We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A beautiful Hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Lysander

The Lysander
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Lysander
Ranked #49 of 184 Scarborough B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“A beautiful Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2013

Not only did we pick a good weekend with lovely sunny weather but we also picked the best hotel we have ever stayed in, in Scarborough. The Lysander is a beautiful hotel, the rooms are spotless, the breakfast gorgeous and Andy and Julie and their staff are so friendly and helpful. The hotel is situated behind the indoor swimming baths and is so convenient for the North Bay and Peasholm Park. Andy and Julie went out of their way to try to book a table for us at one of the restaurants they recommend, which wasn't easy due to the amount of people in Scarborough last weekend. We ate at the Oak Wheel in Burniston which is a short drive away and had a lovely meal. We will definitely stay at the Lysander again

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lynne w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lysanderhotel, Owner at The Lysander, responded to this review, 8 August 2013
Nice to meet a couple who are as daft as we are!! Really pleased you enjoyed your visit and it was lovely to have met you both. Please warn us before you book next time and we will be sure to be full!! ha,ha :-)) Would be great to see you again and thanks a lot for the great comments.
Kindest regards, Andy and Julie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    121
    20
    8
    1
    1
See reviews for
19
92
6
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2013

Well, in the UK we can probably all remember our rare hot summers as they are indelibly etched in our psyche - 1976 and before that 1959 when our family stayed at Scarborough.

So with the medium term weather forecast good we made a late booking for the Lysander- where we had stayed a couple of years previously- in order to take advantage of the warmth and rekindle old memories.

We booked a superior room with a king size bed as there was an offer available via the website. This was on the top floor and was quiet.

As always the Lysander was spotlessly clean and the room came well stocked with tea, coffee and milk, biscuits, bottled water and a little cake. There was plenty of parking available too.

The breakfasts were magnificent - made with good quality ingredients, and they also filled up our thermos flask with coffee every morning which helped up throughout the day.

We spent most of our time out & about in Scarborough and the Lysander was close to the North Bay attractions such as Peasholm Park and also handy for buses if you didn't fancy the hour's walk to the Spa on South Bay.

Had a trip on the MV Regal Lady for a sunset cruise one evening; listened to the Spa orchestra one morning in the outdoor Sun Lounge;, went to the Stephen Joseph Theatre to see the play " Muddy Cows"; soaked up more sun listening to the organ concert in Peasholm Park; took the mini train from Northstead Manor Gardens to Scalby MIlls and walked back down the prom.

Sadly I'm a bit heavy for a donkey ride now but that would have put the cap on a fabulous forty eight hour break!

Room Tip: The rooms are clearly described on the website- you get what you pay for
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NEETfinderGeneral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lysanderhotel, Owner at The Lysander, responded to this review, 8 August 2013
It was lovely to see you again and we are really glad you enjoyed your time with us as much...if not more...than last time. So pleased you had fun in Scarborough, there is always plenty to do, but I'm sure the donkeys missed you!! Hope to see you again before too long. Best regards, Julie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2013

Had a two night stay. Rooms were lovely and clean, plenty of tea/coffee/biscuits in the rooms and a choice of herbal teas too. Tray was replenished for the second nights stay which was much appreciated. Plenty of choice for breakfast from a full English, bacon butty or just cereal and toast. I can personally recommend the yoghurt and fruit if you like a healthy start to the day. Parking was good with spaces on the drive or on street parking. A quiet area but close enough to attractions. I would return without hesitation.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2013

What a greeting by mine hosts. Beautifully appointed room on the front with views across to the castle. Plenty of parking, and so quiet we nearly missed our breakfast. That would have been a disaster. No wonder they have won awards for their breakfast.Varied between healthy and an awesome full English, mostly home made.
Weather was good & The Red Arrows impressive as ever.
So much to do & see all within walking distance. We walked around North bay to the busy South Bay, so many people having a good weekend.
Then back to the Lysander for some peace & quiet, a lovely venue to chill out in.
Pity it was only for the weekend, but we will be back for longer & more breakfasts.
Thankyou to you all for making it a memorable weekend

Room Tip: Front rooms have a sea view, but rear rooms are very sunny. No lift but staircase is wide and very...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stustevo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2013

Fantastic welcome!! The room was immaculate, modern and the shower was fab!! Plenty tea/coffee with thought being given to providing herbal tea loved the little finishing touches in the bathroom with cotton wool, shower gel & shampoo. A a great nights sleep after walking into town along seafront! Breakfast was delicious and staff couldn't have been more helpful! We have already decided we will be returning for a longer stay as we have returned home feeling refreshed.

Room Tip: We had a superior room which was big enough for 2
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelly M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lysanderhotel, Owner at The Lysander, responded to this review, 8 August 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a lovely review. We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay so much and would love to welcome you back again...stay as long as you like!!! Thanks again and will be sure to pass on your comments to "the girls"!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2013

Room bright & clean. Shower very poor cubicle far too. Water pressure dreadful and no power at all. Took husband 10 mins to get wet !!

Room required sound proofing. Could hear every sound from room above. Guests didn't stop talking until 6.a.m. worst nights sleep we have ever had. Only way to advise owner is to get dressed and go downstairs to reception. Rooms need intercom system to reception for emergencies, they do happen.

Breakfast adequate although portion controlled - why such small cereal bowls and plates ??

Not good value for money overpriced, Hotel prices without the facilities very disappointing stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary186
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lysanderhotel, Owner at The Lysander, responded to this review, 8 August 2013
We are very sorry to hear that your didn't enjoy your stay. Unfortunately it was in no small part down to the previous reviewer, who was not our "usual" kind of guest. We offered apologies and compensation at the time and felt we had done all we could to make up for the disturbed night you had. Any further issues were not mentioned and sadly a cereal bowl is a cereal bowl and comes in "one size fits all" format. We would be pleased to welcome you back and do appreciate all comments, we can't get it all right every time....but we really do try. Andy and Julie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2013

Dissapointing! Small twin room with just a shower. Welcome not very good.

Overpriced in my opinion as I have stayed in much better small hotels with much more facilities and £30 less on the asking price.

Also you only have a one hour window to have breakfast, most other places give you two!

Also the hotel offers very little view wise and rests in the middle of a council estate

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank timkent85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lysanderhotel, Owner at The Lysander, responded to this review, 8 August 2013
And what is the problem with the over 50's.
Well, I think we can safely agree to disagree on what we like in B & B experiences. We sometimes say it would be interesting if the accommodation providers could rate the guests....and unfortunately your score would be lower than ours!!! PS We are MOST DEFINITELY NOT on a council estate. Farewell, Andy and Julie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.1 mi away
Park Manor Hotel
Park Manor Hotel
#4 of 28 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 782 reviews
0.1 mi away
Manor Heath Hotel
Manor Heath Hotel
#13 of 28 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 151 reviews
0.1 mi away
Norlands Hotel
Norlands Hotel
#113 of 184 in Scarborough
4.0 of 5 bubbles 40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Villa Marina
Villa Marina
#31 of 184 in Scarborough
5.0 of 5 bubbles 97 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Moorings
The Moorings
#111 of 184 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 31 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Headlands Hotel
The Headlands Hotel
#10 of 184 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lysander? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lysander

Property: The Lysander
Address: 22 Weydale Avenue, Scarborough YO12 6AX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 184 B&Bs / Inns in Scarborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Lysander 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lysander is your ideal retreat from the stresses of everyday life and you are guaranteed a warm welcome by your hosts Andy and Julie. Now you’ve time by yourselves, do exactly as you please. Linger over a romantic meal at one of Scarborough’s quality restaurants, and return to the hotel for a restful nights sleep. Start the new day with a freshly cooked English or continental breakfast and take pleasure from the freedom you only find on holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your The Lysander reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing