We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok for the price”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Travelodge Scarborough St Nicholas Hotel
Ranked #13 of 26 Hotels in Scarborough
Reviewed 23 March 2014

Stayed here with my husband and 2 young children in a family room for one night. There was only 1 working lift which was too small for our pushchair which wasn't great. Overall our experience was good but I was very disappointed with the breakfast we paid for. The hot food ran out quicker than it was being brought out which meant there was a huge queue. I was in the restaurant for 30 minutes before I was able to eat any hot food. By the time I got to the front of the queue the food had again all gone so I had to wait for more to be brought out. It's not worth the money and I would advise others not to bother with breakfast in this hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jannymartin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,136)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,424 - 1,430 of 2,136 reviews

Reviewed 22 March 2014

Had a bad experience in this lodge a year ago, but had to stay there last week
Bedrooms are a lot cleaner
Lift still not working
Broken mirror on stairs has been removed
However went to buy a meal from cafe bar , told credit card machine was not working only accepting cash , found twelve pound to pay for burger platter , it was so hard the rolls and burgers
Could have been used as sea defences ,

Room Tip: Ask for a front room , there are a lot of stairs to this lodge beware
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lynda G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights, the room was basic but very nice, staff were very helpful, really there is nothing to complain about, you can't expect a 5 star experience in a £25 per room per night hotel. If you only want a short stay basic room I would defiantly recommend. Only downside is the drinks at the bar were expensive. Gets a thumbs up from me.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Glynn831
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2014

My wife and I have just stayed here for 2 nights. The location of the hotel is excellent being close to the promenade albeit down the cliff via a footpath. The hotel had a previous life as The St Nicholas Hotel and has been refitted not very well electric cable in conduits around the walls in the room. The reception is very bland and bare not very nice to sit round in an evening. One of the lifts was out of order throughout our stay putting pressure on the other lift. The room was spacious but again very basic the only storage was a hanging rail and a shelf don't know what you would do if you stayed for any length of time the bathroom was very good shower nice and hot. The parking outside the hotel is only short stay (3hrs max) I had to park about half a mile away. The breakfast room is again very basic but the breakfast was very good. I have stayed in a number of Travelodge hotels around the country and I have to say this is the worst.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DaveR1947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2014

Recently returned from Travelodge St Nicholas Scarborough on 3 night break. Must mention the staff here who are very friendly and helpful, especially Charlene who greeted us on arrival and then went out of her way to make sure we had a room we were happy with, and even transferred my bag herself (which I'd left in previous room). So nice to meet smiling faces and good service these days. Hotel was as expected of Travelodge and our room clean and warm, important as hotel is on cliff top of South Bay, in excellent position for sea front and main town centre. All in all, excellent value for money.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kagsby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2014

I was under the impression that Travelodge has completed a makeover of its premises. If it has, then this must have been forgotten or should have been warned not completed. The beds were very uncomfortable, the pillows were so flat that we needed 3 to make them comfortable the outside looked very tired and the noise from people in the corrider was very noisy. The Cafe area was canteen style. We had the breakfast option and the food was good but basic options.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
1  Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2014

excellent location, lovely view of The Grand hotel, staff friendly, welcoming and helpful. Only complaint was not enough pillows and bed not as comfy as usual Travelodge; I know I could have asked for pillows but we were busy being tourists.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
2  Thank nettie_bx2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.3 mi away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#6 of 26 in Scarborough
4,927 reviews
0.3 mi away
Marine Residence
Marine Residence
#16 of 26 in Scarborough
121 reviews
0.1 mi away
Royal Hotel Scarborough
Royal Hotel Scarborough
#25 of 26 in Scarborough
2,452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Clifton Hotel - Scarborough
0.6 mi away
Ambassador Hotel
Ambassador Hotel
#22 of 26 in Scarborough
1,266 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Mount Hotel
The Mount Hotel
#14 of 26 in Scarborough
356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Scarborough St Nicholas Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Scarborough St Nicholas Hotel

Address: St. Nicholas Cliff, Scarborough YO11 2EU, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 26 Hotels in Scarborough
Price Range: £36 - £91 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Travelodge Scarborough St Nicholas Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelodge Hotels Ltd, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Travelodge Scarborough St Nicholas Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing