We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely weekend”
Review of The Lysander

The Lysander
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Lysander
Ranked #50 of 184 Scarborough B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely weekend”
Reviewed 14 April 2014

The Lysander is impressive in many ways for a small family run hotel. Above all it is absolutely spotless and in an ideal location to explore Scarborough! Andy and Julie and all of the other staff we met were very friendly and nothing was too much trouble. The breakfast choices were varied, always fresh and the full English was always well cooked and served hot. The rooms we had on the top floor were spacious and well stocked with tea, coffee and biscuits, and the towels were some of the softest I have ever had in a hotel which made a huge change to some of the big name hotels I have stayed at! In summary this small family run hotel is well worth the money and a great base when visiting Scarborough! Thank you to Andy and Julie for making us all feel very welcome!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jojo1971_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    133
    24
    11
    1
    1
See reviews for
19
108
6
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cumbernauld
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 April 2014

A beautiful, spotless Bed & Breakfast. The hosts, Andy & Julie, are extremely pleasant and helpful and the breakfast is beautifully cooked & presented. Room was extremely comfortable with lots of extras e.g.fluffy towels, toiletries, tea/coffee making facilities with a good choice of teas etc. , hair dryer , TV & bedside radio alarm. All in all, first class.

Room Tip: I ordered a single room but received a small double. Lovely. All rooms have an ensuite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lizCumbernauld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Castleford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014

Got back yesterday from a lovely weekend at The Lysander. The hotel is in a quiet area within walking distance to the beach (less than 5 mins) and town centre (about 15 mins). Parking is easy and free. Everywhere in the hotel is spotless, our room was lovely with extra touches eg. Tissues, toiletries etc. Julie and Andy are a lovely couple who made us feel very welcome, offering advice on the area, restaurants etc. ( take Julie's advice on restaurants, she recommended the Indian Rose and Thai Manor to us and they were both excellent and just as she described). The breakfast has won awards so that speaks for itself. It was delicious with lots of choice and flexibility. I don't drink tea or coffee and am not normally offered a substitute for this but not here, I was offered loads of alternatives and refills besides! Nothing is too much trouble and everything is done with a smile. You are a credit to your hotel and should be very proud. I bow down to all the hard work you have put into it!! ( Julie I hope you get the pun). We will definitely be back

Room Tip: You can be confident you will get good value and excellent service here
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jillg89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 October 2013

you cant say much about the Lysander only Bookin the welcome warm in true Yorkshire style,
all the staff are more than willing to help even me as i was a pain they never lost the smile i would stay here any time i visit this part of Yorkshire

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2013

what can you say about the lysander " simply the best " from a warm welcome to a comfy bed and a great breakfast ,beautiful and clean, fluffy towls , peace and quite , good bar . not our first stay and not our last

Room Tip: pay the extra for king size bed and room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank john b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2013

Fabulous breakfast, grilled tomatoes not tinned, black pudding and a cafetiere of coffee. Friendly but unobtrusive hosts, very clean and comfortable. Rooms of a decent size with TV and well-stocked hospitality tray.
We'd originally booked into another B&B closer to the town, but one look at the sticky carpets sent us to the Lysander. We won't stay anywhere else next year!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SwandaleGuestHouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grimsby, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

We made a last minute booking as we had business in town and what a delight the Lysander is. We had a superior room, which was light, exceptionally clean and very pleasant indeed. The shower room was large and the water very hot!

The Lysander is quite literally across the road from the North Bay beach. We had a lovely walk to Peasholme Park where neither of us had been since we were kids. It is very close to everything yet in a quiet street.

Breakfast was outstanding and thoroughly deserves the Visit England awards. The dining room was beautifully set out and the waiting staff could not have been more helpful and friendly.

All in all, we had a most enjoyable, though short, stay. We would recommend the Lysander highly and would certainly stay here again should we find ourselves in or near Scarborough.

Room Tip: Superior rooms have a later checkout.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Auds632
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.1 mi away
Park Manor Hotel
Park Manor Hotel
#4 of 28 in Scarborough
898 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Headlands Hotel
The Headlands Hotel
#11 of 184 in Scarborough
352 reviews
1.5 mi away
No. 17 West Street
No. 17 West Street
#26 of 184 in Scarborough
310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Clarence Gardens Hotel
Clarence Gardens Hotel
#37 of 184 in Scarborough
643 reviews
1.6 mi away
Mansion House Scarborough
Mansion House Scarborough
#17 of 184 in Scarborough
626 reviews
0.1 mi away
Villa Marina
Villa Marina
#31 of 184 in Scarborough
111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lysander? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lysander

Property: The Lysander
Address: 22 Weydale Avenue, Scarborough YO12 6AX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 184 B&Bs / Inns in Scarborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Lysander 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lysander is your ideal retreat from the stresses of everyday life and you are guaranteed a warm welcome by your hosts Jo and Jackie. Now you’ve time by yourselves, do exactly as you please. Linger over a romantic meal at one of Scarborough’s quality restaurants, and return to the hotel for a restful nights sleep. Start the new day with a freshly cooked English or continental breakfast and take pleasure from the freedom you only find on holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Odigeo, Booking.com, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., LateRooms, Ebookers, Cancelon, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Lysander reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing