We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great stay. Would definitely return.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of No. 17 West Street

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
No. 17 West Street
Ranked #23 of 184 Scarborough B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Yorkshire
1 review
“Great stay. Would definitely return.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2012

We stayed for two nights in February, and had a wonderful break. Both Andy and his partner were very welcoming and helpful. Suggesting and offering to make reservations at a local Italian restaurant, which serves wonderful food. Our room was large, bright and stylishly decorated. I love the information about the Cadbury family, and hence the theme for the decor. Chocolate bars and drinks in our rooms were a lovely touch, . It was nice to have the tea and coffee replenished, and plentiful. The bed was very comfortable, and everywhere was very clean. The bathroom was very spacious, and a great shower. Breakfast was plentiful and very good with top ups of tea/ coffee/ toast. This is a warm, friendly and comfortable Hotel where the owners are readily available for help and advice. I would not hesitate to return. Good luck for this venture! Thanks for a lovely stay. Amanda, Dave & Sian.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lanty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

296 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    263
    26
    5
    0
    2
See reviews for
57
142
6
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2012

We stayed for one night in January, and we could honestly not find one fault...Beautifully appointed and stylish rooms which are kept immaculately clean, and fantastic customer service from the totally sincere owners who could not do enough to make our stay comfortable and enjoyable. It was a breath of fresh air! Try it for yourself, you won’t be disappointed! (Oh and the breakfast was pretty good too!!!!)

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2012

I stayed here with my husband on New Year's eve, after having spent a lot of time looking for somewhere close to the town centre, clean, and preferably not a "traditional" b&b. This place was perfect!

On arrival we were greeted by Andy, the owner, a really friendly guy who showed us to our room. As we were only staying one night, we expected to be told check-out was to be 10am or similar. We were thrilled when Andy said we could have the room the following day as long as we needed it - an absolute godsend on new years day and really appreciated!

The room (8) was on the top floor and it was huge. Massive bad, very clear, tasteful cadbury-themed decor. The bathroom was small but very clean and well-equipped with a huge power shower. Towels were big and cozy and the bed was very comfortable. There were little treats like cadburys chocolate bars to go with the hot chocolate - all real nice touches.

Breakfast the next morning was fantastic - I'm a veggie so was offered a full english veggie breakfast which was really nice. My husband enjoyed his meaty alternative. There was also unlimited juice, coffee, tea, toast, croissants and pain au chocolate, cereal etc, and it was a lovely, friendly atmosphere. Perfect when you have a small hangover...

This is a lovely boutique-style b&b, with all those little touches that make a difference and a 5 star service. If we visit scarborough again we'll definitely come back here. We've stayed at some of the best boutique hotels in the UK and it was up there with the best of them.

As the hotel is new (opened in Feb) here are a couple of suggestions for Andy:
- Full length mirror needed in room 8. Ideally situated next to a plug socket.
- A proper (non travel) hairdryer in the room (will make the ladies happy!)

Thanks for a fabulous stay. :)

Room Tip: Room 8 - super kingsize bed and tonnes of space!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SarahFrancis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shaw, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2011

We stayed here in mid December, can't fault anything.

The Hotel has been set out really well and is in a nice part of Scarborough, within easy walking distance to the town centre, and the sea front.

The host Andrew, made us feel really welcome, did more than was asked, and provided a first class service, the breakfast is worth going for by itself

Our room was lovely, with a nice comforable bed, and all the right elements to make sure, it will not be our only stay at 17 West St

Looking forward to our next stay already

Bill & Cal

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bill R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burton upon Trent
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2011

I like Scarborough, so I like this place.

Staying on business in lots of Hotels and Bed & Breakfast's I find this place memoriable for the tasteful deco, friendly staff, the local knowledge & contacts the host has plus ..... all their gadgets to support my time away.

Daily Parking Permits are provided although, parking can be a problem .... that's Scarborough !

Room Tip: You tend to get what you ask for ..... so ask, the customer service is brill !
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BiSBurtonuponTrent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2011

I stayed here with my husband for a night at the begining of November, it was my birthday wknd :) Andrew as mentioned previously was very welcoming, our room was very large and airy, loved the iPod doc for my iPhone while getting ready. Bed was very very comfy and shower was a dream :) will def stay here again if we need a hotel in Scarborough, will highly recommend to my friends and family. Full English breakfast was fab as was the homemade cake we had x thank you for a great stay

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fairyfaye09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wrexham
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2011

We stayed here for one night for a regular visit to relatives in the area. We have been staying in Scarborough hotels for many years, several times per year, and can honestly say that of the twenty or so places we have frequented, this is the best.

Andrew, the proprietor, was incredibly friendly and helpful, and was always there if we needed anything. The breakfast was lovely, fab coffee and full english.

The room was huge, clean, warm, comfortable and basically feels brand new.

Location was great for us as is near to relatives, and is also 30 seconds walk to the Esplanade.

Free wi-fi fast and reliable.

Highly recommended!!!!

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RichPick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.1 mi away
Red Lea Hotel
Red Lea Hotel
#11 of 28 in Scarborough
4.0 of 5 bubbles 347 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#6 of 28 in Scarborough
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,515 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mansion House Scarborough
Mansion House Scarborough
#16 of 184 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 583 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Palace Hill Hotel Scarborough
Palace Hill Hotel Scarborough
#8 of 184 in Scarborough
5.0 of 5 bubbles 459 reviews
1.0 mi away
La Baia Hotel
La Baia Hotel
#7 of 184 in Scarborough
5.0 of 5 bubbles 521 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Waves
The Waves
#26 of 184 in Scarborough
5.0 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to No. 17 West Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about No. 17 West Street

Property: No. 17 West Street
Address: 17 West Street | South Cliff, Scarborough YO11 2QN, England (Formerly Parmelia Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 184 B&Bs / Inns in Scarborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — No. 17 West Street 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recently refurbished to a very high standard, facilities include mains fed power showers, Egyptian cotton towels, toilet and wash basin, large flatscreen TVs with freeview, free high speed wi-fi, alarm clock radios with built in ipod docks. Built as the holiday home for the Cadbury and Rowntree families in the late 1800's. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Book Direct Rooms, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your No. 17 West Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing