We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely.”
Review of No. 17 West Street

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
No. 17 West Street
Ranked #26 of 182 Scarborough B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely.”
Reviewed 13 October 2013 via mobile

Brill. Stayed there for one night for part of my nans 90th birthday celebration. The owners were really friendly, and so accommodating. Rooms really spacious and light. Definitely stay there again when we go again. They seem to work really hard. Nan really loved it as well. Nothing to much trouble for them. 1st rate.

Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank mark m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

306 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    272
    27
    5
    0
    2
See reviews for
58
148
6
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Belper, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2013

Myself and my husband stayed here for my birthday weekend and were not disappointed! It is in a perfect location a nice walk to the beach. Upon arrival we had an extremely warm welcome from the hosts it was a lovely relaxed atmosphere. We were shown to our room on the first floor which was spacious and modern. The room and bathroom were immaculate. We had a great night sleep on the comfy bed. Breakfast in the morning was perfectly cooked with good quality food. Overall a brilliant hotel and lovely hosts. We will definitely return!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank princessjg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sheffield
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2013

After staying at some ghastly places over the years we were pleasantly surprised at 17.
It is, by far, the best place to stay in Scarborough.
We felt more like visiting friends we had known years then staying for the first time.
The rooms are big airy and very clean, the owner Andy couldn't do enough to help. We sat with together for drinks in the evening and had great conversation and wonderful company.
You must not just read the reviews, I urge you to go and try this place!
The breakfast was delightful, plentiful and fresh.
We will defiantly go again and hopefully very soon.

Room Tip: We looked at other rooms, they are all great! you won't get a bad room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank helibish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2013

We were only staying in Scarborough for one night so were looking for a good B&B that wouldn't break the bank. We picked No.17 West Street from previous reviews on here and weren't disappointed at all. Andy the owner/manager was friendly and helpful from the word go...initially on the phone to sort out our arrival time...and then on our actual arrival at the B&B. We felt instantly welcome and nothing was too much trouble.

The room itself was very clean and well kept. The decor and fixtures are modern and bright. We weren't in the room long enough to use the facilities properly, but there was a modern TV and ipod dock. We did however use the complimentary wifi to find some places to go...a nice touch.

LOCATION: We walked down to the sea front which took about 10mins...walking back from the town centre later it was about 15mins. Parking was free on the street outside.

All in all an excellent place to stay. If I was to go back to Scarborough I would definitely stay again, and would not hesitate to recommend No.17 West Street to anyone else. Thanks for a brilliant stay...and a brilliant cooked breakfast in the morning!!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mattbai1ey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2013

Me and my boyfriend stayed one night at this beautiful B&B and it was fantastic.

The room was totally reasonable at £60 for a couple on a Wednesday night.

The decor inside is trendy and fresh looking - a change from the floral old style prints that were on offer at many of the other places available to stay in Scarborough.

Andy the landlord was fantastic. Nothing was too much trouble. On arrival he showed us to our room which was spacious, bright and clean. There was an info pack provided with wifi code, map of the town and various flyers for local attractions.

The cooked breakfast he served the next morning was delicious. Everything you'd expect from a full English and it set us up well for a busy day climbing trees in the nearby Dalby Forest.

The location of this B&B was perfect - walking distance down to the South Bay and within easy reach by foot to the station, high street and restaurants. We'd definitely stay again if we were visiting Scarborough and would highly recommend to friends, family and strangers!

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 2 which was on the first floor. The window overlooked the street below and was cle...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnniePops87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2013

We booked 17 West Street through looking it up on a dog friendly site and we were not disappointed. I took my nana and the dog and my friend took her mum who needs a wheelchair, although there are some steps up to the ground floor it was well worth the trip for her. Andy and his family made us feel very welcome making arrangements for me and my friend to eat in the garden with the dog (who was also very impressed with the sausages).
The rooms are a wonderful mixture of modern mixed with original features and are large. Having stayed the other end of Scarborough last year this was a wonderful situated B&B with easy access to the cliff lift and lovely gardens nearby to walk the dog.
It was a wonderful break and only a short walk to a great dog friendly pub (The HIghlander), we will be coming back.

Room Tip: All rooms that we saw were lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fiona P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 September 2013

Due to overflow at local retreat, No 17 were great in finding us rooms in their hotel at such short notice. Excellent hotel with very friendly staff and owner, nothing was too much trouble for them and they went out of their way to help with all bags and cases. Top rooms with huge tvs and beds. Tapas one of the best we have tasted and we have travelled. Hoofing Andy! Be back again when at M.I.R.T dont forget your booked in for the activities! Thank you to Sash for pointing us in right direction.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mirt2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.1 mi away
Ambassador Hotel
Ambassador Hotel
#24 of 28 in Scarborough
1,213 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#6 of 28 in Scarborough
4,836 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Crescent Hotel
The Crescent Hotel
#5 of 28 in Scarborough
581 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Cavendish Hotel
Cavendish Hotel
#29 of 182 in Scarborough
163 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mansion House Scarborough
Mansion House Scarborough
#16 of 182 in Scarborough
614 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Waves
The Waves
#14 of 182 in Scarborough
91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to No. 17 West Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about No. 17 West Street

Property: No. 17 West Street
Address: 17 West Street | South Cliff, Scarborough YO11 2QN, England (Formerly Parmelia Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 182 B&Bs / Inns in Scarborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — No. 17 West Street 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recently refurbished to a very high standard, facilities include mains fed power showers, Egyptian cotton towels, toilet and wash basin, large flatscreen TVs with freeview, free high speed wi-fi, alarm clock radios with built in ipod docks. Built as the holiday home for the Cadbury and Rowntree families in the late 1800's. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Book Direct Rooms, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your No. 17 West Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing