We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful Armed Forces weekend.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Lysander

The Lysander
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Lysander
Ranked #54 of 182 Scarborough B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Wonderful Armed Forces weekend.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2013

What a greeting by mine hosts. Beautifully appointed room on the front with views across to the castle. Plenty of parking, and so quiet we nearly missed our breakfast. That would have been a disaster. No wonder they have won awards for their breakfast.Varied between healthy and an awesome full English, mostly home made.
Weather was good & The Red Arrows impressive as ever.
So much to do & see all within walking distance. We walked around North bay to the busy South Bay, so many people having a good weekend.
Then back to the Lysander for some peace & quiet, a lovely venue to chill out in.
Pity it was only for the weekend, but we will be back for longer & more breakfasts.
Thankyou to you all for making it a memorable weekend

Room Tip: Front rooms have a sea view, but rear rooms are very sunny. No lift but staircase is wide and very...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stustevo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    121
    20
    8
    1
    1
See reviews for
19
92
6
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
York, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2013

Fantastic welcome!! The room was immaculate, modern and the shower was fab!! Plenty tea/coffee with thought being given to providing herbal tea loved the little finishing touches in the bathroom with cotton wool, shower gel & shampoo. A a great nights sleep after walking into town along seafront! Breakfast was delicious and staff couldn't have been more helpful! We have already decided we will be returning for a longer stay as we have returned home feeling refreshed.

Room Tip: We had a superior room which was big enough for 2
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelly M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lysanderhotel, Owner at The Lysander, responded to this review, 8 August 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a lovely review. We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay so much and would love to welcome you back again...stay as long as you like!!! Thanks again and will be sure to pass on your comments to "the girls"!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2013

Room bright & clean. Shower very poor cubicle far too. Water pressure dreadful and no power at all. Took husband 10 mins to get wet !!

Room required sound proofing. Could hear every sound from room above. Guests didn't stop talking until 6.a.m. worst nights sleep we have ever had. Only way to advise owner is to get dressed and go downstairs to reception. Rooms need intercom system to reception for emergencies, they do happen.

Breakfast adequate although portion controlled - why such small cereal bowls and plates ??

Not good value for money overpriced, Hotel prices without the facilities very disappointing stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary186
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lysanderhotel, Owner at The Lysander, responded to this review, 8 August 2013
We are very sorry to hear that your didn't enjoy your stay. Unfortunately it was in no small part down to the previous reviewer, who was not our "usual" kind of guest. We offered apologies and compensation at the time and felt we had done all we could to make up for the disturbed night you had. Any further issues were not mentioned and sadly a cereal bowl is a cereal bowl and comes in "one size fits all" format. We would be pleased to welcome you back and do appreciate all comments, we can't get it all right every time....but we really do try. Andy and Julie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2013

Dissapointing! Small twin room with just a shower. Welcome not very good.

Overpriced in my opinion as I have stayed in much better small hotels with much more facilities and £30 less on the asking price.

Also you only have a one hour window to have breakfast, most other places give you two!

Also the hotel offers very little view wise and rests in the middle of a council estate

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank timkent85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lysanderhotel, Owner at The Lysander, responded to this review, 8 August 2013
And what is the problem with the over 50's.
Well, I think we can safely agree to disagree on what we like in B & B experiences. We sometimes say it would be interesting if the accommodation providers could rate the guests....and unfortunately your score would be lower than ours!!! PS We are MOST DEFINITELY NOT on a council estate. Farewell, Andy and Julie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2013

we booked this B&B purely based upon the fact that they were one of a few that accepted 1 night bookings on a weekend.
the B&B is extremely clean and the owners clearly take pride in its appearance.
the double room we were given was one of the smallest doubles we have stayed in, and had no room for a tv at normal level so it was put on top of the wardrobe. the location is around a 2 mile walk via the beach front into the main south bay area, although you can get a taxi for around £5 or the regular open top buses from north bay.
the only negative apart from the small room size was the lack of sound insulation in between rooms,

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nanks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lysanderhotel, Owner at The Lysander, responded to this review, 8 August 2013
Many thanks for your comments. We take on board all comments and have since moved the television to a more appropriate level. We weren't aware it was an issue, but have had no mention of it since, so think it must be better!! Thank you. We are sorry if you found the room to be small, but we do have different standards/sizes of rooms to try and cater for different budgets.
Kind of you to put finger to keyboard and share your thoughts with us. Hope you will consider us again in the future. Thanks again, Andy and Julie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2013

We were looking for a place to stay in Scarborough, a place we could return to from time to time and we found it in The Lysander!
A great hotel, a good position close to North Bay with easy access in and out of Scarborough.
Our room was clean and modern with a very comfortable bed (it was good to have tea and coffee making facilities in the room).
The breakfasts were excellent and out hosts were extremely friendly and professional and did everything to ensure our stay was relaxing and enjoyable. We will certainly be returning to The Lysander in the future!

Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Paul R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poole, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2013

Hotel is exactly as described. modern, with everything you need for a good nights sleep. Recommended pub was excellent, wifi was really good even in rooms - an excellent stay - hotel was full on my visit - i can see why.

Room Tip: They are all great
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dominic A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.0 mi away
The Headlands Hotel
The Headlands Hotel
#10 of 182 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 285 reviews
0.1 mi away
Villa Marina
Villa Marina
#31 of 182 in Scarborough
5.0 of 5 bubbles 97 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Moorings
The Moorings
#110 of 182 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Norlands Hotel
Norlands Hotel
#104 of 182 in Scarborough
4.0 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
0.6 mi away
Leeway Hotel
Leeway Hotel
#3 of 182 in Scarborough
5.0 of 5 bubbles 377 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sunningdale Guest House
Sunningdale Guest House
#13 of 182 in Scarborough
5.0 of 5 bubbles 291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lysander? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lysander

Property: The Lysander
Address: 22 Weydale Avenue, Scarborough YO12 6AX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Hotel Style:
Ranked #54 of 182 B&Bs / Inns in Scarborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Lysander 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lysander is your ideal retreat from the stresses of everyday life and you are guaranteed a warm welcome by your hosts Andy and Julie. Now you’ve time by yourselves, do exactly as you please. Linger over a romantic meal at one of Scarborough’s quality restaurants, and return to the hotel for a restful nights sleep. Start the new day with a freshly cooked English or continental breakfast and take pleasure from the freedom you only find on holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Lysander reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing