We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Jesus Christ please don't put yourself threw the misery”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Travelodge Scarborough St Nicholas Hotel
Ranked #15 of 28 Hotels in Scarborough
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Jesus Christ please don't put yourself threw the misery”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2013 via mobile

Firstly let me say I stopped there previously for one night and it was hell but the manager said its getting a full make over ever room in hotel ready for summer 2013 so before booking I rang travelodge and asked if its had its make over I got told half the hotel was done so on that basis I booked 3 nights there and what a BIG mistake it was!!! 2 days before check in I rang hotel and asked for a refurb room I got told they will see on the day off check in and would make a note on my booking!! We arrived at hotel to be greeted by a five foot poster saying hotel is GOING to be having a full make over!! I asked at check in point if we could have are request of a new refurbed room got told sorry none off the refurb is due to start till aug and no rooms have been done!! So as you gather been lied to by call centre and hotel staff! Anyhow we decided not to stay and asked for a full refund but as it was 3pm no refund was available as full refunds need to be done by 12 noon! What a joke! So as I didn't want to pay again for another hotel I got told that the room allocated was one off the best! So we went up to room we was in the Attic the room was boiling with only one window that opened about 2 inches also no pillow cases or towels and that was blamed on a delivery not arriving I went back down to reception got told they was full and no room to swap to so I asked for a fan got told the hotel doesn't provided them so went and bought one never slept a wink due to the heat and the seagulls had a nest right outside our window the next morning went down to reception asked for another room got told one has become available from 3pm so we took it opened the door of the new room to be greated by a wall full off damp and seagul poo over every window and the room had a musty smell to it!!!room service there was none the entire stay we had no fresh towels nor did they top up the teas and coffees and didn't make the bed this hotel I would not recommend to no one not even for one night!!! They lied to get me there then put me in 2 rooms that wasn't fit for purpose and then on checkout said come back soon not a chance! Official letter of complaint going in!!!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank forwardplanninguk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,936 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    451
    555
    383
    246
    301
See reviews for
642
855
55
68
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (427)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2013

I stayed here last October for my birthday weekend. I usually book a cottage but figured I would stay more central.
The hotel is very central, just a short walk to town and super cheap. That is the only thing that it has going for it.
I am sure back in the day the hotel was quite nice but it is so rundown and grubby that its hard to picture it in its glory days.
Our room was at the front of the hotel and it was fairly clean, the bedding was ok but it just seemed grimy. The floors were dirty and the bathroom was damp.
The room was freezing and the windows rattled all night due to wind.
The whole place needs a thorough clean and refurb.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CherryAcid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Scarborough hotels

Chester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2013

Have stayed here a few times over the last couple of years and we won't be staying again! The room wasn't clean especially the bathroom, only one tiny lift working, wonky toilet seat, no cover on the light in the bathroom, dirty windows, uncomfortable bed .We had breakfast on one morning , terrible service only one waitress, no plates no milk. Certainly not worth £7.95 per person. Very disappointed wont be stayin again. This travelodge has certainly gone downhill!!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jonathan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby
Level Contributor
97 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2013

Booked a cheap night at this place, expectations not great after reading through reviews, but its a travel lodge, so went with an open mind. The receptionist on arrival was very pleasant. Only 1 lift working to service 5 floors, and the corridors to the bedrooms are like a maze. All the carpets (on the corridors that we went on) had crumbs, grit, bits, and screwed up serviettes on. The bedroom was very small - extremely basic, and the shower room was just big enough to sit on the loo with your feet in the shower tray, and put your hands in the sink! Poo splats still in the toilet bowl! No cubicle compartment to house the shower, just a shower curtain which was an absolute waste of time as the water just leaked and flooded the room spilling over on to the carpet in the bedroom. No air con, and window was only able to be opened approx. 3 ins due to health and safety, so very stuffy. 1 hand towel and 1 bath towel for 2 people, and 3 pillows - so a trip to reception to collect more (I suspect that they hope that people will not bother to ask, so to save on washing). We didn't eat here, but did drink in the bar. Young barman on duty, not that friendly, and on looking for him at approx. 22.50hrs (he didn't always stay in the bar) we saw him sauntering through reception playing on his mobile phone - we were then informed that we would have to wait for at least 10 minutes while they had a change of shift - we didn't. All in all, a grubby, tired, outdated building - poor customer service (except the receptionist) and will definitely not return. There was a very nice premier inn around the corner. Tip for parking if you must go here - parking on the streets is payable 7 days a week 9am until 6.30pm, so you can park for free between 6.30pm and 9am every day.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank littlesheDerby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keighley
Level Contributor
52 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2013

Stayed here again (must like it as stayed here over 6 times now) and depending on if you get a good price - ie - under £30.00, then it is worth staying at. The seagulls do wake you up early in the morning, but this is the seaside so you expect it. Try to get a seaview room. The hotel has 2 lifts but one is still not working an has been out of order for over a year.The hotel is getting a refit in October with new beds and new wall coverings so the lift might be fixed then. The hotel opened in May 2009 and has been well used.

Have to say that breakfast was a bit of a shambles - no one there to serve, running out of food, tables left uncleaned with dirty plates etc. Complained to reception, said that a member of staff had rung in sick. After our compliant we got a refund on the breakfast. The breakfast was the only thing that let my stay down.The staff are pleasant and helpful, the hotel is in a good location and the rooms, although basic, have all you need. There is not much storage space but then, Travelodge is meant to be for a short stay, not a 5 nights or more stay.

The hotel is clean, the staff are professional and I will stay there again next time I visit Scarborough.

Room Tip: Ask for a seaview room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KeighleyJetsetter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2013

We travelled to Scarborough for a cricket match and got a couple of rooms here for a reasonable £25 each (and a family room for 3 was a good deal). We knew what to expect having stayed in 'lodges before, but our room was clean (when we found it, the hotel is a bit of a maze), the long thin bathroom (no bath only shower) was fine, we slept well which to be fair is all you can hope for when you book a cheap room. It's central, an easy walk from the train station and cricket ground. There are obviously lots of bars etc within a few blocks - the tea rooms nearby was a good choice for breakfast - and what you save on your hotel room gives you extra 2p coins to play the machines on the seafront! The main problem for us was, like all Travelodges, they don't let you leave your luggage and so you have to carry it around until 3pm or when you check in. Goodness knows why they have this rule and telling us there was a place in town where you could leave bags wasn't the most helpful information! Think Travelodge need to have a look at this rule

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MagentaEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2013

We had a lovely 5 night stay at this hotel and got a lovely sea view room on the 1st floor (room 132) rooms are basic at Travelodge but I've not had a bad room yet and I've stayed at 10 different Travelodge's before and have paid on average £15 for a room which is very good value, we got this sea view room in Scarborough for £75 so for 2 people that's a great price for a holiday, especially when we had stayed in an apartment in Whitby last year costing £460!!
We didn't have any meals in this hotel as we like to get out and about, the Grand Hotel across the road is a nice place to go we had lunch a few times in there and it was very reasonable and tasty and u get to sit in magnificent surroundings.
We will be going back again to this Travelodge hotel next year and I'm hoping to get room 132 again ...fantastic views!

Room Tip: Room 132 is a sea view room on the 1st floor at the end of the building with views across the whole...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lisanottm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn Scarborough Hotel
0.3 mi away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#6 of 28 in Scarborough
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,630 reviews
0.9 mi away
Park Manor Hotel
Park Manor Hotel
#4 of 28 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 801 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Royal Hotel Scarborough
Royal Hotel Scarborough
#27 of 28 in Scarborough
3.0 of 5 bubbles 2,307 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Esplanade Hotel
The Esplanade Hotel
#19 of 28 in Scarborough
3.5 of 5 bubbles 321 reviews
0.4 mi away
Red Lea Hotel
Red Lea Hotel
#11 of 28 in Scarborough
4.0 of 5 bubbles 354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Scarborough St Nicholas Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Scarborough St Nicholas Hotel

Property: Travelodge Scarborough St Nicholas Hotel
Address: St. Nicholas Cliff, Scarborough YO11 2EU, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 28 Hotels in Scarborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Travelodge Scarborough St Nicholas Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Travelodge Hotels Ltd so you can book your Travelodge Scarborough St Nicholas Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing