We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“No1 by far” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of St Michael's Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
St Michael's Guest House
Ranked #2 of 184 Scarborough B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“No1 by far”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014 via mobile

Having stayed here for the 4th time Ed and Jan never cease to amaze they are excellent in every way and cant do enough for you we will definately be back even if its just to prove Ed wrong by eating ALL the amazing breakfast

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Keith C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jan M, Owner at St Michael's Guest House, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Its always a pleasure to see you both, thankyou for your lovely comments, we look forward to seeing you all next year. Ed and Jan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

861 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    848
    13
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
221
390
52
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sleaford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2014 via mobile

We booked our weekend in St Michael's after reading the reviews on trip advisor and we were not disappointed. Ed & Jan are a lovely couple and are very welcoming, they can't do enough to for you. We had a brew and chat on arrival before being shown to our spotless tastefully decorated room. The breakfast is amazing with a good selection.
Thanks again Ed and Jan for making our first stay in Scarborough most memorable. We will be back. J&J

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Jayne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jan M, Owner at St Michael's Guest House, responded to this review, 10 August 2014
We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and enjoyed Scarborough. Thanks for the positive review and we hope to see you again if your travels bring you back to Scarborough. Ed and Jan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2014

This is my second time here. I last came here in April this year. I stayed here with my sister and her little un for five nights. Jan and Ed were very welcoming and great throughout the stay. Breakfast was amazing with such a wide choice of food and all fresh as well. The cooked breakfast was plentiful and very well presented. The complimentary tray in the room was stocked up daily including a little treat every day - yum yum. We all slept well every night with the natural alarm clock to wake us up (seagulls), which is to be expected at a seaside. The room was always cleaned daily and a clean baby blanket provided when necessary. It is baby friendly place with everything provided for the little un. We all would stay here again. Thanks for the outstanding time. Wendy and Sarah.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cadburyslass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jan M, Owner at St Michael's Guest House, responded to this review, 10 August 2014
It is always rewarding to hear when we have exceeded our guests expectations. We appreciate your positive review and thank you for your kind words. Ed and Jan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2014

We booked St Michaels Guest House after reading the reviews on Trip Advisor and have to say that we were not disappointed. Jan & Ed are a lovely friendly couple who run a top class Guest House. From the well appointed comfortable and spotlessly clean bedrooms to the scrumptious breakfast everything is first class. Jan & Ed are very knowledgable with regards to the area and nothing is too much trouble for them to ensure that all their guests have an enjoyable stay which we certainly did ! We would highly recommend booking St Michaels Guest house.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jan M, Owner at St Michael's Guest House, responded to this review, 10 August 2014
Many thanks for your great comments, we are so pleased to get such positive feedback. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Ed and Jan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashton-under-Lyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2014

Jan and Ed were absolutely brilliant hosts from start to finish. Nothing was too much trouble as they displayed the perfect blend of professionalism, friendliness and humour. This made for a great atmosphere and a great holiday. The accommodation was inviting and spotless and the extras provided only added to the experience. The food was great in quality and quantity! As other guests have written, the breakfast will certainly keep you going for the whole day - and we couldn't manage the extensive selection available. The location is ideal being close to Peasholm Park, the North Shore and beach yet still in easy walking distance of the Town Cente. We would definitely recommend this "GEM" and we will certainly be returning for another stay.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jan M, Owner at St Michael's Guest House, responded to this review, 10 August 2014
Thankyou for your 5 star review, we really appreciate your feedback and we are so glad you enjoyed your stay and enjoyed Scarborough. We enjoyed chatting with you both and look forward to seeing you again if you come back to Scarborough. Ed and Jan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2014

This was our second visit to St Michaels , Everything about this guest house is excellent. Ed and Jan are the friendliest couple you could meet and nothing is too much trouble, it's the little touches that make Ed and Jan and St Michaels the best, like a birthday card and chocolates on your birthday and booking a table and a taxi for our night out.The rooms are immaculate and spotless breakfast the best we have experienced. Recently we experienced the other end of the spectrum which reiterated how excellent St Michaels is .

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kath D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jan M, Owner at St Michael's Guest House, responded to this review, 10 August 2014
It is always rewarding for us when our guests have enjoyed their stay. Thankyou for your great review and we look forward to seeing you both soon. Ed and Jan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014 via mobile

Jan and Ed are such brilliant and genuine hosts. We arrived bedraggled due to a heavy shower and they were kind enough to dry our clothes. We shared a cuppa and a friendly chat together too. The room was spotless and so comfortable, the little extras like cartons of orange juice and biscuits and chocolates as well as tea and coffee, were lovely. Breakfast is huge, delicious and never a rushed affair. Believe everything good you read cos it's true. You will want to return, I promise. Thanks for a lovely stay, Jan and Ed and hugs to you both. Mel, Seb and Anya X

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fireflywoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jan M, Owner at St Michael's Guest House, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
We are so pleased you and your family had a great stay with us at St Michael's and thank you for your kind words and wonderful review. Ed and Jan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.9 mi away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#6 of 28 in Scarborough
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,500 reviews
0.6 mi away
Premier Inn Scarborough Hotel
0.3 mi away
Park Manor Hotel
Park Manor Hotel
#4 of 28 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 782 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Toulson Court
The Toulson Court
#1 of 184 in Scarborough
5.0 of 5 bubbles 664 reviews
0.0 mi away
North Bay Guest House
North Bay Guest House
#5 of 184 in Scarborough
5.0 of 5 bubbles 398 reviews
0.2 mi away
Leeway Hotel
Leeway Hotel
#3 of 184 in Scarborough
5.0 of 5 bubbles 374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St Michael's Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St Michael's Guest House

Property: St Michael's Guest House
Address: 149 Columbus Ravine, Scarborough YO12 7QZ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 184 B&Bs / Inns in Scarborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — St Michael's Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traditional seaside guest house ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Book Direct Rooms so you can book your St Michael's Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing