We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Getting Rough Round The Ages”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Travelodge Scarborough St Nicholas Hotel
Ranked #15 of 28 Hotels in Scarborough
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
168 reviews
107 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Getting Rough Round The Ages”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2013

I've stayed here, always on sale rates, several times since Travelodge converted the building from the former Swallow Hotel. Never had any problems and would stay here again at the right price. I did however this time have to reject the 1st room I was allocated, not at all to the style of any I've been placed in here before. Housekeeping had left the window open in a freezing January gale, with the central heating radiator turned off. Large room with a very high ceiling meant that one radiator was never going to warm it up even if I tried. There was a portable electric heater, but unsafe to use as the feet were missing and would have been a health and safety risk. The bathroom was also "airy" and unusually for this hotel was a shower over a bath, rather than a modern walk-in shower. Worst aspect was the wash basin which had been painted with white gloss, which was coming adrift in large chunks. Upon request I was moved to one of the smaller double rooms with a lower ceiling and heated by a very effective wall mounted electric radiator. My faith in this hotel was duly restored!

Room Tip: Request a smaller room with low ceiling and wall mounted electric radiator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scotsjimbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,940 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    453
    556
    383
    246
    302
See reviews for
644
857
55
68
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (427)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Beckenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
121 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2013

Had a lovely 2 night stay at this Travelodge.
There were only 2 of us and we had a large family room (1 double and 1 single bed) on the 3rd floor overlooking the sea with large bay windows so no complaints there. The room had a small wall heater which heated up extremely fast. The beds were comfortable though the single bed did squeak everytime you moved. I did mention this on checkout so hopefully it will be fixed for the next guests checking in.
Cooked breakfast was made fresh to order though we do think it was microwave-able 'fresh'. The continental selection was extremely good.
The bar food menu was quite good as well however there are plenty of restaurants and bars within 5 minutes of the hotel.
The staff were lovely especially Stuart in the bar.
The hotel building is older but all the amenties and decorations are up to Travelodge standard. There are lots of little 2/3 steps along the corridors so if you do have problems walking, I would suggest asking for a room near the lift.
My only complaint was getting woken up at 6:30am on both mornings by the seagulls outside. But hey, that's nature for you!

Room Tip: As mentioned, lots of little 2/3 steps along the corridors. If you have problems with stairs, I sugg...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NewcastleJoanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
101 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2013

We stay here on sat 19th of January ,I had booked 8 rooms 6 weeks previous ,when we went to book in my sister was told there was no room booked in her name but I knew there was as I had booked them and had conformation to prove it ,they gave her a room in the end but we heard one of the staff say haven't you just booked someone in to that room and he said no .when we got to the room we opened the door and a voice shouted hello there was two young girls in it ,we apologised and went back to the reception and we thought it wasn't a big deal to them .he said sorry then said if its any consolation I will get in to trouble ,my sister was furious they could have turned out different 2 young girls in a room and they just gave total strangers a key to there room .will not be using this hotel again .also I was on the 4 th floor and was woken up by loud notices from above not sure what it was as we were on the top floor .

Room Tip: Don't stay on 4 th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jayne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2013

We stayed at the Travelodge Scarborough in room 322 for 2 nights, the room was perfectly adequate as a base for our holiday, the view was fantastic and the room was warm and clean. The hotel staff were friendly although quite often there was no one on reception so had to buzz. We booked for the buffet breakfast but both mornings there was no hot buffet, it was cooked to order, as a vegetarian I could only have scrambled egg beans and tomato maybe that is something that could be changed as I guess there are alot of veggies and should at least be offered something like a veggie sausage or at least a hash brown? Breakfast staff were very friendly and welcoming. All in all a great stay and we are already looking to book again :)

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank son-enob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2013

We stayed for 2 nights and had a large sea view room which was very clean and warm. The staff were very friendly and the bar/lounge area was very welcoming. Although we didn't eat there the menu looked very reasonably priced as were the drinks,

We only paid £19 per night which was exceptional value and at least the building has some character unlike most travelodges.

Not sure what some people on the site actually expect.

Room Tip: Ask for front facing room
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank york0401
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scarborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2013

Quirky for a travelodge as it has been converted from old fashioned resort hotel, a lot of rooms on up and down corridors, but clean and staff friendly.Car Parking is a problem as scarborough is not very car friendly.

Room Tip: Book early for big discounts, try for a sea view, as most rooms have no view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank H0wie22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellingborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2013

Just had a great winter break in Yorkshire (14th Jan -18th) two nights in Scarborough and two in York we got the rooms in the Travelodge sale £15 a night in Scarborough +£6.00 for breakfast which was very good , we even got a sea view(room 408) which was amazing for the price, the room was very spacious and warm, the bathroom was massive all very clean, my only quibble was the bed was a bit hard otherwise i would have given it five stars.
Parking is £10 for 24 hrs 2 mins walk by the Palm Court hotel but you can park outside free between 6pm and 9pm.
The staff were very freindly and helpful.
We had a nice meal in the local wetherspoons Tuesday is steak night two nice sirloins and a bottle of wine £16.99
I think that a lot of the reviews on here are unfair from people that are expecting two much this is a budget hotel if you want to pay a lot more you can , we were very happy with our stay and will return well done Travelodge and thank-you.

Room Tip: we stayed in 408 facing the grand hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daftdevondave S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn Scarborough Hotel
0.3 mi away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#6 of 28 in Scarborough
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,649 reviews
0.9 mi away
Park Manor Hotel
Park Manor Hotel
#4 of 28 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 804 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Royal Hotel Scarborough
Royal Hotel Scarborough
#27 of 28 in Scarborough
3.0 of 5 bubbles 2,310 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Esplanade Hotel
The Esplanade Hotel
#19 of 28 in Scarborough
3.5 of 5 bubbles 322 reviews
0.4 mi away
Red Lea Hotel
Red Lea Hotel
#11 of 28 in Scarborough
4.0 of 5 bubbles 354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Scarborough St Nicholas Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Scarborough St Nicholas Hotel

Property: Travelodge Scarborough St Nicholas Hotel
Address: St. Nicholas Cliff, Scarborough YO11 2EU, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 28 Hotels in Scarborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Travelodge Scarborough St Nicholas Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Travelodge Hotels Ltd so you can book your Travelodge Scarborough St Nicholas Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing