We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay”
Review of No. 17 West Street

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
No. 17 West Street
Ranked #27 of 182 Scarborough B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Dewsbury, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great place to stay”
Reviewed 2 July 2012

My wife and I went over the May half term for a couple of nights. It was easy to find, we located (not too far away from town), clean and welcoming. Andy was great - he still made us breakfast even though we were up until the early hours sharing a bottle or two of wine with him. My tip - book direct with him over the phone - you may get a better deal.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Glen_West
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

306 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    272
    27
    5
    0
    2
See reviews for
58
148
6
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
scunthorpe
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 June 2012

excellent, stayed there in 2011 the standard has not changed,andrew welcomed us, carried the suitcases from accross the road to our rooms.rooms very clean and large,breakfast supurb.bar stocked well, enjoyed a drink in the evening. beach not far away,plenty shops just around the corner. everything to do with hotel 17 was excellent,the least like was leaving.

Room Tip: just get there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alan b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 May 2012 via mobile

Really enjoyed our stay, Andy was very approachable and couldn't do enough to help. Food was really good, will be staying again

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Phil_Sharp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scarborough, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2012

Andrew was very welcoming and nothing was too much trouble. They managed to keep everything together even though his new son decided to put in an appearance on the Saturday afternoon! I think the parents were only slightly more excited than the guests!!
Daniel makes excellent scones.

We spent a long weekend there. The breaksfasts were very good and the rooms were lovely. Look out for the Cadbury's colour theme!

No 17 also does lunches which we were pleased to make use of. They have also recently obtained an on licence and are hoping to have a tapas bar in operation duringn the evening. If that is run as well as the rest of the hotel it will be super.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emma C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2012

Stayed at 17 over the bank holiday after our original hotel (The Brooklands) messed up our booking.

I'll start with Andy The owner and his staff.

Andy greeted us at the door with a big smile and is a very nice host. Friendly, couldnt do enough for us and made us feel very welcome. This goes for all his staff too. Nothing was too much trouble for them, brilliant is all i can say.

After our original hotel The Brooklands (my god don't ever stay there. See my report you'll find out why) messed up our booking we trundled around to 17 to look at the rooms that was available. Andy took us upstairs to look and the room door was about a quarter open and i said that will do for me!

The room was big and very nicely decorated to reflect the Cadbury family heritage. Carpet was like a trampoline, nice, new and springy. A king size bed that has to be the most comfy i've ever slept on with lovely pillows and bedding.

Nice coffee table with 2 great chairs to sit on if you didn't want to lay on the bed all you're stay.
a great large flat screen TV with free view.

free high speed wi fi

Tea, coffee making facilaties a plenty with the all important Cadburys chocolate bar each, replenished daily but as much as you liked if you asked for more.

Bathroom was modern with a great shower. Nice complimentary toileteries too.

English breakfast was fantastic, cooked by Andy himself, as much tea, coffee and toast as you liked, plenty of juices and cerial to choose from. The dining room was lovely, bright, well decorated with pictures to buy if you wished on the walls. Nice furniture too.

Location is good. On the Esplanade ten minutes walk over the bridge to bars and restaurants with on street parking free with parking permit from the hotel.

In summary, this hotel is a little gem, we are chuffed to bits that we ended up there instead of our original hotel. Andy and his staff Brill, hotel brill, rooms brill, food brill, location brill.

We visit Scarborough often and in future will only stay at 17 it's fantastic!!!!!!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank monkeyontour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grimsby, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2012

Stayed 3 nights, excellent room all mod cons host Andrew made us very welcome, breakfast was excellent with lots of choices. Definitely recommend.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lesley P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2012

Stayed 2 nights at this lovely hotel. Friendly and laid back staff, great breakfast! Room well and tastefully decorated, modern but not in your face. Bathroom spotless and did not have that "bathroom" smell! Squashy carpet and large flat screen tv. Some good restaurants nearby and easy walking distance into town. Will be staying here again and recommend to all.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EllieBoden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.1 mi away
Ambassador Hotel
Ambassador Hotel
#24 of 28 in Scarborough
1,217 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#6 of 28 in Scarborough
4,845 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cavendish Hotel
Cavendish Hotel
#26 of 182 in Scarborough
165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Mansion House Scarborough
Mansion House Scarborough
#16 of 182 in Scarborough
615 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Waves
The Waves
#18 of 182 in Scarborough
91 reviews
1.2 mi away
Kimberley Seafront Hotel
Kimberley Seafront Hotel
#19 of 182 in Scarborough
157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to No. 17 West Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about No. 17 West Street

Property: No. 17 West Street
Address: 17 West Street | South Cliff, Scarborough YO11 2QN, England (Formerly Parmelia Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 182 B&Bs / Inns in Scarborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — No. 17 West Street 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recently refurbished to a very high standard, facilities include mains fed power showers, Egyptian cotton towels, toilet and wash basin, large flatscreen TVs with freeview, free high speed wi-fi, alarm clock radios with built in ipod docks. Built as the holiday home for the Cadbury and Rowntree families in the late 1800's. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Expedia, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your No. 17 West Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing