We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cheap & Cheerful Hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Travelodge Scarborough St Nicholas Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Travelodge Scarborough St Nicholas Hotel
Ranked #15 of 28 Hotels in Scarborough
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Cheap & Cheerful Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2012

We paid £19 about a month in advance for a family room....normally it's £39.
The room was large, and warm and seemed very clean but has no frills. It has tea making facilities, but no hair dryer etc, but for what we paid we have no complaints.
The hotel is situated in an excellent position, with views over the bay if you have a front room.
Parking is a problem, the only spaces available outside are on parking meters, and during the summer they will all be taken.
There is an NCP car park a few minutes walk away.
We did not use the restaurant or bar which are in the hotel.
Don't expect luxury for this price...but if you are just wanting a bed for the night, it's acceptable and value for money.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Banky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,912 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    443
    544
    379
    245
    301
See reviews for
630
846
54
66
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (425)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Leicester,UK
Level Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2012

I stayed 2 nights early January 2012 at £12 per night for a double.
Based on this offer price you would give 5 stars.

Its very difficult to compare to a £80 a night holiday inn express as it is a pure budget hotel however we had 2 reasonable nights for £24 - which cannot be beaten on what we got for the money.

Points to assist travellers would be.

We went very low season so the hotel was quiet, I'm not sure what it would be like when busy with banging doors etc.
Car parking outside can work out expensive but as we were off season parking on the seafront was free for 3 hours so I moved the car here until the 6pm - 9am free parking. (be wary very steep incline)
Did not use the bar or food facilities but they looked OK.
Staff very helpful.
Hotel is no frills and basic - but does what it says.
Easy Jet style £10 to check in early so waited till 3pm.
Our room was clean, bathroom basic finish but clean functional with a good shower.
We had no sea view but this had a benefit away from the lift area and general corridors.
TV was OK.
Tea and Coffee making in the room a winner for budget hotels.

I usually prefer a holiday inn express standard of accommodation but this was £60 a night cheaper - will i do again - maybe do one night rather than two if at a similar price as we had a few good days away seeing Scarborough at its best - out of season.

Room Tip: Away from the lift
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Richy64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
essex
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2012

stayed here for two nights was in a good location and was quiet but hotel room was so basic didnt even have a waldrobe just a pole coming out of wall with a self on it.the lack of parking was bad had no chance of geting a space.had to drive to sea front but was walking distance of town center.would not stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank louise b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Scarborough hotels

hx
Level Contributor
66 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2012

A bargain 2 nights in a double room for £40. Convenient location. But the main lift wasn't working; we were given vague directions to another lift. After walking maze like corridors and stairs (which were will signposted), we found that the working lift was next to our room. Handy, but it meant all night we could hear 'floor 3' and 'doors opening'. The remote for the TV was missing, and there wasn't another available, and there were three thin pillows, for a double bed.
Large room, with a seaview, but disappointingly a shower in a bathroom large enough for a bath.
As it was out of season, parking was £4 for 24 hours at the South Bay underground carpark - not 24 hour access, but cheap.

Room Tip: Don't get a room next to a working lift
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cdaHx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orkney
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2012

A very friendly welcome set the tone for the stay. It's located in a great location on top of the cliff. Only real downside is a lack of dedicated parking spaces sufficient for all hotel guests. The rooms are newly refurbished and quite spacious. You can eat either within the hotel or there are many restaurants within easy walking distance. Room costs represent great value for money.

Room Tip: book multi night stays as single nights to get a better rate
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Viking59Orkney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2012

Just returned from a second stay at the Travelodge. Paid £40 for 2. Room good, bed good, linen fresh, spacious bathroom. Parking round the corner at the Palm Court £10. All in all a good basic hotel with friendly staff. Don't expect frills, you won't get any, but it's bustling and central, I'd much prefer to stay here than a guest house with no atmosphere (and costing twice as much!).

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LadyDi1322
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abingdon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2012

Changed room on arrival because of a strong smell of drains in the room (also evident on the landing of the floor beneath). No equivalent sea-view familyroom available. Customer care of receptionist at time was unacceptable. She had originally offered to put some bleach down the drains and must have been surprised that we accepted since she grudgingly said "Well that'll be me that has to do that then".
Breakfast was appallingly disorganised. Staff had to be repeatedly asked by guests to replenish stocks. When the milk urn ran dry, it was refilled with a 4-pint bottle, inspite of the fact that the restaurant was full. When I told the lady that there were no mugs, she tutted, huffed and walked away without response. Granted she did bring mugs but gave no thought that other stocks may be low and was subsequently asked to restock glasses a couple of minutes later. It was the same for the breakfast items. When bacon trays were refilled, it was at the request of the guests rather than because staff had noticed a shortfall. Then the sausages.... Then the eggs.... and so it went on. When trays were restocked, quantities were insufficient to cope with demand and therefore rapidly emptied. To prove some balance, the sausages were good!
One lift remained out of action for the entire stay, in spite of a notice suggesting that repair was imminent.
All this being compounded by the extra £20 required to park in a nearby multi-storey for two days made for a substandard experience, never to be repeated.

Room Tip: Sea view rooms are not double glazed and the two we experienced were shoddy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn Scarborough Hotel
0.2 mi away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#6 of 28 in Scarborough
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,500 reviews
0.9 mi away
Park Manor Hotel
Park Manor Hotel
#4 of 28 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 782 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Royal Hotel Scarborough
Royal Hotel Scarborough
#27 of 28 in Scarborough
3.0 of 5 bubbles 2,278 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Esplanade Hotel
The Esplanade Hotel
#19 of 28 in Scarborough
3.5 of 5 bubbles 311 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Crescent Hotel
The Crescent Hotel
#5 of 28 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 560 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Scarborough St Nicholas Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Scarborough St Nicholas Hotel

Property: Travelodge Scarborough St Nicholas Hotel
Address: St. Nicholas Cliff, Scarborough YO11 2EU, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 28 Hotels in Scarborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Travelodge Scarborough St Nicholas Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelodge Hotels Ltd so you can book your Travelodge Scarborough St Nicholas Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing