We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous stay”
Review of No. 17 West Street

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
No. 17 West Street
Ranked #26 of 184 Scarborough B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 May 2013

We recently stayed at No 17 West while visiting family in Scarborough, we being myself and husband along with our 4 year old son and 2 year old daughter. From the moment we arrived Andrew and Mica made us all feel very welcome. The room was absolutely lovely, very spacious for the 4 of us. It was located in the top floor which was brilliant as I wasn't so worried about the children disturbing other guests!

Breakfast was lovely and they were very flexible with the time as well. I would highly recommend staying here, we certainly will be coming back!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Katestripp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (315)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

242 - 248 of 315 reviews

Reviewed 3 May 2013

We were not disappointed in our second stay here. The hotel itself and the hosts are excellent. The manager Andy and his staff can not do enough for you and we had a wonderful relaxing stay in a modern , comfortable B&B where the hosts could not be more friendly and helpful if they tried.

Room Tip: We have stayed in Rooms 1 and 4 and both were excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lindsey E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2013

Had to travel to Scarborough with work and due to an early call time to meet the crew and the client I chose to train up the night before and stay. Came across 17 West St. and liked the pictures, liked the reviews and loved the price. On arrival I was shown to a lovely double room with a great bed and en-suite. The lovely lady who handed me the keys etc also gave me a few options for where to go for supper and a complimentary bar of chocolate (fuel for the short walk to the esplanade). Scarborough it's self was very quiet which I assume was to a very wet and windy Wednesday in April. I returned to the hotel and had an excellent sleep - truly a top bed! Breakfast was amazing by the way and I had an excellent conversation with Andy (the owner) about everything from the history of the hotel to cowboys in Bolton. My stay was for business but next time I will return for pleasure with my wife...and on a Friday for their famous tapas. Thank you both for a well rested evening and massive breakfast that took me right through till mid-afternoon.

Room Tip: Room two had one of the best beds I have ever slept in on my travels. Plus the breakfast should not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anyaself
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2013

Highly recommended , family room was very spacious, great decor , immaculately clean , breakfast was good and been a chef myself can be very picky , Andy was a great host , and little Charlie is adorable , we will definitely return in the near future , thanks , marcia, rob and Harvey

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marcyjane10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2013

I stayed at 17 West Street for two nights for a work trip. It is a beautiful B&B - solid, comfortable furniture and chic design, very clean and run by very friendly owners - you really feel welcome and nothing is too much trouble. The Full English breakfast was delicious and the price is very, very reasonable. Will definitely be booking again to stay for personal trips with my partner.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RubyMonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2013

If ever you are in Scarborough for business or pleasure make 17 West Street your first choice B&B. The owners give you the warmest of welcomes and the atmosphere is family home, boutique style. My room was huge, my bed extremely comfortable, ( I slept like a log and that wasn't just the bracing sea air), and everything was as clean as a pin. Breakfasts were made to order and the porridge was fantastic! 17 West Street redefines the seaside B&B. Don't miss out.

Room Tip: I was on the top floor in room 8 which was so large I was able to work out in it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Babakina1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2013

I really cannot recommend this place highly enough - it's certainly the friendliest, most welcoming hotel I've ever been to. Delicious breakfast, comfortable bed, clean room, quiet, - the owner couldn't have done enough for us. Deserves to be supported if ever you are in Scarborough.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brendan O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.1 mi away
Ambassador Hotel
Ambassador Hotel
#22 of 26 in Scarborough
1,266 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#6 of 26 in Scarborough
4,926 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mansion House Scarborough
Mansion House Scarborough
#17 of 184 in Scarborough
640 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Cavendish Hotel
Cavendish Hotel
#24 of 184 in Scarborough
173 reviews
1.0 mi away
Miricia
Miricia
#35 of 184 in Scarborough
231 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Helaina
The Helaina
#15 of 184 in Scarborough
496 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to No. 17 West Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about No. 17 West Street

Address: 17 West Street | South Cliff, Scarborough YO11 2QN, England (Formerly Parmelia Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 184 B&Bs / Inns in Scarborough
Price Range: £69 - £119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — No. 17 West Street 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recently refurbished to a very high standard, facilities include mains fed power showers, Egyptian cotton towels, toilet and wash basin, large flatscreen TVs with freeview, free high speed wi-fi, alarm clock radios with built in ipod docks. Built as the holiday home for the Cadbury and Rowntree families in the late 1800's. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Book Direct Rooms, Expedia, Cancelon, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your No. 17 West Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing