We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location. No Parking. Noisy seagulls”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Travelodge Scarborough St Nicholas Hotel
Ranked #13 of 26 Hotels in Scarborough
Reviewed 14 August 2011

Arrived around 8:30 pm. There is very little parking and it is quickly taken up. NCP car park is near but they charge by the hour, so start thinking £10-£15 overnight.

Noisy seagulls kept my wife awake most of the night. Room was quite grey, contrast with white the next night at a premier Inn.

Our room overlooked some old probably unused building, bird poo on windows.

Location though is great - opposite the grand hotel, then down to the seafront. We had breakfast at the grand one morning (pay at Grand reception)

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank doing_the_coast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,168)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,979 - 1,985 of 2,168 reviews

Reviewed 13 August 2011

Basic but thats what we expected as it was only cheap. No problems with anything about the hotel. The only problem was the noise from the seagulls as the windows can't be double glazed. So if you go take ear plugs with you otherwise you won't sleep!
Didn't try the food.
Don't expect anything fancy. You get what you pay for!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank bumbleuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2011

Booked for two nights left after one. Service very poor, rooms awfull, food even worse. please save your money and go elsewhere. Pay a bit more for a decent place to stay. Sent letter of complained to Chief Executive, surprise, surprise one of his numpties sent a response and re-funded one of the nights. Premier Inn are far superiour to Travel Lodge.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Barry W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2011

we have just come back from a stay at the st nicholas and was everything we expected, lovely lady on reception, we were lucky and got a sea view room, yes it was basic but spotlessly clean, the kettle, tv, shower all worked as they should, the bed was comfortable, what more do you want for the price, location is excellent two minutes walk to town and shops one way and five minutes through the gardens to the beach will definitely book there again

Room Tip: staff are your allies be nice to them
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank catissey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2011

We have stayed in many Travelodges around the country and have been really happy but this one was alet down.........the room was damp and smelly. The room had been cleaned but general maintainance was very poor, the toilet seat was coming off and thick dust on top of the curtains.
On a positive note the staff were friendly and helpful. the location of the hotel is great.
we were very lucky and got a car parking space right outside the hotel.
would we stay again yes for £9 or £19 but no more.

Room Tip: Dont expect to much, and you will be fine
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank elly47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2011

The proposed Saturday night stay was not at all cheap. In April 2011 we booked and paid up front £143.80 for two rooms for Saturday 30th July. We arrived at 11-40 a.m. and were told we couldn't check in till 3 p.m. We elected to pay an extra £10 for early check in to one of the rooms and told reception that we would not be back till late that night as we were attending a meeting all day. When we tried to check into the other room at 10.53 p.m. we were told that they had double booked (Company policy to overbook to ensure full occupancy) and that our other room had been let but that they had, after hours of phoning around, found us one room at The Mount Hotel. We were furious at the suggestion that we should spend our planned stay together at separate hotels but were told that no other hotel had accommodation and that The Mount only had one room left. We were faced with either accepting the situation or not having anywhere to sleep for one of us. When one of us checked into The Mount we discovered that there was more than one room available and we opted for both of us to move there. The duty manager at Travelodge said that he could not authorise this as we had already checked into one room. Our complaints to Travelodge are ongoing. Their first reaction is to offer us one voucher for £25 to be spent towards another Travelodge stay! We have asked for a full refund of the £143.80 and the extra £10 early check-in fee and do not intend to be fobbed off. The whole situation is best described as shoddy and cavalier. I recommend reading my review of The Mount.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank DBSA42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2011

Like most people, we checked up on this hotel before going and there were mixed reviews on how good it was. For information we had a family room and they was myself, my wife and two children aged 4 and 7. The main bed was a decent size and comfortable, and the children slept on the converted sofa. We also had a sea view room which was good as well.
First, lets look at the positives. It was a handy location for the beach front and the town centre for the shops. The room in our case was generally clean although we have noted that other people have had cleanliness problems. However, our daughter found a scarf under the sofa bed, so the room was checked as thoroughly as it could have been during cleaning.
Next, the negatives.... The major one for us was the noise outside the room. As you would expect seagulls were about (as it is the seaside after all!), but they were making a racket until about 11.30pm and then started up again at about 3.30am. In between this time the sound of drunken people outside made sure that the sleep was broken up. As the windows were not double glazed the noise was not cut down at all really so this is some think to consider in our opinion. There were no toiletries in the room but if you go to reception then they can offer you a small bar of soap to get you going but would have thought that they would have put them in the rooms on arrival? I went and got a couple of bottles of cider and took them back to the room, only to find there was no bottle opener (even though was told there was one). The TV remote was missing on arrival and when we asked about it they said that they keep getting stolen from the rooms (why, I can only guess...). This wasn't too much of a bother as the TV could be controlled from the TV itself (for anyone who doesn't remember this is what TVs were like before the early 80's). The temperature button on the bath tap was missing and the shower curtain was not fitted correctly so it hung too far in the bath when having a shower. There was no bin liner in the waste bin under the desk and in terms of the safety bars on the windows for children, there was one missing on the centre window.
I think that's enough on the negatives side for the moment.
On other points, Breakfast was OK and basic but from what we could see there was just one guy trying to sort everything out including refilling all the breakfast items and clearing tables. So, it seemed like there was a staffing problem and we took a bit of pity on the situation and cleared our table for him. To be honest we only chose the breakfast as the kids eat free so it makes it more cost effective.
So, would we go back after considering all the points made above? It's a 'no' for a family stayover in our opinion but 'yes' for say a double room at £19 for a couple to use as a base when visiting Scarborough then it would be OK - but don't forget the ear plugs......

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RedWineMonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.3 mi away
Marine Residence
Marine Residence
#16 of 26 in Scarborough
129 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#6 of 26 in Scarborough
4,954 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Clifton Hotel - Scarborough
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Royal Hotel Scarborough
Royal Hotel Scarborough
#25 of 26 in Scarborough
2,484 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ambassador Hotel
Ambassador Hotel
#22 of 26 in Scarborough
1,279 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Mount Hotel
The Mount Hotel
#15 of 26 in Scarborough
365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Scarborough St Nicholas Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Scarborough St Nicholas Hotel

Address: St. Nicholas Cliff, Scarborough YO11 2EU, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 26 Hotels in Scarborough
Price Range: £35 - £88 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Travelodge Scarborough St Nicholas Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Travelodge Scarborough St Nicholas Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing