We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Near the beach”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Travelodge Scarborough St Nicholas Hotel
Ranked #15 of 28 Hotels in Scarborough
Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
“Near the beach”
Reviewed 17 April 2014

We had 4 nights in this travelodge and enjoyed it.
Rooms were very clean and breakfast was very good.
This is situated near the beach but there are alot of steps to go down to get on the sea front.
Parking was a bit of a nightmare and can be costly.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank Craig T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,964 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    463
    562
    388
    247
    304
See reviews for
650
869
56
68
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (431)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2014

we took my mum away myself and my sister for mum,s 75th birthday.we arrived at the hotel and was given a card for our room on the first floor .when arriving in the room the the windows was really dirty,the lino in the bathroom was hanging of the wall and the metel edge of the bath panel was sticking out. There was a bed in the bay with no headboard so you could not sit to watch tv,also the other bed was against a heater on the wall so the same problem again .we fetched the manager and told him,he said it was not acceptable and went to see if they had another room they did have one on the fourth floor , so we went to look.when we went with him,mum fell up the stairs because the tred stuck out almost an inch.mum hurt her shoulder.The room was up and down stairs along corridour,s and had seagulls sitting on the ledge outside the window with bird muck .we decided to stay in the room we had,it was better mum being safe than sorry.The manager offered us a free breakfast each.We ordered some food to our room at a cost of over £ 20 whch we left it was awful.we told the receptionist she said she would get the manager to call me.we went for breakfast the next day people had their hands all over the bread because there was no tongs so we did not bother with any.my sister picked up 4 dirty cups and told the staff,again we was told to expect a call from the manager,but we have not had a call back from him in 5 days so please be aware what to expect.we have had to contact travelodge customer service,we have had no reply yet but i hope they sort it out.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wendy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Scarborough hotels

Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 April 2014 via mobile

Clean bed linen, clean towels, clean bathroom. Dirty windows with general dirt and bird poo! 1 lift working that was no bigger than a shoe box, lift was supposed to hold 4 people, I would have struggled to get my 4 kids in there. The only lift that worked was up a flight of stairs, so I had to bump the pushchair up them, luckily my son could walk, so I could take him out. When we get to the third floor to find our room, there was another flight of stairs down to it, so pushchair issue again. Breakfast was a bit of a disaster, not enough tables, ran out of cutlery and glasses, bread didn't have tongs to pick it up so everyone's hands were on it. Food kept running out and the scrambled egg had hard crusty bits in it!! Oh and cutlery and mugs weren't clean. Great location though.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vicky S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2014

Not the hotel's fault but had to move rooms at 3 am when the police were called to the room next to ours and the room below ours. 5th floor is very isolated with only 3 rooms and narrow stairs leading to it. Hotel was like a maze with stairs everywhere and not good signage. The main lift was out of order the whole time we were there and the other lift which was very small was always full. We were on the 5th floor, the first night so couldn't manage to walk the whole way. After we were moved to the 2nd floor we walked all the time to avoid waiting for the lift. The staff were very attentive and wanted to move us again to a better room but we decided to stay where we were as it was quiet and at the end of a corridor. The only thing wrong with the room was it needed a new mattress otherwise it was fine. A bath mat would have been nice as it was so slippery when you got out of the shower and only having one hand towel meant you couldn't even put this down on the floor as you needed it.
The breakfast was bland and the orange diluted and undrinkable as another reviewer said.
The staff were very helpful and the hotel was clean, I just think the experience we had has made this review bias but I wouldn't ever go back. I think it would be chaos if there were a fire with numbers of guests in the rooms (but not checked in), the corridors, stairs etc. I believe you get what you pay for!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank Lesley C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TravelodgeUK, Nicolas from Customer Services at Travelodge Scarborough St Nicholas Hotel, responded to this review, 15 April 2014
We hope all our guests enjoy a peaceful stay with us so we are truly sorry to learn of the disruption to your stay Lesley C. We fully require our lifts to be in full working order during your stay. However, in the event that a lift should break down, we would also expect the issue to be resolved in a timely manner so we apologise for the inconvenience you experienced. We also expect our staff to regularly check the mattresses and, if one is not found to be in a suitable condition then it should be replaced. Furthermore, the food that we offer is standardised across all our hotels and our staff are trained in how to prepare and present the food. We would like to provide a resolution for the issues you have raised. Please could you visit our website and select the Contact Us button to provide us with more details and when doing so please specify you have left a TripAdvisor review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scunthorpe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2014

We had a good room looking out to sea. The room was basic but comfortable and was fine for our family. Bit disappointed with the watered down juice at breakfast but otherwise quite good choice for the price.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank annaveg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 12 April 2014

good hotel nice and clean.very friendly staff,nice breakfast,would defenitly stay again,close to everything,had a nice sea view from are room,nothing was to much trouble for the staff any thing you wanted they sorted it out quickly

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gary b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newcastle upon tyne
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights, usually stay at North side of town but because of walking problems thought we would try being more central. Reading previous reviews I was worried at what I had booked but room was clean and comfortable, the bed seemed new as was bedding, bathroom was also clean with nice white towels, We were at back of hotel so no sea view but didn't spend much time in room so didn't matter. It is a bit of a maze with a very small lift but its fine for a couple of nights. I have been in St Nicholas before it was Travel lodge and they have ripped the guts out of this old hotel but it is clean tidy and cheap we only paid £25 per night and breakfast was ok for £6. There is no parking on site and wardens are prowling all the time, We drove out to Park and Ride left car all day and came back after 5pm, if you put 3 hours on meter it lasts until 11am next morning. All the staff were friendly and helpful. All in all we enjoyed our stay and would return again

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scarboroughlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn Scarborough Hotel
0.3 mi away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#6 of 28 in Scarborough
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,750 reviews
0.9 mi away
Park Manor Hotel
Park Manor Hotel
#4 of 28 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 817 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Royal Hotel Scarborough
Royal Hotel Scarborough
#27 of 28 in Scarborough
3.0 of 5 bubbles 2,327 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Esplanade Hotel
The Esplanade Hotel
#19 of 28 in Scarborough
3.5 of 5 bubbles 325 reviews
0.4 mi away
Red Lea Hotel
Red Lea Hotel
#11 of 28 in Scarborough
4.0 of 5 bubbles 359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Scarborough St Nicholas Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Scarborough St Nicholas Hotel

Property: Travelodge Scarborough St Nicholas Hotel
Address: St. Nicholas Cliff, Scarborough YO11 2EU, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 28 Hotels in Scarborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Travelodge Scarborough St Nicholas Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Traveltool, S.L.U., Travelodge Hotels Ltd and Evoline ltd so you can book your Travelodge Scarborough St Nicholas Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing