We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Weekend”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Lysander

The Lysander
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Lysander
Ranked #54 of 182 Scarborough B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Grimsby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Weekend”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

We stayed here for a weekend, we arrived late evening and was greeted by Andy one of the owners, he was more than helpful telling us the best places to go find something to eat and drink.
The Lysander is in a lovely quiet part of Scarborough but close enough to walk everywhere we wanted. The room was lovely with everything we needed from a big comfy bed to fluffy dressing gowns.
The breakfast each morning was fab with plenty of choice on the menu for everyone.
The staff were all friendly and helpful and made you feel at home. We will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    121
    20
    8
    1
    1
See reviews for
19
92
6
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Alderley Edge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2014

We spent two nights at the Lysander for a short Easter visit to Scarborough.

Andy's welcome on our arrival was warm and friendly and he was helpful in suggesting somewhere to eat (we arrived only at 8.30 in the evening). We were made to feel welcome throughout our stay. You could not ask for a better host. We did not meet Julie during our stay. There is an arrangement for a discount at some restaurants in Scarborough for those staying at the Lysander which was a bonus.

Our room was spotlessly clean and comfortable. It is worth mentioning that there was enough shelf space in the bathroom for our toiletries and there were plenty of hangers in the wardrobe. We have often found that far grander hotels have been inadequate in these respects.The towels were of good quality too. Unfortunately the walls are not very soundproof and we could hear people in the next room.

Breakfast was of a good quality, especially the bacon and sausages.

There was free car parking at the side of the hotel and on the road in front.

The Lysander is a good 15 to 20 minutes walk into the town centre which is perhaps its only drawback.

All in all, highly recommended!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jpcheshire1615
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heywood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2014

Just returned from a two night break at the Lysander. Lovely bed and breakfast with comfortable spotless rooms. Excellent cooked breakfast served with a smile from Hilary. Andy and Julie were very helpful and pleasant. Would recommend.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2014

The Lysander is impressive in many ways for a small family run hotel. Above all it is absolutely spotless and in an ideal location to explore Scarborough! Andy and Julie and all of the other staff we met were very friendly and nothing was too much trouble. The breakfast choices were varied, always fresh and the full English was always well cooked and served hot. The rooms we had on the top floor were spacious and well stocked with tea, coffee and biscuits, and the towels were some of the softest I have ever had in a hotel which made a huge change to some of the big name hotels I have stayed at! In summary this small family run hotel is well worth the money and a great base when visiting Scarborough! Thank you to Andy and Julie for making us all feel very welcome!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jojo1971_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cumbernauld
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2014

A beautiful, spotless Bed & Breakfast. The hosts, Andy & Julie, are extremely pleasant and helpful and the breakfast is beautifully cooked & presented. Room was extremely comfortable with lots of extras e.g.fluffy towels, toiletries, tea/coffee making facilities with a good choice of teas etc. , hair dryer , TV & bedside radio alarm. All in all, first class.

Room Tip: I ordered a single room but received a small double. Lovely. All rooms have an ensuite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lizCumbernauld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Castleford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2014

Got back yesterday from a lovely weekend at The Lysander. The hotel is in a quiet area within walking distance to the beach (less than 5 mins) and town centre (about 15 mins). Parking is easy and free. Everywhere in the hotel is spotless, our room was lovely with extra touches eg. Tissues, toiletries etc. Julie and Andy are a lovely couple who made us feel very welcome, offering advice on the area, restaurants etc. ( take Julie's advice on restaurants, she recommended the Indian Rose and Thai Manor to us and they were both excellent and just as she described). The breakfast has won awards so that speaks for itself. It was delicious with lots of choice and flexibility. I don't drink tea or coffee and am not normally offered a substitute for this but not here, I was offered loads of alternatives and refills besides! Nothing is too much trouble and everything is done with a smile. You are a credit to your hotel and should be very proud. I bow down to all the hard work you have put into it!! ( Julie I hope you get the pun). We will definitely be back

Room Tip: You can be confident you will get good value and excellent service here
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jillg89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2013

you cant say much about the Lysander only Bookin the welcome warm in true Yorkshire style,
all the staff are more than willing to help even me as i was a pain they never lost the smile i would stay here any time i visit this part of Yorkshire

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.0 mi away
The Headlands Hotel
The Headlands Hotel
#10 of 182 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 285 reviews
0.1 mi away
Villa Marina
Villa Marina
#31 of 182 in Scarborough
5.0 of 5 bubbles 97 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Moorings
The Moorings
#110 of 182 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Norlands Hotel
Norlands Hotel
#104 of 182 in Scarborough
4.0 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
0.6 mi away
Leeway Hotel
Leeway Hotel
#3 of 182 in Scarborough
5.0 of 5 bubbles 377 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sunningdale Guest House
Sunningdale Guest House
#13 of 182 in Scarborough
5.0 of 5 bubbles 291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lysander? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lysander

Property: The Lysander
Address: 22 Weydale Avenue, Scarborough YO12 6AX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Hotel Style:
Ranked #54 of 182 B&Bs / Inns in Scarborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Lysander 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lysander is your ideal retreat from the stresses of everyday life and you are guaranteed a warm welcome by your hosts Andy and Julie. Now you’ve time by yourselves, do exactly as you please. Linger over a romantic meal at one of Scarborough’s quality restaurants, and return to the hotel for a restful nights sleep. Start the new day with a freshly cooked English or continental breakfast and take pleasure from the freedom you only find on holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Lysander reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing