We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A league of its own!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
St Michael's Guest House
Ranked #2 of 182 Scarborough B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A league of its own!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2014

Me and my fiancé visited St Michaels for the 3rd time 8th & 9th of August. I can't say anything that hasn't already been said about this B&B.
We were travelling the Friday after work and new we wouldn't be arriving until 7-8pm, we informed Jan and Ed of this, and they parked their car smack I front of the B&B just so we'd have somewhere to park when we finally turned up! Talk about going the extra mile for their guests.
Nothing is an inconvenience for them and no matter what time of the day you arrive, they always have time for a cuppa and a chat!
We stayed in the superior double ensuite room, and it is amazing! Thank you to the people who cancelled so we could get in!!!
Thank you so much Jan and Ed, for another memorable stay! We will see you again soon.

Sam & Ryan.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Samantha D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jan M, Owner at St Michael's Guest House, responded to this review, 31 August 2014
Its always lovely to welcome you both here, and we really do appreciate all your kind words, thankyou. We always try our best to ensure our guests have a relaxing stay with us so its lovely when people give us the feedback that confirms this. Hope to see you both soon. Ed and Jan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

882 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    869
    13
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
226
398
54
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2014

Extremely friendly and welcoming in all aspects highly recommended to all age groups very clean and tidy, fantastic breakfast, room facilities were excellent assortment of refreshments waiting in room on arrival and replaced daily, good location central to all the aspects of scarbrough couldnt of asked for a better stay will definitely return

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richie1991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jan M, Owner at St Michael's Guest House, responded to this review, 31 August 2014
Thankyou sooo much for your lovely comments, we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us, and hope to see you again and wish you both well for the future. Ed and Jan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blyth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2014

We had a fantastic time staying in Scarborough, despite the weather! Jan and Ed were so welcoming and nothing was too much trouble. The rooms were lovely and clean, the breakfast was fantastic and Jan and Ed clearly put a lot of thought and effort in making sure that everyone is very well looked after. If we ever come back to Scarborough we wouldn't even think of booking anywhere else and we'll definitely recommend St Michaels to our friends and family.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LJ123_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jan M, Owner at St Michael's Guest House, responded to this review, 31 August 2014
We are really pleased you chose St Michael's for your anniversary weekend. Thankyou for all your kind words, we look forward to seeing you both again. Ed and Jan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2014 via mobile

Wow, we had a brilliant time. Rooms were really well equipped, the complimentry tray in the room was well stocked for both myself, my husband & both children. The breakfast was out of this world- plenty of choice. I challenge anyone to finish a full english here. Nothing was too much trouble for Ed & Jan. Thank you for making our stay an enjoyable one. We will be coming back.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Willandbethsmummy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jan M, Owner at St Michael's Guest House, responded to this review, 23 August 2014
We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and the weather was not that bad !!! Thanks for your great feedback and we will hopefully see you all again. Ed and Jan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Batley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2014 via mobile

What a wonderful 2 days we have just had in Scarborough staying at this fantastic bed and breakfast. Ed and Jan are such a lovely couple and we were greeted and treated like friends. We stayed in room 3, spotlessly clean and tidy, such a lovely room. The breakfasts are out of this world, best breakfast we have ever had. Without a doubt we will be returning to this bed and breakfast for many years to come and be telling our friends and family about it. Thank you very much Ed and Jan. See you soon! Claire and Sam. X

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank claires291085
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jan M, Owner at St Michael's Guest House, responded to this review, 23 August 2014
Thankyou for taking the time to share your experience at St Michael's. We take a great pride in providing a warm and friendly service and a good breakfast !!!. We look forward to seeing you both again, thanks. Ed and Jan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2014 via mobile

Will definitely be returning to this place - I cannot imagine a better B&B. Extremely welcoming, spotlessly clean and the breakfast is incredible. Staying at St Michael's made our holiday extra special and memorable. Thank you for such a lovely few days. We'll be back!

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank LizzieGale1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jan M, Owner at St Michael's Guest House, responded to this review, 23 August 2014
Thankyou for choosing St Michael's and leaving us such an excellent review. We value the opinions of our guests and were thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us. Ed and Jan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014

This has been the 4th or 5th time we have stayed at St Michael's and the quality has got better with each visit. The Bedrooms are decorated very tastefully and the breakfast room is bright and airy to make for a great start to the day. Ed and Jan are wonderful hosts and nothing is too much trouble. If you enjoy a full English Breakfast you are in for a treat. I cannot recommend the Guest House highly enough, my wife and I would not consider going anywhere else in Scarborough.

Room Tip: Room No 3 is superb fopr a Couple
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank STEPHEN L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jan M, Owner at St Michael's Guest House, responded to this review, 23 August 2014
Its always a pleasure to see you both. You have been staying with us since we moved in so its great to get your feedback on the changes we have made and it encourages us to carry on the hard work involved with doing this. Thankyou for your great feedback and we look forward to seeing you both next year. Ed and Jan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.9 mi away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#6 of 28 in Scarborough
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,648 reviews
0.6 mi away
Premier Inn Scarborough Hotel
0.3 mi away
Park Manor Hotel
Park Manor Hotel
#4 of 28 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 804 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Toulson Court
The Toulson Court
#1 of 182 in Scarborough
5.0 of 5 bubbles 688 reviews
0.3 mi away
Leeway Hotel
Leeway Hotel
#3 of 182 in Scarborough
5.0 of 5 bubbles 377 reviews
0.0 mi away
North Bay Guest House
North Bay Guest House
#5 of 182 in Scarborough
5.0 of 5 bubbles 414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St Michael's Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St Michael's Guest House

Property: St Michael's Guest House
Address: 149 Columbus Ravine, Scarborough YO12 7QZ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 182 B&Bs / Inns in Scarborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — St Michael's Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traditional seaside guest house ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LateRooms, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Book Direct Rooms and HotelQuickly so you can book your St Michael's Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing