We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top Quality”
Review of No. 17 West Street

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
No. 17 West Street
Ranked #27 of 183 Scarborough B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Scunthorpe,England.
Level Contributor
31 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Top Quality”
Reviewed 2 January 2014

Stayed for 1 night in a superior room,well it certainly was. it was massive,lovely decor,comfy bed ,quality furniture,spotlessly clean,good breakfast,friendly helpful owner,etc.The previous reviews are all pretty honest and i cant really add anything different.
To sum up,i have stayed in many B&Bs and not one compares to No17,it is by far the best i have ever stayed in,and i look forward to staying there again,and would have no hestiation in recommending it.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lufc67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

302 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    268
    27
    5
    0
    2
See reviews for
57
145
6
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2013 via mobile

We have just returned from this beautiful hotel after 2 nights stay. We originally planned to stay one night and the travel to whitby and find somewhere for the second night.

We were greeted by Andy and his adorable toddler Charlie. We received such a warm welcome, and were shown to our room. Andy explained that he had upgraded us to the biggest room as it was unoccupied and there was some minor work going on round the back so didn't want us looking at that.

So we were in room number 3. And all I could say was wow! The bed is ginormous and the decor is perfect. The bathroom is also huge with a lovely hot shower.

Within 10 minutes of andy leaving us to unpack, we decided we probably wouldn't find anywhere as nice as this so we booked our second night straight away. We were able to keep room 3 too which was an added bonus.

Breakfast is amazing and I cannot fault a thing. We were made to feel extremely welcome and will definitely be returning. Trust me, there is nowhere else in scarborough or whitby where you will find service like this, or rooms as gorgeous. And the best thing about it is that it doesnt break the bank. Pricing is perfect and this business will do very very well.

Thank you to numner 17 for making our weekend away perfect!

Lucy and Marc

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lucy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2013

Stayed for one night in Room 3 which was HUGE! Very good welcome, given a door key and left to get on with it - which we love.

Massive room with very modern decoration, which is a rare find in Scarborough.

Free on-street parking no problem.

Although we were at the front of the hotel, there was very little street noise even on a Saturday night.

Lovely location in the nicest part of Scarborough above the Spa complex - 2 min walk to cliff lift down to the beach front, which was open to midnight in October.

The best cooked breakfast I've had in a long time - with great fresh coffee!

Free papers in a lounge with nice leather bucket seats.

Would tell anyone planning to stay in Scarborough to stay here! (NB: lots of steps to front door - I would not recommend to anyone for whom this may be an issue).

Room Tip: Room 3 is on the first floor and is HUGE!! Walk in shower no bath.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chillaxingliz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staffordshire
Level Contributor
47 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2013

No 17 is an excellent B & B - well run by the owners - Andy and his wife.

We stayed during half term for a couple of nights - had a lovely big room which had been well modernised and decorated. The beds were comfy and we got a good nights sleep. The chocolate bars were a nice touch.

Breakfast was the traditional fare - good ingredients, well cooked. Andy mentioned they are going to introduce other choices which would improve the experience.

Wouldn't hesitate to recommend No 17.....

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JAT82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bordeaux, France
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed 7 November 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights when in Scarborough for my cousin's birthday. We were very well looked after. Andy was really helpful and friendly. Lovely room, and great breakfast. We had our dog with us, so were allocated a bedroom on the ground floor, so it tended to be a bit noisy with guests coming late back to the hotel. That apart, we really enjoyed our stay, and will definitely stay there again when we are next in Scarborough. Scarborough could really do with a few more B&Bs like this! Thank you Andy & Mica for making our stay so pleasant.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Griff1013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North York Moors National Park, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2013

No. 17 is in an excellent location (easy access to shops and cliff lift to beach), with large bright rooms, stylish modern décor and one of the best cooked breakfasts we’ve ever had. Andy & Mica are the most genial and helpful hosts. Thoroughly recommended.

Room Tip: All the rooms are spacious but rooms 3 and 7 are huge!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SJSYorks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwickshire
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2013

Stayed at the weekend at No 17. Andy & Mica were very welcoming great hosts. Parked outside & Andy gave us a card for the car so no parking charge. Excellent location for walk to beach & town. Lovely big room no 4, breakfast good excellent poached eggs! Would definitely recommend and we will stay again when we are in Scarborough.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A_AWarwickshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.1 mi away
Ambassador Hotel
Ambassador Hotel
#24 of 28 in Scarborough
1,199 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#6 of 28 in Scarborough
4,795 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cavendish Hotel
Cavendish Hotel
#29 of 183 in Scarborough
160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Waves
The Waves
#18 of 183 in Scarborough
80 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mansion House Scarborough
Mansion House Scarborough
#15 of 183 in Scarborough
607 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Maynard
The Maynard
#48 of 183 in Scarborough
209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to No. 17 West Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about No. 17 West Street

Property: No. 17 West Street
Address: 17 West Street | South Cliff, Scarborough YO11 2QN, England (Formerly Parmelia Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 183 B&Bs / Inns in Scarborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — No. 17 West Street 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recently refurbished to a very high standard, facilities include mains fed power showers, Egyptian cotton towels, toilet and wash basin, large flatscreen TVs with freeview, free high speed wi-fi, alarm clock radios with built in ipod docks. Built as the holiday home for the Cadbury and Rowntree families in the late 1800's. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Book Direct Rooms, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your No. 17 West Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing