We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home to home”
Review of The Lysander

The Lysander
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Lysander
Ranked #54 of 183 Scarborough B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 August 2013

Andy and Julie welcomed us lovingly, into their hotel. We could not fault the hotel, food and the staff! The rooms and washroom were brilliantly clean we could not fault one thing. Food was to die for, with a variety of home-cooked breakfast's: porridge, summer fruits with yogurt, waffles and of course full English breakfast. We can not wait until we return again to be spoiled by Andy and Julie and their outstanding staff. We already want to come back.

Room Tip: Front rooms have a wonderful view of Scarborough Castle.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank M0bilitySc00terMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (171)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

93 - 99 of 171 reviews

Reviewed 10 August 2013

The Lysander is a lovely place to stay if you are visiting Scrborough.
The rooms are always spotless. The staff are friendly, and nothing
is too much trouble for your hosts, Andy & Julie. After one visit you
will feel like you have known them for years, they make you so welcome.
Try it and see, you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dorothy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2013

Fantastic, stayed for 2 nights, beautiful room very clean, excellent breakfast, best hotel in Scarborough. Nothing is too much trouble, A big thank you to Andy and Julie. We will definitely be returning and bringing friends.

Room Tip: Stayed in room 12. lovely view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank annie1965187067
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lysanderhotel, Owner at The Lysander, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2013

You went away with just the impression we like to give!! Nothing is too much trouble and we really want to make sure you enjoy your break as much as you can. We all need time away from work and if we can make your time off better still, with a bit of local knowledge or a great restaurant to go to, we are only too happy to oblige. Thanks for your review, it means we're on the right track!!! Hope to see you again soon. All the best, Andy and Julie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2013

Not only did we pick a good weekend with lovely sunny weather but we also picked the best hotel we have ever stayed in, in Scarborough. The Lysander is a beautiful hotel, the rooms are spotless, the breakfast gorgeous and Andy and Julie and their staff are so friendly and helpful. The hotel is situated behind the indoor swimming baths and is so convenient for the North Bay and Peasholm Park. Andy and Julie went out of their way to try to book a table for us at one of the restaurants they recommend, which wasn't easy due to the amount of people in Scarborough last weekend. We ate at the Oak Wheel in Burniston which is a short drive away and had a lovely meal. We will definitely stay at the Lysander again

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lynne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lysanderhotel, Owner at The Lysander, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2013

Nice to meet a couple who are as daft as we are!! Really pleased you enjoyed your visit and it was lovely to have met you both. Please warn us before you book next time and we will be sure to be full!! ha,ha :-)) Would be great to see you again and thanks a lot for the great comments.
Kindest regards, Andy and Julie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2013

Well, in the UK we can probably all remember our rare hot summers as they are indelibly etched in our psyche - 1976 and before that 1959 when our family stayed at Scarborough.

So with the medium term weather forecast good we made a late booking for the Lysander- where we had stayed a couple of years previously- in order to take advantage of the warmth and rekindle old memories.

We booked a superior room with a king size bed as there was an offer available via the website. This was on the top floor and was quiet.

As always the Lysander was spotlessly clean and the room came well stocked with tea, coffee and milk, biscuits, bottled water and a little cake. There was plenty of parking available too.

The breakfasts were magnificent - made with good quality ingredients, and they also filled up our thermos flask with coffee every morning which helped up throughout the day.

We spent most of our time out & about in Scarborough and the Lysander was close to the North Bay attractions such as Peasholm Park and also handy for buses if you didn't fancy the hour's walk to the Spa on South Bay.

Had a trip on the MV Regal Lady for a sunset cruise one evening; listened to the Spa orchestra one morning in the outdoor Sun Lounge;, went to the Stephen Joseph Theatre to see the play " Muddy Cows"; soaked up more sun listening to the organ concert in Peasholm Park; took the mini train from Northstead Manor Gardens to Scalby MIlls and walked back down the prom.

Sadly I'm a bit heavy for a donkey ride now but that would have put the cap on a fabulous forty eight hour break!

Room Tip: The rooms are clearly described on the website- you get what you pay for
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NEETfinderGeneral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lysanderhotel, Owner at The Lysander, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2013

It was lovely to see you again and we are really glad you enjoyed your time with us as much...if not more...than last time. So pleased you had fun in Scarborough, there is always plenty to do, but I'm sure the donkeys missed you!! Hope to see you again before too long. Best regards, Julie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2013

Had a two night stay. Rooms were lovely and clean, plenty of tea/coffee/biscuits in the rooms and a choice of herbal teas too. Tray was replenished for the second nights stay which was much appreciated. Plenty of choice for breakfast from a full English, bacon butty or just cereal and toast. I can personally recommend the yoghurt and fruit if you like a healthy start to the day. Parking was good with spaces on the drive or on street parking. A quiet area but close enough to attractions. I would return without hesitation.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carol B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2013

What a greeting by mine hosts. Beautifully appointed room on the front with views across to the castle. Plenty of parking, and so quiet we nearly missed our breakfast. That would have been a disaster. No wonder they have won awards for their breakfast.Varied between healthy and an awesome full English, mostly home made.
Weather was good & The Red Arrows impressive as ever.
So much to do & see all within walking distance. We walked around North bay to the busy South Bay, so many people having a good weekend.
Then back to the Lysander for some peace & quiet, a lovely venue to chill out in.
Pity it was only for the weekend, but we will be back for longer & more breakfasts.
Thankyou to you all for making it a memorable weekend

Room Tip: Front rooms have a sea view, but rear rooms are very sunny. No lift but staircase is wide and very...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stustevo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.9 mi away
Miricia
Miricia
#38 of 183 in Scarborough
232 reviews
3.2 mi away
Blacksmiths Arms Inn
Blacksmiths Arms Inn
#1 of 1 in Cloughton
170 reviews
4.3 mi away
Hackness Grange Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#6 of 26 in Scarborough
4,963 reviews
6.3 mi away
Orchard Lodge
Orchard Lodge
#1 of 1 in Flixton
50 reviews
2 mi away
Wrea Head Hall
Wrea Head Hall
#1 of 26 in Scarborough
1,936 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lysander? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lysander

Address: 22 Weydale Avenue, Scarborough YO12 6AX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #54 of 183 B&Bs / Inns in Scarborough
Hotel Class:4 star — The Lysander 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lysander is your ideal retreat from the stresses of everyday life and you are guaranteed a warm welcome by your hosts Jo and Jackie. Now you’ve time by yourselves, do exactly as you please. Linger over a romantic meal at one of Scarborough’s quality restaurants, and return to the hotel for a restful nights sleep. Start the new day with a freshly cooked English or continental breakfast and take pleasure from the freedom you only find on holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Lysander reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing