to feel very welcome, and nothing was no trouble at all.... we really enjoyed our time at St Michaels and really look forward to returning. I would definitely say BOOK IT NOW :):)

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nbj2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jan M, Owner at St Michael's Guest House, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Thankyou for your positive review, we always try to ensure that our guests have a relaxing, happy experience when they stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you all back when you next visit Scarborough. Ed and Jan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.9 mi away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#6 of 28 in Scarborough
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,757 reviews
0.6 mi away
Premier Inn Scarborough Hotel
0.3 mi away
Park Manor Hotel
Park Manor Hotel
#4 of 28 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 821 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Toulson Court
The Toulson Court
#1 of 183 in Scarborough
5.0 of 5 bubbles 708 reviews
0.3 mi away
Leeway Hotel
Leeway Hotel
#3 of 183 in Scarborough
5.0 of 5 bubbles 379 reviews
0.0 mi away
North Bay Guest House
North Bay Guest House
#5 of 183 in Scarborough
5.0 of 5 bubbles 425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St Michael's Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St Michael's Guest House

Property: St Michael's Guest House
Address: 149 Columbus Ravine, Scarborough YO12 7QZ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 183 B&Bs / Inns in Scarborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — St Michael's Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traditional seaside guest house ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, LateRooms, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your St Michael's Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing