We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“mary 186”
Review of The Lysander

The Lysander
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Lysander
Ranked #52 of 184 Scarborough B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 June 2013

Room bright & clean. Shower very poor cubicle far too. Water pressure dreadful and no power at all. Took husband 10 mins to get wet !!

Room required sound proofing. Could hear every sound from room above. Guests didn't stop talking until 6.a.m. worst nights sleep we have ever had. Only way to advise owner is to get dressed and go downstairs to reception. Rooms need intercom system to reception for emergencies, they do happen.

Breakfast adequate although portion controlled - why such small cereal bowls and plates ??

Not good value for money overpriced, Hotel prices without the facilities very disappointing stay.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary186
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lysanderhotel, Owner at The Lysander, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2013

We are very sorry to hear that your didn't enjoy your stay. Unfortunately it was in no small part down to the previous reviewer, who was not our "usual" kind of guest. We offered apologies and compensation at the time and felt we had done all we could to make up for the disturbed night you had. Any further issues were not mentioned and sadly a cereal bowl is a cereal bowl and comes in "one size fits all" format. We would be pleased to welcome you back and do appreciate all comments, we can't get it all right every time....but we really do try. Andy and Julie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (171)
There are newer reviews for The Lysander
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

101 - 107 of 171 reviews

Reviewed 23 June 2013

Dissapointing! Small twin room with just a shower. Welcome not very good.

Overpriced in my opinion as I have stayed in much better small hotels with much more facilities and £30 less on the asking price.

Also you only have a one hour window to have breakfast, most other places give you two!

Also the hotel offers very little view wise and rests in the middle of a council estate

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank timkent85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lysanderhotel, Owner at The Lysander, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2013

And what is the problem with the over 50's.
Well, I think we can safely agree to disagree on what we like in B & B experiences. We sometimes say it would be interesting if the accommodation providers could rate the guests....and unfortunately your score would be lower than ours!!! PS We are MOST DEFINITELY NOT on a council estate. Farewell, Andy and Julie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2013

we booked this B&B purely based upon the fact that they were one of a few that accepted 1 night bookings on a weekend.
the B&B is extremely clean and the owners clearly take pride in its appearance.
the double room we were given was one of the smallest doubles we have stayed in, and had no room for a tv at normal level so it was put on top of the wardrobe. the location is around a 2 mile walk via the beach front into the main south bay area, although you can get a taxi for around £5 or the regular open top buses from north bay.
the only negative apart from the small room size was the lack of sound insulation in between rooms,

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nanks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lysanderhotel, Owner at The Lysander, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2013

Many thanks for your comments. We take on board all comments and have since moved the television to a more appropriate level. We weren't aware it was an issue, but have had no mention of it since, so think it must be better!! Thank you. We are sorry if you found the room to be small, but we do have different standards/sizes of rooms to try and cater for different budgets.
Kind of you to put finger to keyboard and share your thoughts with us. Hope you will consider us again in the future. Thanks again, Andy and Julie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2013

We were looking for a place to stay in Scarborough, a place we could return to from time to time and we found it in The Lysander!
A great hotel, a good position close to North Bay with easy access in and out of Scarborough.
Our room was clean and modern with a very comfortable bed (it was good to have tea and coffee making facilities in the room).
The breakfasts were excellent and out hosts were extremely friendly and professional and did everything to ensure our stay was relaxing and enjoyable. We will certainly be returning to The Lysander in the future!

Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Paul R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2013

Hotel is exactly as described. modern, with everything you need for a good nights sleep. Recommended pub was excellent, wifi was really good even in rooms - an excellent stay - hotel was full on my visit - i can see why.

Room Tip: They are all great
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dominic A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2013

First time at the Lysander, not the last. First impression - Wow. Met at the door by Andy, who is the perfect host. Made us feel very welcome. The Bedroom is very tastefully decorated and furnished. Comfortable bed, plenty of tea ,coffee & milk. Ensuite was sparkling clean, with complimentry toiletries. We slept very well, as it was nice & quiet. Breakfast was lovely and plentiful, served by very nice,helpful,friendly staff. Had afternoon tea in the lounge served (free) by Julie, who was also so very pleasant and friendly. Parking is not a problem,as they have car park and free parking on roadside.Very good value for money. Looking forward to our next stay.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pbrown10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2013

My family and I stayed at the Lysander for three nights and I can honestly say that I wish we had stayed longer. (Unfortunatly, work always gets in the way). It was a well presented, very clean and tidy hotel with smart rooms and modern utilities. The couple who own the Lysander could not have been friendlier and we took to them straight away. They looked after us for breakfast and my daughter was very happy, and we were impressed by the choice of menu. The owner also recommended a couple of places to eat in Scarborough and we were impressed with those as well, especially the italian which was delicious. All in all, we can highly recommend this place and cant wait to visit again.

Room Tip: we stayed in a family room. Good beds (a double and a bunk bed). A fairly small but perfectly functi...
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sharon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lysanderhotel, Owner at The Lysander, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2013

Many thanks for your super review. Glad your enjoyed your stay and you are soooo right...work does get in the way!!! We'd love to see you and your lovely daughter again...and stay for as long as you like!!! Thanks again. Andy and Julie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.2 mi away
Park Manor Hotel
Park Manor Hotel
#4 of 26 in Scarborough
916 reviews
0.9 mi away
Miricia
Miricia
#35 of 184 in Scarborough
230 reviews
1.5 mi away
No. 17 West Street
No. 17 West Street
#26 of 184 in Scarborough
313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Clarence Gardens Hotel
Clarence Gardens Hotel
#39 of 184 in Scarborough
657 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Headlands Hotel
The Headlands Hotel
#11 of 184 in Scarborough
367 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ryndle Court Hotel
Ryndle Court Hotel
#82 of 184 in Scarborough
122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lysander? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lysander

Address: 22 Weydale Avenue, Scarborough YO12 6AX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #52 of 184 B&Bs / Inns in Scarborough
Price Range: £65 - £89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Lysander 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lysander is your ideal retreat from the stresses of everyday life and you are guaranteed a warm welcome by your hosts Jo and Jackie. Now you’ve time by yourselves, do exactly as you please. Linger over a romantic meal at one of Scarborough’s quality restaurants, and return to the hotel for a restful nights sleep. Start the new day with a freshly cooked English or continental breakfast and take pleasure from the freedom you only find on holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), LateRooms, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your The Lysander reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing