We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Does what it says on the tin!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Travelodge Scarborough St Nicholas Hotel
Ranked #15 of 28 Hotels in Scarborough
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
66 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Does what it says on the tin!”
Reviewed 1 May 2014

We had a seven night stay in this hotel at the end of April.

The room that we occupied was 324, on the third floor. The room had a lovely view over the South Bay and harbour (when we could see them through the mist!), and was reasonably sized, although there was very little storage space which meant that we were living out of our cases for the 7 nights. The room was warm, with three electric heaters. It has a very efficient hot shower, and was supplied with an electric kettle, tea & coffee. The bed was large & comfortable.

All of the hotel staff, from the reception desk to the chamber maids, were very friendly and helpful, although sometimes the towels were removed, but not replaced. However, a quick visit to the reception desk solved any problems that we had with towels, soap, tea & coffee.

The hotel, although refurbished a few years ago, is very old, and several flights of stairs have to be negotiated in order to simply move along the corridor. I would not consider the hotel to be suitable for physically impaired customers, certainly not on the third floor. Which brings me to the main problem we had with this hotel - lack of lifts! The main lift was out of order for the whole of our stay, and only one, very small, lift was available for customers use - simply not good enough!

Being at the end of the corridor, our room was very quiet, with no through traffic passing our door. However, the noise from the gulls was horrendous! They seemed to start their shrieking around 4am, and it continued for most of the day. Also, there was building work being executed on the building next door, and on the nearby cliff railway. This all generated more noise, but none of this was, of course, the fault of the hotel or its staff.

The hotel is nice and central, with the train and bus stations only about 10 minutes walk away, and the shops, pubs, restaurants, and beach close at hand.

Good value for money, and I'd recommend this to anyone looking for comfortable, central, budget accommodation.

Room Tip: Room 324 on the third floor has a good view over the South Bay and harbour. It is of a decent size...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank romagaro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,963 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    462
    562
    388
    247
    304
See reviews for
650
868
56
68
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (430)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2014

Very nice example of the Travelodge experience , very well situated just a short walk from Rail Station and a quick walk down to the South Bay beach etc.and a convenient Cliff lift , when operating to help the descent back to the Hotel area . The hotel is a refurbished old original hotel so , has some character and very individual , overall a very nice location and the usual high standard of service , but Travelodge you really do need to provide free wi fi in the rooms !

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank Sam S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 April 2014

The room had filthy windows and the room above made so much noise when people walked around, it made sleeping difficult - especially as this was a family room. We did complain to the staff who said not to worry the people above us were leaving that day. They did and the staff put a new couple in the room - so continued noise - well done!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
1 Thank L H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Scarborough hotels

Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014

One of us has a stick and we were on the fourth floor so when the lift nearest our room was out of order we had to go up and down stairs across the length of the hotel which seems to be made up from a row of old houses. That was quite an obstacle course as we also had to hold open heavy fire doors. That said and done the rest of the experience was fine. The hotel hangs on the cliff opposite the Grand Hotel and I am sure people there were'nt treated any better than we were. We didnt have breakfast or use the bar but it seemed everyone who did were enjoying themselves. The weather was raining and foggy most f the time and at one point rain was dripping through our window. A member of staff rushed up with towels and the offer to change rooms but it was fine in the end. Another member of staff topped me up with coffee and teabags as I normally bring my own and room service had mistakenly thrown away the little pot I had brought my back up supply in. Our room had a fabulous view over the bay and well worth the reasonable price of the stay.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank Seacoastbadger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bingley, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 29 April 2014

A well situated hotel close to the sea and less than 5 minutes from the shops. A funicular railway to the beach is a short walk away. Hotel clean and tidy, excellent breakfast, good value, with a wide choice. Rooms clean and tidy & well maintained. Very friendly and helpful staff at all times

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank James W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle Upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014

All in all we were impressed with this hotel having read some dodgy reviews before we travelled. It was clean, ideally located for the beach and shops with lovely views. We did request a sea view or a room at the front of the hotel the day before arriving, but this wasn't fulfilled which was a bit disappointing but nevertheless we enjoyed our stay. The room was modern but basic, even by Travelodge standards and the only thing that prevents me giving it 5 stars is the absolute lack of storage space/shelving, within the room. We had to literally live out of our suitcases, apart from a few hangers that were provided. This wouldn't prevent me staying here again. We will be back. Parking is a nightmare in whole of Scarborough. We took our car up to the higher part of the Esplanade and left it there for 3 days (free parking). Better to be car free than pay silly parking rates in the centre.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank itate2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014

The welcome was excellent but this is not one of the better appointed Travelodge hotels. To some extent, this is down to age of the building. Lighting in the room was poor and shelving space was non existant in the bathroom.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank B F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn Scarborough Hotel
0.3 mi away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#6 of 28 in Scarborough
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,748 reviews
0.9 mi away
Park Manor Hotel
Park Manor Hotel
#4 of 28 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 817 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Royal Hotel Scarborough
Royal Hotel Scarborough
#27 of 28 in Scarborough
3.0 of 5 bubbles 2,327 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Esplanade Hotel
The Esplanade Hotel
#19 of 28 in Scarborough
3.5 of 5 bubbles 325 reviews
0.4 mi away
Red Lea Hotel
Red Lea Hotel
#11 of 28 in Scarborough
4.0 of 5 bubbles 359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Scarborough St Nicholas Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Scarborough St Nicholas Hotel

Property: Travelodge Scarborough St Nicholas Hotel
Address: St. Nicholas Cliff, Scarborough YO11 2EU, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 28 Hotels in Scarborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Travelodge Scarborough St Nicholas Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelodge Hotels Ltd, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Travelodge Scarborough St Nicholas Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing