We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“fab place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Travelodge Scarborough St Nicholas Hotel
Ranked #15 of 28 Hotels in Scarborough
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“fab place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2014

really grate place to stay close to the town and the sea front. grate views from the sea view windows. the staff are friendly and welcoming couldn't to anymore to help.,grate food will be back soon.
welldone



  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank beverleu2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,937 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    452
    555
    383
    246
    301
See reviews for
642
856
55
68
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (427)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2014

I booked our room well in advance on a Saver Deal, I thought 34.00 for the night was a fair price. I am now pleased that I didn't pay more and wish I had paid less. Having previously stayed in the Meadow Hall Travelodge, with a lovely clean airy room and very comfortable bed I was confident that this would be a bargain. How wrong, the room was clean, but I spent the night with springs digging into my back and a room which was too warm. I tried leaving the window open but had to close it due to the seagulls roosting on the roof opposite, (no one's fault there I acknowledge). We looked out onto a dirty flat roof, covered in pigeons and their droppings, not healthy I don't think. The bathroom had a towel which had obviously been used by a previous occupant. The whole building looks tired. We didn't eat there so I am unable to comment on the service, other than to say the reception staff were very friendly. Overall, we were disappointed and would not be considering staying in this Travelodge again.

Room Tip: Check out if the rooms / Travelodge has been refurbished before booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jud37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TravelodgeUK, Amy from Customer Services at Travelodge Scarborough St Nicholas Hotel, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
We are sorry to learn of your disappointment Jud37. Our mattresses will be checked and turned on a regular basis so it is regrettable to learn you found your bed was uncomfortable. We also require our guests to have fresh and clean towels and linen in every room. We would like to further understand the issues you have highlighted to find a resolution. Please could you visit our website and select the Contact Us button to provide us with more details and when doing so please specify you have left a TripAdvisor review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Scarborough hotels

UK
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2014

I was booked in for two nights 25/6/14 to 26/6/14 but only stayed one so I am writing this review at home when I should be spending the second night in the hotel. My room was clean but was tucked away at the rear of the hotel. It was quite depressing room and far to warm it was difficult to sleep.

The food was awful and grossly over priced I had the fish & chips the fish looked like it was cheap and frozen it was also burnt and dry as if it had been cooked in a oven. The Breakfast was saved by the sausage the scrambled egg and Bacon was not the best.

I had paid for the two nights with meals so I did not leave lightly but it was such a depressing stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank carl7Uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leigh-on Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014

Just stayed for 2 nights, the whole place smells damp, the rooms are dirty & dusty, the windows are covered in bird poo, the pigeon nets are all ripped. Breakfast was horrid, with powered scrambled eggs, mugs on tables unclean.
Then there's a big sign 'wear your pyjamas in the bar or for breakfast' as run down & dirty as this place was, seeing somebody at the bar in their pyjamas, just about sums it up.

Room Tip: Stay in the B&B 2 doors along.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruby2008095
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TravelodgeUK, Amy from Customer Services at Travelodge Scarborough St Nicholas Hotel, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Thank you for your review Ruby2008095. Our housekeeping team are trained on ensuring all of our rooms are clean and fresh so it is regrettable to learn this was not the case. Our Bar Café staff are also fully trained on ensuring our food is up to great standards. We’d like to be able to contact you to find a resolution. In order for us to do this please could you visit our website and use the Contact Us button to tell us more and when doing so please indicate you have left a TripAdvisor review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Genoa, Italy
Level Contributor
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014

A lovely warm welcome from staff obviously contending with the deficiencies of a hotel about to be refurbished! Great location a few mins from the beach. Once refurbed will be an excellent value for money place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank genhud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

stayed at this travelodge for a few days my husband and I - Good choice we felt we made - the staff are all so friendly and helpful - the room clean and tidy, breakfast very good choice of food fantastic! 10/10
Mattresses just need to be a bit more softer - just a little on the hard side for me. Location brilliant close to shops, restaurants, beach - just everything on hand what you need. 10/10

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank Elaine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grimsby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

Central, All you need for a cheap value for money stay (we took advantage of a Sunday Night Offer @ £17.00 per room) Breakfast good, rooms a little on the warm side, overall great stay. Parking at NCP carpark £6.50 for 24 hours few mins walk away (North Street)

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
1 Thank Bennett57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn Scarborough Hotel
0.3 mi away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#6 of 28 in Scarborough
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,641 reviews
0.9 mi away
Park Manor Hotel
Park Manor Hotel
#4 of 28 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 801 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Royal Hotel Scarborough
Royal Hotel Scarborough
#27 of 28 in Scarborough
3.0 of 5 bubbles 2,310 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Esplanade Hotel
The Esplanade Hotel
#19 of 28 in Scarborough
3.5 of 5 bubbles 321 reviews
0.4 mi away
Red Lea Hotel
Red Lea Hotel
#11 of 28 in Scarborough
4.0 of 5 bubbles 354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Scarborough St Nicholas Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Scarborough St Nicholas Hotel

Property: Travelodge Scarborough St Nicholas Hotel
Address: St. Nicholas Cliff, Scarborough YO11 2EU, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 28 Hotels in Scarborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Travelodge Scarborough St Nicholas Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Traveltool, S.L.U. and Travelodge Hotels Ltd so you can book your Travelodge Scarborough St Nicholas Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing