We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great value for Money and Location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Travelodge Scarborough St Nicholas Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Travelodge Scarborough St Nicholas Hotel
Ranked #15 of 28 Hotels in Scarborough
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Great value for Money and Location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 December 2010

Went to Scarborough in June. It was the hottest week of the year and I had a great time and got a Tan :)

Chose the travellodge after reading the reviews here. It is in a great location and we got a family room which was at the front with great views.

For the price and location this is a great hotel

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sheni79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,912 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    443
    544
    379
    245
    301
See reviews for
630
846
54
66
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (425)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Isle of Man
Level Contributor
187 reviews
160 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 227 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2010

I stayed at the Hotel St Nicholas as a child when it was one of the better hotels in Scarborough so was interested to see what Travelodge had done to the old dame.

It is impersonal being quite bland inside long corridors and standard Travelodge furnishings albeit it a strange shape and large room. Decor was not bad a room spotlessly clean. Bathroom had one of the best showers I've come across for a long time.

Only negative was that the room had no view, and heating was not on in a cold November night. A small convection heater was provided that did the trick.

Position is great - just a short walk from town and the front. Didn't bother with food - Wetherspoons near the station provided a great breakfast for only £4.

Paid only £19 for the night - and at that price very good value and product. Not sure I would want to stay more than a couple of nights though.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ManxQueenies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2010

stayed for just one night when we went to see jason manford and was very surprised by the hotel. it was fine.
the reception staff were friendly,large clean room and decent breakfast,all for £35 total for 2 people,what more do you expect???
would stay there again. if you want more luxury then pay more and stay else where.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nic110470
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Yorks
Level Contributor
174 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2010

We stayed here for 1 night after a show at the Futurist. We only stayed over because of a forecast of snow. Room cost £50.75 plus £15 for breakfast.
Reception was fine . The room had a lovely view but was incredibly spartan and looks cheap. My husband was staggered by the electrics - just lots of wiring boxed in everwhere. TV is fasened to a piece of fake wood on the wall and in a position where no one can see it unless laid in bed. one nasty white plastic chair. The windows had black mould on them and the bathroom light was broken.
I think they've aimed for minimalist trendy but ended up with prison cell cheap.

Breakfast was billed to start at 8. By 8.10 there was a queue of about 20 people but no sign of life. Eventually a member of staff arrived and told us she was on her own - other staff had not turned up because of the weather ( which actually wasn't that bad after all). WE were told to take seats and then the poor woman started dashing about giving out crockery and cutlery ( why don't they lay the tables the night before??). Food eventually arrived but it was all very makeshift. Hot food just OK. Bread and croissants very stale. 2 of drinks machines not working.
I raised the problems with the receptionist who tried to fob me off although she did eventually come and help the poor woman trtying to deal with breakfast customers.
All in all not somewhere we'd rush back to or recommend. Its a shame really as it has one of the best locations in Scarborough and with a bit more effort could be so much better.
Parking - the hotel only seems to give out information for NCP parking. We used a Scarborough Borough Council car park -North Street - where it is free to park between 6pm and 9am.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RJHNorthYorks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Scarborough hotels

Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2010

First and last time at a Travelodge. The reception is the only decent part of the hotel. Rooms very very basic, Grey paint every where, felt like we were on remand. Cafe Bar for evening meal ok if you like microwave meals, and breakfast is ok if you have got an hour for the food items come out individually. scarmbled eggs I think were powdered eggs, I managed to get beans on toast then they brought the sausages out then the bacon then the tomatoes, nothing was all out together, we had to wait for the mugs to washed then there was no glasses for the orange then no orange then no butter........do I need to go on booked for 2 nights and asked for a refund for the next mornings breakfast and went up the road to a cafe called Le Jardin abosolutely fantastic. Will never set foot back in the Travel Lodge again

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DMC99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Yorks
Level Contributor
36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2010

Great location. Clean, but very spartan accommodation. No wardrobes,drawers or hairdryers. No soul. Breakfast £7.50 per person extra, and very poor. I don't think the scambled eggs had ever seen a hen. Had to keep waiting while extra supplies were brought to the buffet. Bread was dry. No parking. Cheapest long-term parking was 10 mins walk away - £6 per day. All these costs add up. You could get a cheaper package at a better class of hotel - or just pay a bit extra and to hell with it!

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Redzed3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2010

i've stayed in many travel lodges over the years and they are what i would describe as functional. they are very basic no sparkle just cheap and not so chearful.
I'm not sure how long travel lodge have owned this old victorian era hotel but i was quite exited to think that i was going to a new style of travel lodge no longer the bland boring box they norammly have. but aslas no, they have tried there upmost to turn it into one.
The only thing i can "fault" is the heating it was cold the radiator in the room was not working and it had an electric fire in it. In the bar area you needed a coat to keep warm so this was a bit annoyiny in the autumn.
The Staff were ok, didn't go out of there was but were pleasant enough, the room was basic, the bed was ok, I can imagine it being noisy in the rooms during busy periods as you could hear the doors slamming and there was a half inch gap under the door.
All in all it was a bit like Scarborough Lifeless. We booked 2 nights and decided to leave after 1.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Derbyshire_lad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn Scarborough Hotel
0.2 mi away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#6 of 28 in Scarborough
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,500 reviews
0.9 mi away
Park Manor Hotel
Park Manor Hotel
#4 of 28 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 782 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Royal Hotel Scarborough
Royal Hotel Scarborough
#27 of 28 in Scarborough
3.0 of 5 bubbles 2,278 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Esplanade Hotel
The Esplanade Hotel
#19 of 28 in Scarborough
3.5 of 5 bubbles 311 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Crescent Hotel
The Crescent Hotel
#5 of 28 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 560 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Scarborough St Nicholas Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Scarborough St Nicholas Hotel

Property: Travelodge Scarborough St Nicholas Hotel
Address: St. Nicholas Cliff, Scarborough YO11 2EU, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 28 Hotels in Scarborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Travelodge Scarborough St Nicholas Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelodge Hotels Ltd so you can book your Travelodge Scarborough St Nicholas Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing