We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Superb”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of No. 17 West Street

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
No. 17 West Street
Ranked #24 of 182 Scarborough B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
York, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Superb”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2012 via mobile

Loved our room. Very friendly service from Andy. Made to feel very welcome from start to finish will return soon. Food was great. Location superb as well. Andy pointed us in the right direction. Beds very comfortable. Breakfast superb

Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Kate W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

297 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    264
    26
    5
    0
    2
See reviews for
57
142
6
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Cheshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2012

We stayed at no.17 to be close to the Olivers Mount circuit - we totally loved our stay, nothing could have been better.
Andy, family & staff are just wonderful - baby Charlie adorable and the hotel so clean and comfy. Breakfasts are delicious.
We will definitely be back next year - many thanks for making our stay so perfect.
Pam & Iain - Cheshire.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pambcid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
formby
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2012

Stayed here for a night whilst walking the Cleveland Way - our last stop before final morning to Filey. Originally had been quoted £80 plus VAT - relented on the VAT when we queried it. A twin room on the top floor, which was fine but had a tiny bathroom. Nice decor around the building -- the owners have obviously worked hard to modernise the place. A quiet situation, which meant we had to walk a bit to find a meal. Eventually came across the Crown Spa Hotel -- good food in superior surroundings at bar-meal prices -- highly recommended, particularly when compared to pub next door. Breakfast at 17 West Street very satisfactory. All-round good experience.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nickpFormby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scotland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2012

17 West Street is a great place for a short stay. The rooms were very clean and well kept.

We had room 1 on the ground floor and thought we might have been disturbed by noise of other people coming in and out but surprisingly we didn't get any noise. Great breakfast, nothing is to much trouble for them.

Andy made a great host, he was very friendly and even cooked the small fish we caught on a se fishing trip. We visited with friends and had a tapas night in the hotel and found it very enjoyable.

Would recommend 17 West Street for anyone. We will be definately going back and can't wait.

Keep up the good work Andy & Misha not forgetting baby Charlie.
Thanks for a great stay

Room Tip: No need any room would be good
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank linbscotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2012

Booked on recommendation of a friend,do not be fooled by the street the hotel is in as it is an abosute gem.Rooms are spacious and well decorated and are spotless,Andy and his girlfriend are really friendly.Breakfast was cooked to order and was one of the best I have had in a hotel,I did not try the Tapas but could teatify to the lovely aromas it generated.It is a gentle 10 minute stroll to town and beach with superb views from The Esplanade

Cannot wait to call again next year

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yorkshireman186408
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
95 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2012

Stayed here for a couple of nights last week and enjoyed our stay. The rooms were spacious with flat screen tv which was nice to chill out and watch after a busy day. The hosts were lovely and chatty, and the breakfast on each morning was brilliant.

The only drawback was that we didn't manage a proper nights sleep during our stay, which was down to the bed not been the comfiest (in our opinion) and the walls been rather thin. However this didn't put us off and we'd definitely recommend it and would return on a visit to Scarborough.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FoodObsessive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2012

Absolutely fab stay, Room spacious, clean and very elegant. Breakfast Lovely. Hosts were lovely and their personal attention and little things they did for our son made our holiday even more enjoyable. Would definately stay again and would recommend to anyone.

Room Tip: stayed in room 3, very spacious and even had a view of the sea!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kay t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.3 mi away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#6 of 28 in Scarborough
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,637 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mansion House Scarborough
Mansion House Scarborough
#16 of 182 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 590 reviews
1.0 mi away
La Baia Hotel
La Baia Hotel
#7 of 182 in Scarborough
5.0 of 5 bubbles 526 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Palace Hill Hotel Scarborough
Palace Hill Hotel Scarborough
#8 of 182 in Scarborough
5.0 of 5 bubbles 469 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Waves
The Waves
#23 of 182 in Scarborough
5.0 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Helaina
The Helaina
#9 of 182 in Scarborough
5.0 of 5 bubbles 471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to No. 17 West Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about No. 17 West Street

Property: No. 17 West Street
Address: 17 West Street | South Cliff, Scarborough YO11 2QN, England (Formerly Parmelia Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 182 B&Bs / Inns in Scarborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — No. 17 West Street 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recently refurbished to a very high standard, facilities include mains fed power showers, Egyptian cotton towels, toilet and wash basin, large flatscreen TVs with freeview, free high speed wi-fi, alarm clock radios with built in ipod docks. Built as the holiday home for the Cadbury and Rowntree families in the late 1800's. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Book Direct Rooms, Odigeo, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your No. 17 West Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing